We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to visit on a rainy, cold afternoon!”

Discovery Station at Hagerstown
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovery Station at Hagerstown creates exciting hands-on learning experiences that stimulate a curiosity for discovery, exploration and further investigation by children and adults to foster life-long learning. The programs and interactive exhibits on science, technology and history are unique educational resources available to all of its visitors.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great place to visit on a rainy, cold afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited on a weekday, and were lucky enough to find a free parking space directly behind the museum. The 7 year old was fascinated by the dinosaur puzzle pieces, and spent a good bit of time in putting together a fossil. He enjoyed seeing the large dinosaur head, but I could not interest him in the movie that was shown in an adjoining room. He loved sitting in the little Cessna, especially when I showed him what the different dials, etc, were for. We spent some time with the train set upstairs. He also enjoyed the large town mat that had many houses and places of business, and spent about 45 minutes playing in that area. All the staff was friendly, interacting with my grandson frequently, and managing to interest him in some of the exhibits that he might have bypassed. The entrance fee is reasonable, the staff outstanding, and the exhibits interesting to children. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NewVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Totally awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This Museum did an outstanding job for Children on April 19,2014, They had all kinds of Easter activities for the children to do, they had pictures with the Easter Bunny, face painting, snacks for all the children and it was all for FREE! Hats off to the staff for making it a nice occasion for all children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Children's Discovery Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We did this as a side stop for our daughter. There were lots of exhibits in a fairly small area and reminded me of a classroom set up. The center is better suited for older children who are interested in science and know how to read. There is a really neat 15 foot 'Titanic' replica in the transportation exhibit as well as a life-size small airplane cockpit that the kids liked to climb and play in. I preferred looking and reading about the Hagerstown Civil War history. For those with toddlers, there is a large toddler play area to entertain them within the center. Pricing was $7 adults, $5 kids and there are starting a program for military families to enter for free after Memorial Day Weekend 2014.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Butterflies, Learning is a Great Thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is the second time we visited the Discovery Station at Hagerstown. We loved the butterfly lecture by Dave Kaplan. Each time I go there, I learn something. Very interactive, a lot of hands on exhibits all geared at children and family participation. There is a wonderful Titantic exhibit with a scaled model built by Norman Little. So many things to see. The second floor, we still have to finish. So many wonderful things to do and see. The guide Brittany is great with the clients, making everyone, feel welcome and making sure families have a great experience. Would suggest this, wonderful time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Museum of note”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

12,000 visitors a year enjoy the extensive interactive exhibits at Discovery Station in Hagerstown. A learning experience for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Station at Hagerstown also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Station at Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing