We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not worth it”
Review of Shoney's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
Restaurant details
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Was not worth it”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

First time being to a Shoneys, my boyfriend told me they were good last time he went to one. Not so much this time. The food was bad. It was tasteless, stale, and just plain bad. The worst part was we got there when the lunch buffet was going to be put out in like 10 minutes. So we waited, that was stupid. They brought the fish and steak out. The fish was tasteless. They had frog legs on the buffet to with no name around it we had to figure out what it was. The steak was so tough and flavorless. I don't plan on EVER visiting here again!!!! Plus side, the waitress was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a great Shoney's”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Ate here once....the place is not very clean the waitress was so rude we ended up talking to a manager and there was hair in the syrup at the breakfast bar

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kipper1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Skip It”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I chose Shoneys because I chose not to pay for an expensive hotel breakfast. I hadn't been to a Shoneys in sometime, so maybe my expectations were too high, but I was looking forward to a nice Sunday morning breakfast. I opted for the buffet - maybe that was my mistake. Stale food with little taste, very few healthly options. A good buffet will always get me up for seconds and thirds, but that wasn't the case here. Customer service was okay - nothing to write home about. Basically an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smckay090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“update your buffet”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Please update your buffet. We only eat here once in a while because of the food. I know we can order of the menu but my daughter likes to get the buffet. It has been the same thing for years. I know that the meats change but the salad and desert bar really needs changed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average..”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The food was average, the A/C was broke, and the service was good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wicalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing