We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Restaurant & Lounge

Sunset Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #10 of 261 Restaurants in Glen Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Sunset Restaurant doesn't change much year to year. My family and I ate there recently and were pleased. The service is always great. The food consistent. I had the Crab Melt and it was exactly like the last Crab Melt I had there several years ago. That's a good thing. The prices are reasonable and portions large. All of us took home part of our meals. There was just too much food for one sitting. The leftovers made a nice lunch the next day. So really we got two meals for the price of one. Who can complain about that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveEurope411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    19
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tablecloth restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've been dining at the Sunset since I was a little girl. We have always loved their seafood in particular. During this visit, I stopped to get my father a meal for Father's Day as neither of my parent's are as agile as they once were. The seafood was cooked to perfection. I got my dad a broiled seafood platter and my mom stuffed shrimp. Sides are handmade...none of this opening a can and serving it at the Sunset. They have wonderful pickled beets, great creamy cucumbers and the very best gravy for mashed potatoes. It has changed some over the years, but the food is still very good. We need to visit there soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlejfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit to Sunset in Maryland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great family restaurant. The service is excellent and the food is good with very healthy portions so go with an appetite. It is known for its seafood and their homemade crab soup is excellent with a touch of brandy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Sunset may be an old restaurant but every time we've gone there the service and food have been high quality. We hadn't been to the Sunset in many years but I thought it'd be nice to celebrate our anniversary where we started celebrating our wedding many years ago.

My wife and I both had steak. My meal included crab cakes as part of a surf and turf dinner. We had the strawberry shortcake for desert. Every item we ate was prepared properly, had excellent flavor and Donna, our server was attentive and friendly.

The Sunset is still among the best in Maryland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Visited for Classic Shrimp Salad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I visited the Sunset Restaurant recently looking forward to their classic Shrimp Salad.

I was disappointed to pay $21.95 for a Shrimp Salad platter made with what appeared to be frozen medium shrimp. There wasn't a lot of seasoning and the salad itself was mediocre.I will admit the quantity was there, but not the quality.

Sadly I must report that my local American Legion and I can prepare better shrimp salad. I visited my local American Legion last night and had their shrimp salad. It was made with large shrimp and properly seasoned.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thomassb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sunset Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing