We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Stay in Hancock”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverrun Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Place to Stay in Hancock”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We biked the C&O canal from DC to Cumberland and our second night's stay was in Hancock.
The Inn was clean, and we washed our bikes out back.
The iced tea was exactly what we needed after a hot, humid day on the C&O canal.
Room and ammenities could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My friends and I biked 60 miles from Cumberland to Hancock for part of a two-day trip. We were delighted to find this bed and breakfast within view of the canal (previously researched, but readily located). It was clean and pretty. It is three years old (as of 2012) and was renovated by the owners. There are pretty, dark wood floors, tall ceilings and nice furniture. We added a fold-up bed ($25) to the chimney room so the three of us could stay together. While the beds were not plush, they were adequate. The bathroom for the chimney room was well-lit by a large window and was very clean. There was shampoo/conditioner/soap in a dispenser that all smelled wonderful (products from Aromatics)! There are about 8 rooms in the B&B. There were only two rooms occupied by bikers, which surprised me a bit, especially on a holiday weekend. We stored our bikes in the locked basement. After dinner, we passed some time playing boggle. It was the only game available in the great room. I wouldn't have minded a few more options. However, the great room was comfortable and pretty with a small balcony overlooking the canal. There is an interesting set of books on the bookshelves reflecting the artistic preferences of the owners. I enjoyed perusing the titles. Breakfast was good. It started off with grapefruit, bananas and a little bit of orange juice in a pretty glass cup. Then, fresh english muffins, warmed canadian bacon, deviled eggs, and yogurt.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chimney room. It is on the main floor, next to where breakfast is served and near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

After a long day biking through some mud on the C&O, it was nice to pull into the Riverrun. Got a key to the back to wash and store the bike while Sinclair walked over to show me my room. Had the place to myself for the stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the common rooms had a great view just looking out on the Canal. Watched a little Internet TV on the computer. Had late lunch at Weavers. Walked a bit of the Canal.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. Instead of fresh cooked eggs or something, it was refrigerated deviled eggs and some warmed bacon. But good enough for the fuel tank I guess.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinclairHamilton, Owner at Riverrun Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do note on our website that we serve a continental breakfast. Our typical "extended" continental breakfast includes deviled eggs, cereal, locally smoked canadian bacon, cheese, vegetarian sausage, muffins, toast, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed in the Riverrun on 5/17/2012 and would certainly recommend this place to any cyclist looking for a clean comfortable room after miles on the path. The Riverrun is more like a very small motel than a traditional B&B. My room was very clean and new as was the large private bath. The inn has a common area in the back with a sofa and chairs that overlook the canal. The inn also offers an area in the basement to seccure the bikes as well as water and rags to clean up. The breakfast was fine; you had options; cereal, eggs, yogurt, English muffins, Canadian bacon, juice, etc. I would definitely stay in the RiverRun again and am will certainly do so on my next trek.

I also recommend the bike shop a block away - repaired my rear rack at super reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The River Run B&B is right on the canal and rail trail, with great accommodations for biking including locked storage for bicycles, and facilities for cleaning off the towpath mud. The place was built in 1879, at one time a whiskey warehouse, but today it is totally restored and well appointed, having just opened last year. Our room (the Minimalist) was comfortable with a private modern bath – everything was sparkling clean and new (simple, unpretentious and no doilies), the breakfast just right. The owners are both artists - a really nice couple - and they let us use the fridge for our happy hour stuff. We had a great stay at the River Run and would recommend it to anyone who wants a convenient place to lodge while hiking or biking the C&O and WMRT. Dining establishments are limited in Hancock and close early, but there are a lot of options in nearby Berkeley Springs West Virginia (just across the Potomac River from Hancock) for those seeking finer cuisine. We are planning to return to the River Run.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a queen bed, the others have singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Riverrun B&B in Hancock, Md is definitely one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed at. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. This B&B is perfect for those biking the C&O as we did. It's quiet and comfortable and offers a relaxing atmosphere with a great view from the sun room. We highly recommend this B&B for bikers and for those who may want to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place far exceeded my expectations. After biking on the C&O Canal I was very muddy. I was able to clean my bike, do a load of wash and soak in a tub. The dining room overlooks the canal and a computer as available to make connections with home. Best of all was vegetarian sausage for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerchik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
170 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
13.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
22.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverrun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverrun Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverrun Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Taney St S, Hancock, MD 21750-1410
Region: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing