We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago. The room rug was so dirty that (despite my best efforts to keep my children's shoes ON) when my littles had their shoes off before bed for a half hour, their feet were NASTY. We had to bathe them before we'd let them get in bed. Totally gross.

Breakfast was just ok. Most hotels we stay in have far superior breakfasts. We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express a couple of years ago and it was much nicer.

I will say guest svcs customer svc was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkdematteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write a review, as the GM I take everything to heart and ensure you we make every effort to provide the cleanest room possible for our guests. I sincerely apologize if we fell short of your expectations during your visit with us. We hope you will consider visiting us again so we can provide a much better experience.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights - friendly staff - clean rooms and most important to me - Pet friendly.
The morning breakfast was much fuller than just continental, so great stay for the money.
Nice indoor pool too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Sara,

Thanks for taking the time for your feedback, we enjoy having pets as they are family too. We hope to have you back and your furry little friend too.


Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My family and I travel from Atlanta to Syracue each year to visit family. We seem to enjoy driving 10 hours first day then 6 the next (it makes day 2 relatively "easy"). Stayed at this property two years ago. Clean, good service, & loved walking to dinner next door. Checked in earlier today and upon walking into room my wife and I were overwhelmed with the smell of urine odor particularly in the bathroom. Of course we asked for another room and Joni was super nice to help us move to a new room. When we walked into the new room my daughter found a few "stink" bugs in the bathroom. I'm no scientist but am guessing they are attracted to moist atmospheres. Not wanting to go 0 for 3 I went to the front desk and told them what happened. They were super nice and tried to accommodate by trying to move us to another floor. However, we just didn't feel like it was bug safe and also clean. The staff (Joni) gave us no trouble at all when we asked to cancel our stay and were sincere in apologizing. Felt a little bad in reaching that point but my family and I just didn't want to stay there after driving 10 hours and experiencing these unfortunate events. We checked into a nearby hotel and got a clean, bug free room where I am typing this from. There's probably someone out there who has a complaint about the veey same hotel I am sleeping in but for an extra $15 a night it's worth the peace of mind knowing it's clean and bug free. HIE is usually a safe bet but it wasn't tonight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear AtlantaPatrick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with the rooms. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel on our way back to Upstate New York. The rooms were very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We had a flat screen t.v., mini fridge and microwave in the room. The free breakfast was pretty good. There were both hot and cold items and there were several different types of creamers for your coffee or tea. There is also an Outback and Buffalo Wild Wings within a 2 minute walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for the great review we cant wait to have you back soon. Our surveys not only give insight to our guests on what we have to offer but also helps us run a better operation.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Needed a decent place to stay that would allow our small dog, also. This looked good and was exactly halfway for both my friend and me. The hotel was clean and the room was very comfortable. Very convenient - right off the freeway and great restaurants within walking distance. The dog walking area was great. We even made a trip to a nearby casino! Totally enjoyable stay! We will be returning to this hotel any time we decide to meet halfway!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktdid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at our hotel. As the GM it is my top priority to ensure all guests feel at home. We love having pets and glad to here you enjoyed our walking area and over all stay.

We cant wait to have you back again real soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My family and I stayed here and enjoyed our visit. The rooms were clean. We enjoyed the pool. The shower was nice - very high pressure for a hotel. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn. Very convenient location - right off the interstate. It was also nice that there were good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank You for taking the time for sharing our hotel and what we have to offer. As the GM I love hearing the feed back as to which it helps us improve in all areas.

We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Take care,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stay here when go skiing at Whitetail resorts in Pa. The ski slopes are a little more than 20 minutes away, but the hotel is clean and has a welcoming feeling to it. As. Prime member, free to join, cookies and bottled water are free when picking up your keys.
The location is good and popular restaurants are within walking distance. The front staff is friendly and even called our room once we settled in to see if we needed anything. The pool area was clean and after driving or skiing, is nice to unwind in. The hot tub however, had a greenish yellow tint to it, no,.. Not what you're thinking. We called the front desk and they say they've drained and replaced the water several times.. It was malodorous, so we just kept our head/face out of it... As is common practice with all community hot tubs.
We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Join the prime club, points add up over time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agrandadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for a for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel. We love to hear the wonderful feed back and comments not only helping us to get better but also to our future guests who are looking for a nice family vacation away from home. We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Best wishes,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hagerstown
Courtyard Hagerstown
#9 of 21 in Hagerstown
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#7 of 21 in Hagerstown
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Ln, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing