We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
Reviewed 9 August 2005

Our one night at this hotel was a nightmare. The blanket on the bed was torn, wireless access did not work, stains on the carpet. The AC did not work right and every time the compressor kicked in the room smelled like smoke. So much so that at one point I got up and checked the hallway to make sure the hotel wan not on fire! The toaster in the breakfast bar did not work and there was no attendant on duty. The pillows were like rocks.The next morning when I went to make coffee in the room...the coffee cups were not wrapped in plastic as they usually are in hotels...the first one I picked up was ALREADY USED! I took it to the front desk clerk when we checked out and complained about the condition of the room. All he offered was a $10.00 refund on the room. Unbelieveable. Would never stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank kimrice03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    77
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
97
57
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2005

We stayed at this hotel July 22 and 23, 2005.

It was very nice nice hotel, plus i had stayed there before and it was also great then.

THese rooms are very nice and larger than normal room and bathroom. THere is a light directly above the shower, which I especially love.

Lobby nice and clean. Staff helpful.

Breakfast was very nice, good variety.

We had a room facing the interstate and over the air conditioners and we thought we might have a problem with noise but NO COMPLAINTS---i did not hear any traffic or excessive noise from the air conditioners.

Our hallway was rather quiet. I think once we heard some louder than normal people talking loud on the way to their room.

Close to mall and many restaurants. Reasonable rates.

Will stay here next time i am in Hagerstown, MD.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank wvshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2005

I stayed here on business and this is probably was my worst one night hotel stay. What happened to me here is probably an extreme situation but here it goes.

I arrived here at 10:00 p.m. as my flight was late. I was checked in by a man in his 60's who was probably the meanest and rudest hotel front desk clerk I ever encountered. He seemed much more interested in reading his newspapers than doing his job and was visibly annoyed that I arrived and interrupted his reading. He looked at my credit card and driver's license like they were alien. He finally gave me a room key after looking over my license as if he had never seen one before. The room was fine. It was new, clean and the bed was comfortable.

I hadn't eaten dinner as of yet so I went downstairs to ask where I could go. The grumpy guy in the front pointed at a candy machine! After I turned that down, he gave me directions to a truck stop on the highway which is where I ended up going as he claimed this was the nearest place that was open. I later learned this was not true.

I got back just after 12 and the same guy quizzed me on who I was and what I was doing there as if he had never seen me before. I showed him my room key and then he wanted i.d. which I gave him.

I went to my room and then to bed. I woke up at 6:00 a.m. to the sound of hammering from the lobby! I was right above the lobby which made it even worse. I called downstairs and the person who answered the phone claimed that repairs were being made and didn't seem to care.

I didn't bother to stay for breakfast and got out of there as quick as I could. Ironically, the clerk at the desk when I checked out was very polite and friendly. When she asked if everything was okay, I said: "No. This was a horrible stay." She looked at me surprised and in disbelief and said that she would get the manager if I wanted her to. I turned it down and left. I promised myself never to go back there even though I am in Hagerstown a few times a year.

Helpful?
1 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 November 2004

Nice place, very clean. Friendly staff. Think it's a little pricey, but considering the alternatives in the Hagerstown area, this is worth the few extra bucks.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2004

We have to disagree. We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is clean, not noisy and a pleasant stay.
We are both business people. We conduct our phone calls and emails from our room at night. It was very quiet. I do agree about the high speed, but oh well.

It is a joy to stay at this establishment.
thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank kimmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 January 2004

This is a newer hotel in Hagerstown, Maryland so the rooms and common areas are in good condition. However this hotel is extremely noisy for a business traveler. I was unable to conduct business conference calls in my room due to hallway noise, even though I brought this to management's attention. The lack of high-speed internet access for VPN connectivity to business computer services makes this business traveler look for other hotels in this area. I travel to Hagerstown about 20 times a year, but sorry Holiday Inn Express...you've lost my business.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
665 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#5 of 21 in Hagerstown
277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Address: 241 Railway Ln, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing