We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking just like home...what a wonderful find!”

Penn Alps Restaurant and Craft Shop
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Grantsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cooking just like home...what a wonderful find!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband loved this restaurant years ago and would stop as he was travelling through the area. We stopped after camping and canoeing on a cold and rainy weekend...what a wonderful place to have dinner! Just like I remember in Lancaster, PA growing up...home cooking with many of the Amish dishes I love. A taste of my hometown...generous helpings, all cooked fresh and great prices. Brought back so many memories. Our family loved it! Will be back again for sure! This is a real gem in a quiet pretty area of MD...don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dandsgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    60
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Soup & Salad Bar, Relaxing Atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Located just off of 68 and 40, it's always been a sort of tradition in my family to stop at Penn Alps for the soup and salad bar when traveling through the area. Salad bar options are plenty, typically has two soups to choose from, and includes dessert (cakes, and ice cream). Very down-to-earth, homestyle atmosphere, expect to be called "Hun" and "Hunny" a lot. All around a very comforting and tasty stop for a wondering traveler.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fotoflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Comfort food just like it used to be. Gourmet it's not. There's nothing fancy here. Just plain good old fashioned food and plenty of it. This is food prepared in the tradition of fueling hard labor on the farm or shop --- sun up to sun down. Great desserts too. I would weigh 350 lbs. it I ate here on a regular basis ..... but to stop by on a trip..... it's a treat not to be missed.

And don't just eat. When we are here we pick up a package of locally ground buckwheat for making pancakes at home. But there are lots of options to take home food just like grandma used to make.

When you are finished with your meal, go over to the "Yoder House" to see how life was lived 200 years ago when the National Road (the first Federal Interstate Highway) came thru here. The bridge over the Casselman River was built in 1813. And then stop by the Spruce Forest Artisan Village to see highly skilled contemporary craftsmen (craftspeople?) and their work. If you just want a quick meal find a chain burger place. If you want an experience you will remember hang out a while in Grantsville after a meal at the Penn Alps.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fathers Day Buffett”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

All the food was hot, fried chicken was very good as well as the noodles. Servers could be more attentive to diners. Nice little buffett, average home cooking. Nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVMountaineerFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Plentiful buffet”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

All the food was hot, and very tasty. Soup was excellent and the chocolate cake was top notch. Service was very courteous and very attentive

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penn Alps Restaurant and Craft Shop also viewed

Grantsville, Garrett County
 

Been to Penn Alps Restaurant and Craft Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing