We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good had problem in bathroom with broken tile on the...”
Review of Super 8 Hancock MD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Hancock MD
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Hancock MD
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at Super 8 Hancock on October 26, 2013. Main factor was low cost which was $56 including tax and an AARP discount. Also location was with 30 minutes of a trail race that started at 6:30 am in Green Ridge State Park the next morning. Room was basically clean. Beds ok. Television left a little to be desired. Location near the highway scared me, but I did not hear too much traffic. All in all - not exciting, which is good, and worth the low price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Garland B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I read the reviews and were a little hesitant to stay after reading some of them, but the hotel's location was what we needed so we decided to try it. Although you can tell they are renovating the hotel when you walk down the hallway, the room we stayed in was nice. We had a king size bed and plenty of room to move around. The bed must have been new because it was very comfortable and firm. The bathroom could be a little nicer, but it was clean even though the tub appeared old. The staff was nice also. The hallways were cold and had a slight odor, but inside the room you wouldn't notice any smell. I would recommend a short stay here for price and if the location is right for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Kay1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend while visiting Berkeley Springs and this hotel was better then I expected. It was clean, the staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable, and it was very quiet. This hotel was conveniently located close to Berkeley Spring, C&O bike trail, and lots of other great sightseeing and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaLee613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First, I will say that I know there are numerous negative reviews on this hotel. We have written some careful negative reviews in the past, but this review is all positive.

We had three group stays with 10 or more rooms each stay in September, 2013. We found every room to have new mattresses - comfortable and clean. No bedbugs - not even a trace. That is history, and the hotel is clean, kept up, and under new management this year.

The internet worked superbly, not like the experience we had in the past, so we were very pleased with the internet as well.

What a change the new management is, and refreshing! I cannot say enough great things about Suzi, who works Monday to Friday daytime. She is on top of everything, set every room door in our group open for easy luggage placement, provided all the keys on arrival, even though my staff was a bit early, and ensured all rooms were ready, working in all respects, and when one guest found her hair dryer not working, asked the room number, provided a brand new spare hair dryer, and noted the issue for in-room correction the next day. Every issue gets logged, and addressed promptly now.

I had the good fortune to meet the hotel owner on this stay, and we had a very frank discussion about the hotel's past, and its current state. I was quite complimentary about the improvements, and I learned that the bathrooms are scheduled to be renovated this year. The bathrooms are the achille's heel of the hotel at this time -- in strong need of renovation, but they are kept clean, and everything worked for us.

I was also fortunate enough to sit in the lobby and observe an interview with an electrician/handy-man, who the owner hired to begin work the next day on more repairs and upgrades. While the hotel had a period of several years of definite demise, it deserves another chance now, and I think you will be pleased. This is still a Super8, not a Hilton, so expect good value for a small town, a very helpful staff, and cleanliness, refrigerators in the room, and other nice amenities, but don't expect five star lavish things. My one noted item on these stays is that the windows need a good cleaning.

Breakfast improved last fall, with the addition of a waffle maker, and they added tasty packaged cinnamon rolls, but there is little hot food, so expect just a simple breakfast. Bananas add healthy fruit to healthy cereals, and plenty of hot coffee, made fresh continuously. Lori even made our group's Starbucks French Roast coffee and put it in our caraffe and two of the hotel caraffe's, specially marked, "biker's special coffee." Of course everyone was welcome to it, but it was nice to have the special touch for our bicycling group!

For cyclists, there is a large bike rack out front where we locked 18 bicycles, or you can take yours to the rooms (sorry, no elevator for second floor stays). The hotel staff provides a hose for rinsing bikes and rags for wiping them clean, so you don't feel tempted to use the nice hotel towels on your bike.

We felt cared for and valued on this stay. Huge improvement over the past.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOutAndGoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.3 mi away
Hancock Motel
Hancock Motel
#2 of 2 in Hancock
88 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
398 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Inn
Best Western Plaza Inn
#4 of 8 in Breezewood
231 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hancock MD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hancock MD

Address: 118 Limestone Rd, Hancock, MD 21750-1110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hancock MD 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hancock MD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hancock Super 8
Hancock Super Eight
Super 8 Hancock
Super Eight Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing