We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping w dog sitting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gapland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Tree Campground
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Camping w dog sitting”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We just got back & I am kicking myself for living an hour away & never going here before. We went here w a mix of friends, co workers etc & stayed 2 nights. Great location & unique camping. A little pricey that you pay per head instead of per site w max amt of tents. Would be a lot for just a couple based on other camping areas. On the website it says they have a dog sitter & we couldn't believe it but its true. Within the actual site there are private residences above the last row of sites. For $5/hr you drop off your dog while you tube, bike & enjoy your day. Hardest thing about camping w your pet is that you can't leave them unattended. So here you can enjoy camping plus do a tourist attraction without worrying about your dog, genius!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank xyliafanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you found us. We purposely keep prices low because of the economy. We do charge per person, because that correlates to our costs of water, sewage and trash removal, paper, and wear and tear. However, a couple and/or 3 people can camp for 35.00 a night, which is not bad. I have had feed back from campers saying other places cost 48.00 a night for 2 people to tent camp. We do have family rates, children under 4 are no charge, and ages 5/6 are half price. If a family has more than 3 kids over age 7, we generally forgive one of them to make it as affordable as possible. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    23
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just stayed in the Robin house this past weekend (group of 6 adults and 6 kids). It was a little cramped, but we like each other, and we were fine. The camp site was decent, the common bathrooms and showers were very appropriate, and the location was very convenient to hiking, tubing, and Harpers Ferry. The only downside is that our camp was on an incline, so we had to prop the tables with rocks to food would not slide off. Other than this minor inconvenience, a good time was had by all. We will recommend this camp site to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangerpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place was awesome, my expectations from reading the reviews did not disappoint. However I only have a couple of things I wish this place have. We brought our tent so we did not experience the cottages, however we may come back in the off season, since this place gets booked up.

Things I loved about the place:

-I love the outdoor showers with hot water! (no worries you're behind a door so you will have complete privacy. The bathrooms have open ceilings).
-staff were great! (we asked if we can borrow a wrench to fix my sons bike, at least two of the staff were ready and willing to help us)
-Sink to wash your dishes in.
-potable water (I like how my son and I had to hike up and down to get water, something about it was humbling).
-portapotties were kept clean.
-it's close to home, but yet seem far.
-close to attractions.
-We got discounts!



Things that need improvement:
-The entrance/exit to the campground is not so noticeable, we almost missed it. That being said, when we were leaving to go to the Gathland statepark we almost got into a wreck. We almost missed the car coming to our left (they were speeding by the way), you almost have to put the nose of your car out onto the street to see the oncoming traffic. If anyone from the campground is reading this, maybe the owner can install a convex mirror. If there is one already, our apologies for missing it.

-The camp did not connect to any hiking trail, or at least we were told the camp were not. We brought our bikes in the hopes that we could bike to nearby attractions. We decided against it since we would have to ride our bikes onto the road.



I cant think of anything else other than they get booked up and we were lucky enough to get a spot.

PS. When I was reading the reviews about the road in the campground, it almost swayed me not to go since I have a Scion xb that has 3-4 inches clearance from the ground. I don't know what the condition of the road was before this summer but my car was fine.

-careful of poison ivy.

-If you like quasi-seclusion you may want to opt for the wood-tent sites as far from the road as possible.

Room Tip: -If you like quasi-seclusion you may want to opt for the wood-tent sites as far from the road as pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally_Bay_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for your feed back. Our neighborhood is working on trying to get some speed bumps on our road. It is a narrow country road, when 2 cars pass, one needs to pull over and they both need to slow down to pass. Most of the time people get this. It is a common sense thing.
(If everyone had common sense, what a wonderful world it would be!! )
We are a half a mile from the Appalachian Trail, for hiking, but it is a walk down the road.
You are right, there are not good bike trails near us unless you are a professional biker used to roads.
The C&O canal is about 6 miles away, and it is the best option for biking, you can drive down and then bike along the river for as long as you want without any cars, and it is scenic, shaded and breezy.
I appreciate you feed back, I will look into getting a convex mirror to make the entrance easier to navigate. Thanks. Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We just came back from our weekend trip to the Maple Tree Campground. We enjoyed our trip despite the abnormally hot temps. The campsites were clean, and the cabins are kept in good repair. Don't expect large cabins, as most of the cabins are meant for sleeping much like a tent. We did have an issue with random campers mistaking the main trail with the trail to our campsite, but this could be resolved with a simple sign where the campsite trail branches off from the main trail. Not a big issue, but slightly annoying. The customer service is great and very friendly (typical rural hospitality). We had an issue the first night with our campsite neighbor (a large group) making too much FAR past the camp's quiet hours. They finally quieted down around 3am. This was rough since we had two young children with us that weren't able to get to sleep until very late cause of the noise but still woke at first light, leaving my wife and I bleary-eyed for the rest of the day. We complained the next morning to the staff, and it appeared other campers did as well. The disruptive campers were asked to leave and we were grateful for it. The next night was much more peaceful. We are definitely returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your feed back. We have a system for late night partiers who disturb their neighbors. We walk around between 11pm and midnight reminding people it is quiet time. Sometimes people get a second wind at 2 or 3 a.m., and, if that happens we request a phone call so we can address the situation while it is happening. We are available around the clock. Normally common sense dictates that people do not walk through other peoples' sites, so, that is rare. 98.% of the people who come here are very respectful, but, life being what is is, 2% of the time we have to address the people who lack courtesy for others. We do our best to handle them swiftly.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here at the Bull site for Memorial Day Weekend. Campground was well looked after. You can really tell the staff takes great care in providing a clean and well cared for establishment. We stayed at Cunningham falls last year and were completely turned off by all the restrictions that campground has.

The Treehouse Camp has great balance in allowing their guests to enjoy themselves and assuring common courtesy between guests. We had a very easy time checking in and the staff in the office was very helpful with directions and ideas of places to go on day trips. The campsite was clean however the entire camp ground is on the side of a mountain; you can tell they did their best to level the tent sites but there will always be a slight pitch on the ground.

This camp is dog friendly and it was wonderful to spend the weekend with our pup! There is a quite time listed as 11pm but we had no problems when we stayed up later then that drinking a few beers around the campfire.

As long as one is courteous and treats others well they will have a pleasant time here. We plan on coming back again next year!

Thank you for a great campground only an hour from Baltimore!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just came back from a weekend with the Boy Scouts at the Maple Tree Campground (December 2012). We also stayed here back in February 2011. While we certainly stay here at odd times of year, we love this place!

Right off the bat, location: it's on the side of a mountain. Not carved into a mountain, it's on the mountain slope. This means it can be a bit hairy getting your car in and out, but it also means great views through the trees from every site that we explored! I've never camped at a campground at a mountain location like this that I didn't have to backpack in to. If you want to drive your RV in a park it, taking a golf cart around, this place is not for you. If you want a site or a lovely treehouse with nature around you and the beautiful Appalachians out your window, this is for you. We stayed here because it was the closest camping to Antietam National Battlefield 20 minutes down back roads), but it's also walking distance from Gathland State Park (five minute walk) and a great base for hiked on the AT (located on the ridge above your sites - 10 1/2 beautiful miles into Harper's Ferry, WV). We'll definitely be back for that hike.

Accommodations: We tent camped both times. The first time we stayed with ten boys and three adults in Lion and Leopard sites at the top of the mountain, with great views and a few inches of snow for the fun of it. The road up is steep (we walked our gear up due to ice on the road), but the sites are spacious, spread out, and equipped with picnic tables. Our stay this weekend was the the tipi field with sixteen boys and six adults, so we needed the extra space. We were the only campers outside, so we had a ton of space for the boys to run around in, views of the sunset, and some festive Christmas lights to look at. Our only disapointment was that this site was right on the road, so cars came pretty close (although they didn't come by often). If you don't have a large group like us and are tent camping, get a site up top. Nice, clean bathrooms are available, and showers too (we didn't partake of outdoor showers, as it's winter).

Staff: Staff were helpful and friendly. Booking was easy by phone. Very tolerant of having sixteen boys run all over the property (they are good kids, but they are still energetic boys). Gave us the run down on hiking the AT if basing from the campground, which has us excited to come back.

Minor issues:

* Only one, online booking was very glitchy. Look at the map on the website, but save yourself time and make your reservations by phone. They'll be friendly.

Room Tip: If tent camping, get one higher up the mountain, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thanks for your review. Our online booking system is 4 years old, by computer standards that is ancient, we are in process of up-dating it to the next version, and that will be done in a few weeks.
Thanks for your kind words, it was great having you guys here, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My boyfriend, two friends, and four dogs rented two tree cottages in early September. We all loved it! Some of the reviews I read before we decided on the trip had me concerned that the place was going to be a police state as far as having a few drinks and laughing around the fire. Absolutely NOT THE CASE. While this is clearly a family oriented establishment, we were a group of 30/40 yr olds with no children, and I'm certain we ( and the dogs a few times) were happily loud. We DID make sure to adhere to the quiet time at 11pm, but no one came to complain that we were simply awake around the fire after 11.

This place is very pet friendly. Our canine friends consisted of two pitbulls, a pitbull/african mastiff puppy, and a shepherd/mastiff. They are all well behaved, friendly dogs and were kept leashed , of course, but these are breeds that are often discriminated against. We appreciated the lack of discrimination.
The cabin, bathroom facilities and showers ( outside showers, but nice hot water) were immaculate. Our campsite had two picnic tables, a nice fire pit, and a charcoal grill, and was quite large. The camp store had firewood, ice, lots of things you may have forgotten, and some neat jewelry for sale. The owner and employees were all super pleasant and helpful..providing info and a map of the surrounding area. The campsite is close to Aintetum, the C & O canal, Appalachian trail, Harpers Ferry. We had a marvelous time and can't wait to go back when it's a little cooler to take advantage of the wood stoves in the tree cottage.

Room Tip: Call the owner with your concerns/requirements and she will help you pick the best available site/tr...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hi. Thank you for your review. It is true, peaceful people who abide by the rules, and are considerate of their neighbors, are very much appreciated and welcomed here. They keep the wind in our sails, thanks again, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gapland
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
811 reviews
6.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
290 reviews
12.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Tree Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Campground

Property: Maple Tree Campground
Address: 20716 Townsend Rd, Gapland, MD 21779-1255
Region: United States > Maryland > Gapland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gapland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours from D.C. and Baltimore we have a small tree house campground and are open year round. There are a variety of camping options, the Hobbit House and Tree Cottages have wood stoves and mattresses, there are new ones and older ones. There are a variety of tree houses, they do not have mattresses or wood stoves. Each site has a fire circle, picnic table, and grill.The bathrooms and showers are centrally located. We have secluded tent sites. We are 7 miles from river rafting, tubing, horseback riding, zip-lining, and a ten-minute walk from the Appalachian Trail. Also, 10 minutes from a train into D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Campground Hotel Gapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing