We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maple Tree Campground
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn(Shepherdstown)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Charles Town(Charles Town)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
73
24
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
24
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovecamping experiencesouth mountainroasting marshmallowsperfect weekendcamp groundwheel drive vehicletreehousecampfirecottagecreamerykindlingshepherdstownpetsbonsai
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We rented the Bonsai cottage for three nights. Our cottage was larger than I expected and very clean. mattress were covered with plastic case, you bring your own sheets or sleeping bags. The heat while we stayed was in the upper 90's so we did not use the wood stove. All the windows have screens and the door to the balcony also had a screen door. There is no electric hook up in the cottage or in the campsites. We stayed during the week and it was very quiet not many people camping weekdays. Cottages & Tree houses are closer to each other than how it appears on map but still very nice. The campground is very close to area attractions. Down the road is a beautiful state park where you can hike and only a 15 minute drive to Harper's Ferry.

Room Tip: call to ask staff for help selecting a tree house/cottage. Cypress cottage had a nice parking spot and seemed very private.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank PMplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Love this hidden treasure... go back in time to a relaxing memory of summer days and nights that you spent in a tree house that your Dad built in the backyard tree!

Mountain top wonder... go and enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helloworld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm not sure I'd call these treehouses; they're really more like cabins on stilts. However, don't let that dissuade you from coming here to do some great car camping!

The Maple Tree Campground is close enough for day trips to Harper's Ferry, Frederick, MD, Antietam Battlegrounds, and Charles Town Race Track. The "treehouses" make the perfect spot for car camping, as each one gets their own firepit, picnic table and grill, and the campgrounds have flush toilets and hot showers. Firewood and select supplies are available for purchase, and the staff is really friendly and helpful, if you need directions or advice on things to do while staying there.

We were in the "Woodpecker" treehouse, which was cozy and centrally located, but that meant we did have people walking through our campsite on their way to the bathrooms. I think Maple Tree Campground would be excellent for group camping, with each party in several treehouses located near each other. If you have kids, this is the perfect spot - they will never be bored!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi, thanks for encouraging words.
The pathway to the restroom is quite removed from the Woodpecker site, and people should not walk through your site. Normally it is common sense for people understand this, as the paths are well marked, but sometimes kids don't think about these things.
Under those circumstances, it is appropriate to ask people to please not walk through your site, and use the path, or, you can ask us in the office to communicate that to them.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked a weekend trip with nine friends the weekend of June 13-15 and we had a great time! We booked a few months in advance and stayed in the Robin treehouse. I spoke to the staff beforehand and they said that it may be a squeeze for 10 people, but it was a spacious cabin and we were able to fit everyone comfortably between two queen bunks, two double bunks and two camp beds. The cabin was in excellent condition and very clean. It had a cute little porch attached to it that fit four camp chairs. The site had a picnic table, a BBQ grill and a fire pit, which were all in great condition. Both the bathrooms and the port-o-johns were very clean, as were the showers.

The rate was also excellent. When we split up the bill, it came out to just over $23 per person for the entire weekend.

Staff were very helpful and let us know about great things to see and do in the area. They marked important things (like grocery stores) on the map for us. The campsite is close to several fun things, including Crystal Grottoes Caverns, Harpers Ferry, WV and several vineyards and cider cellars.

I would absolutely recommend The Maple Tree Campground to anyone who likes to go camping. We're thinking about coming back and renting one of their insulated cabins in the fall and definitely coming back next spring/summer.

Room Tip: The Robin cabin can hold 10 people comfortably.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First, The staff is amazing. They were super friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a cottage. It was more than enough room for our family of 4. I wasn't crazy about the fact that the doors do not lock. I understand that locks on the door for the Tree houses would be pointless but I was shocked to find out the cottage didn't have a lock. Just make sure you take nothing valuable and if you do, keep it with you. The only other thing I wasn't crazy about was the price of the wood that you MUST buy there. You can not bring your own and they charge $9 a bag. At that price a cord would be over $400 (actually, It bothered my husband, not me..lol). The grounds are fun to explore and the bathrooms/showers are cleaned multiple times a day. They fill up quickly with reservations so plan far in advance. Very close to Harper's Ferry, WV. We will definitely be going back again and again. My kids 11 & 12 had a wonderful time. My daughter was very happy they offer WIFI..lol

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi,
Thanks for positive words and feedback.
Traditionally when people camp, locking a tent is a non-issue, and, everything here is camping.
In 42 years, we have never had a problem with theft.
I think having latches on the cottages is a good idea, so, it is on my to-do list now.
We suggest you keep valuables locked in your car, but leaving bedding and/or clothes in your cottage is not a problem.
On the subject of wood, you might be surprised how labor intensive it is to get wood into individual bags. It starts with an arborist for cutting, (anyone who has taken large trees down knows this is costly) then it has to be cut and hauled into the wood shed, and split, and bagged. You have a wood splitter and chain saws to maintain, blades to sharpen, gas, hydrolic fluid , and lots of man power hours.
Our bags are filled with 7 or so large oak logs, and weigh 40 to 50 lbs. Two to three bags will keep a cottage warm for a winter week end, and is enough also for 2 campfires over a summer weekend. Two large oak logs will burn for 2 to three hours. We suggest people make moderate sized fires instead of giant ones, it is more safe, and more economical.
We have raised prices very little over the past 5 years in light of the difficult economy, even though property taxes have risen and our costs as well... most people feel what they spend for a week end get-a-way here is very reasonable. Also, we are always improving the facilities.
Thanks again for kind words, see you next time, Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews