We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Moon”

East Moon Asian Bistro
Ranked #37 of 261 Restaurants in Glen Burnie
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kent Island, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Over the Moon”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were looking for a sushi restaurant in the Glen Burnie to meet some friends, and we found The East Moon Asian Bistro through TripAdvisor and it has become a favorite. This newer restaurant located right off of Ritchie Highway in Glen Burnie, has a bright, trendy atmosphere which is appropriate for family, lunch with a girlfriend, or even a romantic dinner date. We've enjoyed everything we've ordered, but some of our favorite items on the menu include the Thai Chicken Coconut soup, the Kani Salad (a spicy shredded salad), the spicy tuna roll, and Never Try, Never Know sushi roll. The pricing is reasonable, and the portions are fair. We split almost everything we get there. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. In fact, we went there early evening on New Years Eve and the bartender insisted on haveing someone run out to get Red Bull because they had run out. We also order carryout regularly, they make it very easy and it is always delivered much quicker than the anticipated time given, and each delivery person has been very friendly. We consider this a restaurant "Our little secret", but we know it won't be a secret for long.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place...”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have ordered delivery from East Moon several times, and went there to eat once. My husband has liked pretty much everything he has ordered. A favorite of ours is the Thai Fried Rice. It's got a great combination of flavors, and while there's a little spice, it's not too much. I don't like spicy food and can tolerate it fine. Another favorite is the Whiskey Beef. My husband also tried the Drunken Noodles the last time we ordered and absolutely loved them.

While I've received dishes that I've liked a lot, I have received others that went from not very good to just plain odd. In the "not very good" category lies the Beef and Broccoli I ordered last week. It just had an odd taste to it, which was strange because I've ordered it before and liked it. My husband tried it as well and agreed with my assessment. Another strange miss I had was with their Triple Delight. The sauce was just totally wrong and also came loaded with red pepper flakes. It made the dish incredibly spicy when it is not supposed to be. A favorite of mine has been their Noodles- Fu Jian Style, but one time when I ordered they were loaded with a bunch of different vegetables that weren't included on the menu- some of which I didn't care for. I have solved that problem by requesting only what is listed on the menu, but it was strange that they would just add those things in.

While we will likely go back here again due to its convenience and the dishes that we really love, I am concerned about the inconsistency with some of the food. Admittedly I have not called the restaurant to complain about the issues I had- my husband ate the things I could not and shared his with me to make up for it, so we were okay. Had we actually been at the restaurant I would have said something. I am a lot more careful now about what I will and won't order from here because of my past experiences.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peachkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, excellent service, and an unexpectedly upscale atmosphere. Looking forward to trying to sushi. We will be going back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Atmosphere is very fun. Service was friendly and quick. Food was amazing! They offer so much variety of Asian dishes, all of which was delicious. Sushi was very yummy. Offers a good happy hour also. Overall great experience. Looking forward to eating here again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Star1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
393 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“GREAT ASIAN FOOD AND VARIETY”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just finished our third visit to the East Moon in the last three months Was very impressed during our first visit, but wanted to return a few times to make sure it was not just a feel good moment. Staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent and presentation great. It is now our favorite Asian food location. Mongolian beef very tender with excellent flavor. Szechuan chicken, sesame chicken both great.
Reasonable prices $10 or less for most entrees. Sunday evening, around 6 PM generally quiet. We have never had to wait. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Moon Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to East Moon Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing