We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Management was very nice and accommodating . The room was clean . I felt very comfortable and safe .. and there was a lot of things in the surrounding area (Food, Mall),to do. Didn't just have to sit around in the room . THANKS AGIAN I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadiaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager28, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you felt right at home and the management was kind and understanding during your stay.. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for a week . The room was fine, We used the double bed and opened the sofa bed. We changed sheets nightly and so was clean and comfy. The once a week cleaning service offered only changed towels, cleared trash etc. After I complained they came back and vaccumed the room. Front desk service was very good and they tried to help with most things we asked for. Overall we had a good stay and was good value for the low price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannatravelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

I do regret that our housekeeping schedule was not made clearer to you when you made your reservation, since that might have prevented your being inconvenienced. As is true with all our companies properties, our hotel provides one full housekeeping service after every seven days stayed. In addition, for guests who require more than our standard service, we offer extra daily services for an additional nominal fee. Operating this way allows us to continue offering our suites at outstanding rates, and still provide our guests with the exact number of housekeeping services they prefer.

Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

While living here with my family everyone that worked there were extremely friendly, every need I had was catered to and there were no major problems at all. While we were there we some very nice updates made which included Brand new electronic locks on all doors, Painting of the exterior of the building giving a very new look to the building and also some improvements to rooms and although I left just prior to these renovations if they are anything compared to the ones I have seen before leaving they surely are terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDerricott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about our hotel. The staff and I strive to provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. It pleases us to know that we were able to do this for you!

Knowing that you were staying with us when the improvements to the hotel began, it would be so great to have you return again once they are complete. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to make a reservation or you can do so through our corporate website. We look forward to seeing you here again should your travels bring you back to the area or at any of our other brand locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. Rooms are filthy! Ac unit blows directly on bed. Became sick with upper respiratory infection two days into stay. When opened ac unit it was covered in filth. Have severe dust allergy and now sick! People have dogs barking all night and vacuum at 2 am. No one at front desk most of time. All my clothes smell of smoke as hotel allows smoking in certain rooms and it filters thru entire hotel. Breakfast is a joke! One muffin in lobby at 8 am and some oatmeal packets that u can mix with water. Halls have foul odor and room to dispose of trash is never emptied and smells so bad that u have to hold your breath while in there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory and that you were sick during your stay with us. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. As well, guests who have requested a non-smoking room should not be placed in a smoking room or affected by those that are designated for this purpose. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had while staying with us. The staff and I hope that you will visit us again and let us demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is the WORST hotel you can stay at in the area. Internet service was so bad I had to use my cell phone rather than the "High Speed" wireless. They have the audasity to charge over 100 a night, when the hallways smell like a sewer.

There are dogs barking at all hours of the evening, and even saw a lady take her child outside to urinate. Beds are dirty and there are stink bugs all over the place.

The staff offered little to no help for internet issues and just expected the problem to go away. Housekeeping does the bare minimum, there are stains on the walls, on the floor, and even on the Ceiling!

I travel for a living and can honestly say this is the most run down Extended Stay Deluxe I have ever stayed in. Save your money and look elsewhere, I ended up at the holiday inn just up the street and it was very nice and less expensive. I stayed for one night and could not get out fast enough.

Room Tip: none of the rooms are worth staying in.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpro68661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay Deluxe Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The place smells bad,thank goodness the windows open, the chair in the room was broken, the furniture abused. There was a used bandaid in the hall, the bed had never Ben vacuumed under.
There was no shampoo! I reserved the room under Expedia, they rated it a two and a half star... It was hardly a one!
This is the first time that Expedia has let me down. I usually can count on a two and a half or three for being nice! Shame on them for listing this at that star level!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was the 2nd room I was offered.... The first one smelled like rotten eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - North
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.6 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South

Address: 201 Professional Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-3406 (Formerly StudioPlus Gaithersburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing