We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for something different” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Tree Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gapland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Tree Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun for something different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

What I liked best about this campground was that unlike a State park the campsites were not right ontop of each other. Each cabin has its own picnic table and fire pit, however the site is on such a steep hill they are kind of difficult to use. The major drawback to this campsite is the shower situation. There are only two shower stalls for the entire campground. They are seperate from the bathroom areas and are open, which is actually really neat because you can see the sky. It looks as though they are building another stall but when I went this past weekend there were only two, one of which only had cold water. To take a shower in the morning meant you had to get in line because the two available were coed, making the lines even longer.
Overall a neat campground, I was glad to try it once but probably wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: The camping cottages are not really worth the extra fee in the summer. Although they are larger the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsblizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We recommend taking a shower at an odd time, not 9 a.m.. The afternoon sun, sunset, or even late night with the starsis a great time for an outdoor shower. Getting a great shower is like finding the perfect parking spot at the perfect time, some people have a knack for it.
We are on top of a mountain, and that has advantages and dis-advantages. we have the views.
Most sites have level areas. Some are more level than other sites. If you take the time to walk around on a Sunday after everyone has checked out, you will find sites that work best for you. If you scroll down to the blue F on our web site and click on it, it takes you to our Facebook page. Go to photos and then "see all." June 9, there is an album with 64 photos of all the tent sites. I am always adding more photos. These will give you a good and clear understanding of our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    23
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We found this location last minute and emailed an inquiry for availability. Within 15 minutes I had a reply and we were able to get a cabin that had just received a cancellation. The owner was very clear about the rustic conditions we were reserving, so we went in eyes wide open. However, if we had long been planning a get-away trip to a tree house camp, we would have been more disappointed. On the whole site there seem to be only two true "tree houses." Everything else, including ours, was essentially raised cabins on a very hilly terrain. Our cabin was one of the older ones (Bluebird). And while the stairs had been redone fairly recently, the roof leaked during the rain storm and the screen had several patches covered over with duct tape and a few not covered at all. There was an inordinate amount of poison ivy on our small camp site, and the parking space would have been near-impossible were it not for all-wheel drive. We were also closer to the port-a-potty than the map indicates, and unfortunately were downwind most of the time.

Would we go there again? Absolutely, but I would give much more lead time to allow booking one of the newer cottages or tree cabins. The owners were wonderful and I wholly support their philosophy of peaceful, respectful camping for all. They were responsive and customer focused. I never for a moment expected we'd be staying in anything more that what we had. They are clear in their communications. They run a camp store with everything you might need that you forgot. They have the cleanest bathrooms I've EVER seen while camping, and they have wonderful showers, a separate dish washing sink, and a dumpster for trash, and roped off pathways between the campgrounds. Also, the prices are wonderfully reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early for roomier cottages or more recently built/renovated cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your review.
I'd like to clarify a few things. The treehouse sites are quite large, at least 900 square feet of ground. There is about 50 yards between sites that has dense forest, but there is little vegetation at the site. You will not encounter poison ivy IN any site, it is in the woods, between sites, so, if you stay in your site and on the pathways, you will not encounter it.
Yes, we have a variety of cabins and tree houses, the Robin and the Falcon and Hawk are new, and very "tree-housey", even though they don't have trees inside, they are high up off the ground, with covered porches and lofts.
Screen maintenance is constant. Sometimes a camper will put duct tape on a hole in the screen, and then we replace the screen.
The port-o-johns get cleaned every thursday. If you had a bad experience with them, it was likely because it was the July 4 Holiday that fell on Wednesday, and we were extremely busy mid-week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My daughter, her dog, and I recently camped at the Maple Tree Campground in a Tree Cottage. Louise greeted us when we checked in and she was very friendly and helpful, providing us with a bag of wood for the overnight stay, (which included a starter for only $11). Our cottage, The Hickory, had the USA flag proudly waving from the balcony...inside was spacious, with mattresses on the bunks, a working woodstove, and dining table and chairs. The site itself was also large enough to accommodate picnic table, firepit, grill (which I will keep in mind for future visits) and ample parking spot. The Campground is pet friendly, which for us was very important, most campsites will not allow a dog in a cabin. We enjoyed a hike through the campground checking out recently upgraded cottages and tree houses. The campground is situated on South Mountain which allows for wonderful views, peace and quiet, and historical attractions closeby. The bathrooms/shower and office building was a short walk from our campsite, and there was also a portajohn a short distance from our site. I am a morning coffee drinker and enjoyed Louise's fresh brewed coffee (only $1) and conversation in the morning. I highly recommend this campground! I have enjoyed camping for about 30 years now in tents, popup camper, and cabins, but this was truly a fun experience as the campsite was not overloaded with hundreds of campers. Camping in a tree cottage instead of on the ground for me, was fun! It is open year round and I hope to return later in the fall season.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My son got sick two days before our one-night camping trip to this lodge. It was mid-November, and not a high capacity time, so I called and asked for a refund - and was flatly refused. The owner said, 'I wouldn't make any money if I refunded a deposit every time someone got sick!' So she kept our $25 - and lost our business for good. I would never stay at a place where the owner is more concerned about keeping $25 than she is in keeping her customers happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keerstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hello,,
Our refund policy is written in large red ink on the 'rules' page and 'camping options' page of the web site.
We do not give refunds, we give credits.
If someone cancels with enough notice and I am able to re-book, I give them a week end credit.
if someone cancels last minute and the space goes unused , and we lose the Saturday night revenue, their deposit becomes a Sunday through Thursday credit, they can sell it or give it as a gift, it is good for a year.
Everyone has a life, and things happen, people get called back to work, cars break down, people or pets get sick, every reason for cancelling is a good reason, and we expect cancellations.
However, our policy is such for a good reason. If we gave refunds, it would jam up the booking system, people would book when they didn't quite have plans in order...and it simply would not work with this small business.
Most people appreciate the ability to reschedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We camped there once during 2011 - stayed in the Willow tree cottage. Clean and roomy. We have booked 3 more camping dates for 2012. Can't wait to go back!!! Dog friendly, clean bathrooms and showers, and the people who run the place are amazing. Our friends stayed at a neighboring tree cottage - they have booked 2 trips this year. Relaxing, private, a real get away that is close to home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed one night in the Cypress cottage while hiking the nearby Appalachian Trail. The cottage was spacious, and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and mattress. I had a couple special requests and the owner and associate were very gracious and went far, far out of their way to help me. This is a fantastic place run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for positive feed-back. It is a joy to have gracious people pass through here, thanks, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goflyergo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed with my husband, another couple, and our two dogs in the Magnolia, and we had a fantastic time! It was small but clean, with more than enough bed space (two single bunks, a double bed, and a queen bed). Even though there were about a million Boyscouts staying there that weekend, we felt relative peace and privacy. The location is gorgeous, with easy access to the Apalachian trail. The facilities were lovely (try the outdoor showers!), and our campground was spacious and nice. There were a campfire ring and grill, as well as a wood stove inside (though we didn't use the stove). Firewood was for sale at a reasonable price at the office, in addition to a bunch of canned goods and other necessities, should you forget something (no perishables, though).

And the owners are the nicest people EVER! Truly, I want to come back just to interact with them more.

Room Tip: The Magnolia has great access to the showers and bathroom without being noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goflyersgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words, you really made my day, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gapland
9.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
6.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.8 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Tree Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Campground

Property: Maple Tree Campground
Address: 20716 Townsend Rd, Gapland, MD 21779-1255
Region: United States > Maryland > Gapland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gapland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours from D.C. and Baltimore we have a small tree house campground and are open year round. There are a variety of camping options, the Hobbit House and Tree Cottages have wood stoves and mattresses, there are new ones and older ones. There are a variety of tree houses, they do not have mattresses or wood stoves. Each site has a fire circle, picnic table, and grill.The bathrooms and showers are centrally located. We have secluded tent sites. We are 7 miles from river rafting, tubing, horseback riding, zip-lining, and a ten-minute walk from the Appalachian Trail. Also, 10 minutes from a train into D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Campground Hotel Gapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing