We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time”

New Germany State Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five miles from Grantsville, this park is popular with bikers and hikers.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Time”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family reserves the pavillion for our Reunion each year.
The pavillion has lights,kitchen, and plenty of space. This year my daughter and dad went on the lake in the paddle boats. Other family members did a little fishing. It's a nice place to be in any weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaR451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice park”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice, clean beach with lifeguards. Excellent nature center to entertain the little ones. Wonderful hiking trails that serve as cross country ski trails in the winter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiveMstr2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great park, with small beach on lakefront. Kids fished and swam. Our family holds their reunion here every two years. Beautiful scenic park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terrie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our first time staying at New Germany State Park and it was a terrific little 3 day vacation. We stayed in cabin 10 and it was cozy, very well kept and immaculately clean. The trails were well labeled and there was even a flat wide trail perfect for biking. The park rangers are the kindest...we forgot dish soap and while asking a ranger where we could buy some, he instead showed up at our cabin with a cup full of soap!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MTosheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville,MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little hike”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We swung through here on way to Deep Creek and had a nice 20 minute hike on the gazebo trail near the lake. It was a beautiful day and the fresh pine and scenery were very relaxing and kids liked it too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank okiedokie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Germany State Park also viewed

 
Grantsville, Garrett County
 

Been to New Germany State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing