We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, clean bungalows and friendly staff”
Review of Lena House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lena House
Certificate of Excellence
barcelona, spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet location, clean bungalows and friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I spent a few days in Lena House while I was waiting for my visa extension. The bungalows are basic but clean, with nice view to the beach. The location is perfect to relax for a few days. The beach is clean and with normal local life (children playing, fishermen coming back from fishing or taking care of their nets...), which is very enjoyable if you're coming from a touristy place. The staff is very discreet and friendly and Didakus helped me a lot for my visa extension. All that for a very fair price. I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Podimore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights in this incredibly basic and simple beach bungalow. It is right on the beach and Lena 2 was four hundred meters from the main building and restaurant. You have to walk down the beach to reach lena 2 making it delightfully quiet and isolated. At high tide a boat is (sometimes!) available to transport you for breakfast and dinner. It is a little hit and miss but a starlight boat trip to dinner adds to the charm of the place.
Excellent local trips can be arranged with the owner very cheaply and we particularly recommend the snorkelling boat trip to the islands where we were lucky enough to swim with reef sharks.
The food is of good quality and reasonably priced. Our only concerns were the lack of cleaning during our stay. In four days the room was not cleaned, swept or indeed the bins emptied but we don't want to be too harsh on a small homestay that is charging very little. It is perfect if you like isolation and can deal with very basic facilities and intermittent water and electricity. If you need boutique it's not for you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We began our holiday here at Lena house and are so glad we did.

Didakus and his family are very welcoming and keen to share local knowledge with you. As other reviews mention the beach is not the most spectacular in Indonesia but more than makes up for it for the location.

The bamboo bungalows were great, good mossie nets (although malaria is not as common in east Flores) and great semi outdoor bathroom/mandi.

Be sure to hire a motorbike and ride into the mountains as they are spectacular and the ride is great fun.

Didakus is a very engaging host and invited Emma and I to come and visit the NGO where he works, as Emma is in a similar field.

Highly recommend having the fish curry and grilled fish (kingfish when we were there), some of the best food of our trip.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Foster_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I came to Lena House because I had to wait for a flight, and having already stayed in Maumere for a few days as a single female traveler, I was in need of some peace and a break from the predominantly Male town. Lena house is approx 25km from Maumere, an easy ride down a straight, flat road along the coast.

When I arrived I was immediately sure I was going to be very happy here. The bungalow I stayed in was really pretty and had an organically themed bathroom which I thought was really cool. The room was basic but so clean and well kept and the mattress on my bed was so comfortable - I had the best sleep. I had a little balcony facing the sea, and it has lots of little corals on the edges making it so pretty.

The area consists of 4 bungalows (There is also another site with more bungalows just a little way down the beach) and there is a restaurant area in the middle, They have a dog, chickens, and pigs, so with the organically themed bathroom and garden it really makes for a natural experience, I thought it was great. The sea is right there for you to swim in, it's very clean. And Didakus can arrange for snorkeling trips and also other trips such as a visit to the local Volcano. However Lena house is also perfect for relaxing and having a nice rest before you move on to your next trip. I did go snorkeling on one of the days i was there and it was great. I saw a trumpet fish that day actually!

The food was very nice, the breakfast was perfect and a good size unlike some other places. The prices are very reasonable and give great value to your stay.

Didakus does also have an internet modem which guest can use in their laptops for a fair price per hour.

The family are so nice and make you feel so welcome. The restaurant makes for a good area to socialize and it seemed a few people would have some nice evening chats there.

I highly recommend Lena House, especially if you are a budget traveler looking for somewhere nice to stay after a long trip through Flores and are waiting for a flight, or if you need to do a Visa run, Maumere does have the immigration office there so many people do come here for that.

Room Tip: If the sea facing bungalows are available Didakus will offer them to you first! Very nice view to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed 4 days in Lena House 1 in Wodong. The owner and the family are very helpful and can (if you want), organize different trips. We did the snorkelling trip to Pulau Baby! Very recommended. Nice corals, clear water and the good thing is: you're the only one :-)

The food they cook in Lena House is simpel, but very very delicious (fish curry and gado gado). The prices are very fair.

Thank you very much

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetoMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 7 nights at Lena House. We would strongly recommend it to other travellers.

Lena House (24km or 30 minutes east of Maumere) consist of two 4 bungalow sites separated by a 10 minute walk along the shoreline. Whilst the beach isn't the most impressive we have seen the water is clean and clear and good for swimming. The real beauty of the place, however, is the family who Lena House, the seclusion, tranquility and natural beauty of the surrounds.

The bungalows are basic, but clean and well kept - each has a western toilet with mandi, cold running water, mosquito nets and verandah with chairs and table. The very reasonable room rate includes a decent breakfast of pancake or bread and jam or omelete; tea or coffee; and a fruit salad. The menu whilst not extensive was excellent value. The Gado Gado and fish curry were amongst the best we've had in Indonesia.

Didakus - the patron of the family - is a wity and engaing soul. He works for a local NGO and is knowledgable about the local area and Indonesia in general. He also kindly agreed to sponsor our VISA extensions free of charge, which saved us money and trouble at the immigration office. We very much enjoyed our evening chats with him.

Should you decide to stay here be sure to take a trip 5-6km up the coast to the fishing boat building village - a mixed christian and muslim community; we had great fun meeting the locals.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wodong
0.0 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
0.0 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cottages
Sunset Cottages
#1 of 7 in Maumere
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea World Club Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
0.0 mi away
Seraya Hotel & Resort
Seraya Hotel & Resort
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena House

Property: Lena House
Address: Jl. Raya Maumere - Larantuka km 28 | Waigete, Wodong, Flores 28111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Wodong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wodong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly family, eight clean and pretty bungalows set by a quiet beach, each with en suite bathrooms with a natural theme. This makes for a relaxing stay before your flight or trip to West Flores.You only pay from Rp.115.000 - Rp.135.000 To enjoy the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing