I decided to stay at this hotel on the way back from Maine because of location and prior good experiences with Microtel. For under $70/night, I expect courteous desk clerks, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and the standard soap/shampoo/towels. All of these expectations are met at this hotel. There were a couple of minor issues: an intense odor in the second floor hallway (dissipated by morning), road noise (had to use the AC to drown it out), and the rooms are SMALL if there are more than two people. It's definitely much cheaper than the competitors across the highway. Overall, I would stay again.
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and would like to recommend a larger two-queen room for your next stay. It's much more spacious and most of them are opposite the highway which means less noise for a light sleeper.
I stayed at the Microtel for an overnight stay during a longer road trip. We arrived at the premises at 2AM, looking to stay there to get a few hours of sleep. I was disappointed to find that the rates online and the rate quoted to me differed by about 20%, when I mentioned that this was not acceptable and turned to leave, the price "dropped" a little bit, but still not to the level I was expecting. I called the hotline and obtained a rate significantly lower than what the Front Desk Staff had offered me. So we took the room to find the toilet clogged and the room with a stale cigarette smoke-like scent. Too tired to have somebody start fixing the room at that time (it was the last available room), I mentioned these issues during my check-out. To my surprise, the front desk staff reacted very defensive and borderline rude to my feedback. I am a gold member with Wyndham and had many good experiences with the group, however, this one would have to be at the bottom of my list.
As a Wyndham Gold member and frequent hotel guest, you may have had access to rates that are not bookable through our front desk. While we may negotiate a few dollars off a room rate at a late hour to sell a room, we cannot always book a special-member discount that you would have to book through corporate reservations. I'm very sorry that your room did not smell fresh as that is quite unusual, but our staff could have quickly and easily came and sprayed some air freshener to alleviate the problem. All too often in this business, guests come to check out of their room looking for another "discount" for a problem that we were unaware of and never had a chance to correct. Our goal is for you to be a satisfied guest, which is quite difficult if we don't find out about a problem until you're leaving.
Called when we were 1 hour away said he would have a room available, we had been driving all day and this was the stopping point, when we arrived all of a sudden no rooms and no apologies.
This is the worst operation I have seen. Wyndham should take a close look at this is a disgrace to the Wyndham name.
There is no "scam" here... We are sorry that we could not accommodate you. Please understand that if you do not make a reservation that we cannot hold a room for you simply because you called to inquire about our availability. It is impossible for us to know how many people will walk-in without reservations, especially since it can become busy very quickly. Next time, please make a reservation and guarantee it with your credit card.