We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Energetic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Arundel Mills
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern Energetic”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

If you have been to a Hard rock hotel you will understand this hotel. They play dance/party music throughout the hotel its little touches are cool. The elevators have a gel floor that moves around when you step on it. A bar area that is open at night and every night there were lots of mingling and socializing. It's a cool hotel. Negatives.. for a woman the hotel has dim lighting in the bathroom, not good for makeup application. Our room only had a walk in shower which was nice, except i like a tub. Don't go with someone you aren't comfortable with because the open design isn't set up for bathroom privacy. There is only a sliding glass door. I also thought the bed was a tad too firm. But over all beautiful modern design and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadiLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Aloft Arundel Mills. We appreciate you taking time to write a review based on your experience with us. Our rooms are modern and we are glad to hear that you find it of good value. We look forward to welcoming you back again when your schedule has you in the Hanover area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    108
    95
    39
    32
See reviews for
96
120
62
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I admit it, when I was looking for a Baltimore-area hotel, I found the aloft compelling for it's "attitude" and style. We're in our early 30s and this was a quick one-night trip, and the aloft's youngish atmosphere seemed appealing. I was excited by the media centers in the rooms that would let me play my iPod through the TV and "leave my chargers at home." Luckily, I didn't do that, because it didn't work. The sign in the room said the front desk would provide the cables, but when asked they just said "we don't do that."

The room itself was modern and fun - too fun. The sliding door that divided the toilet and shower from the sink area didn't actually close all the way, leaving a little window to whomever was on the john. No thanks. The sleek black-painted walls were dinged up and chipped, and the dance music in the elevator was a bit too much for me at 5 am.

The two-queen room was cramped, and the only seating was one desk chair, save for an awkwardly placed bench under the TV. This left two of us eating on the bed, which I found less than ideal.

The indoor pool had been a big selling point, but it's limited hours meant I never got to use it. I tried at 9pm on a Saturday, but it was full of children - because they don't tell you they share the pool with the more family-oriented hotel next door. The next morning it didn't open until 10 am, leaving little time before checkout.

The only other complaint I had was finding toiletries from the previous guest in the room upon arrival - sure, hidden behind the complimentary copies of Spin magazine, but still dismaying.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations of the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that I have followed up with the appropriate managers and departments and that corrective action will be taken immediately. Your business and patronage is very important to us. We count on your continued goodwill to keep us in business. We take pride in delivering exceptional guest service. I am disappointed to learn that we fell short in this case. I hope that your negative experience will not sour you on our hotel, and that you will consider us for your future stays when next you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I have stayed at this Aloft as well as the Aloft right next to the airport in Linthicum. Both of these properties met and exceeded my expectations of comfort, value and cleanliness. I travel to Baltimore every 2-3 weeks for work, so it's nice to find a clean property that is convenient, close to everything I need and close to a place to grab some food and some entertainment. The rooms are smaller, but how much do you need for a few days? The value was fantastic, approx 100/night or a little less. Big windows, large HDTV on the wall, comfy beds, modern decor. I even enjoy the bar in the lobby. Didn't necessarily like my windows opening up directly on the Element hotel, but that's only a small problem. Very much like this hotel. Lastly, the fitness center was actually really good, not just for a hotel, but the equipment was new and top of the line.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikisdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Aloft Arundel Mills. We appreciate you writing a review about your recent experience and stay with us. As you know, we are very convenient to many things with a complimentary shuttle that takes you within a five mile radius of the hotel including BWI Airport and Arundel Mills Mall. I am glad to hear that you have utilized and enjoyed the w xyz bar and lounge along with re:charge (fitness center) for some exercise and appreciate the condition that they are in. May we suggest that when you are making your reservation and checking in, you might want to request an exterior room so that your view is not of our backyard and the Element Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when your business travel brings you back to the Hanover area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We were 'assigned' this hotel through a HotWire deal and got a GREAT price for our stay. This was the first time we have stayed in an Aloft hotel, and my finance and I were impressed! Their style is like no other, which is what we liked the most! Very modern!

They had a lobby with a cute bar, pool table and lounge spots, an indoor pool and gym and a cute breakfast/lunch area for eating. I have seen complaints on here about them having no food, but at our stay they offered made to order omelets, breakfast sandwiches, waffles, muffins, fruits, cereals and much more for breakfast and they only charge for the hot food, all cold food (yogurts, muffins, fruits, etc.) were free! The also had wraps and sandwiches listed for lunchtime.

We had a king room. It was very spacious and clean. We definitely appreciated the style that is NOTHING like all of the other hotels out there. The only thing I could complain about is that we could hear the people in the room next door -- AND their music :oP.

The hotel is right across from one of the biggest shopping centers I have probably ever seen (Arundel Mills). We had dinner at Medieval Times, which was right in the plaza, and it was great!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you and we appreciate you writing a review about our property. We are glad to hear that you and your fiancé found the hotel to meet and exceed your expectations! We apologize for the inconvenience of the music and people in the room next to you. Now that you have experienced everything that Aloft has to offer, we hope that you come back to us on your own! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

After I had booked my stay at ALOFT (a great price for the night I needed the room), I read many poor reviews of the hotel and needless to say I was a little wary of my stay and wasn't sure what to expect. Upon arriving, I was greated by Monica who was pleasant and helpful. There was one little problem with my booking, but Monica was apologetic and helped me solve the issue. The hotel has a great modern and chic atmosphere. It is clean and well kept. I stayed in a king sized room and I must say the decor was a wonderful change from the drab places I normally stay. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was clean (the two biggest things I look for when staying at a hotel). The drinks at the bar were comparable to the other places in the area and the bartender was friendly. Playing pool and hanging out in the lounge was a great way to wind down. The following day, check out was simple and the front desk staff member (Vera) was chatty, friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was clean and the food was decent (better than you can expect). My colleague had a made-to-order omelet and said it was well made and the staff member working in the kitchen was friendly and helpful! Overall, I have nothing to complain about. You get a lot for the price you pay and I plan on using ALOFT for future stays. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcophotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Thank you and we appreciate your honesty about your pre-arrival thoughts and you sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your experience with Aloft Hotels! Thank for the great feedback of our housekeeping, front desk associates and our food and beverage service as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aloft when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Experience was good minus a couple of things.

Shuttle pickup from BWI was horrible. I ended up waiting an hour plus for them to turn up despite being told that the shuttle was on a schedule of twice an hour. Spoke to a very rude and abrupt lady at reception - no name. Was met at checkin by Jayquin who gave me 2000 Starwood Points & a couple of beers to placate me for having had to stand outside BWI for an hour.

Internet in room performed horribly. Staff tried their best to remedy & have subsequently spoken to GM (3 months associated with property) and they are looking into it. As this feature was misadverised they gave me 1 night free. Staff seem willing to help as much as they are able to do so but there does seem to be a little confusion about doing what it takes to ensure guests are taken care of.

This hotel is well located to shops (Arundel Mills) and they do not appear to mind taking you to.from the MARC/AMTRAK station as well as the Light Rail station near the BWI airport. The rooms are comfortable & clean. The laundry worked fine although the dispensing machine was broken.

They had no food service (I use the word food generously) on weekends despite having a guy there with a chef looking outfit on. Spoke to the new property manager; Jayquin who was less than 2 weeks on the job and she concurred that having staff there that was serving no purpose was silly and that it would be remedied.

If they can fix the Internet then I will go back purely based on location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstrayer, General Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and our services that you recently experienced. It is reviews like yours that open our eyes to the service that our guests experience. We apologize for the technical internet problems and shuttle service that you experienced. We express regret for the inconvenience in our re:fuel area for the food service. We always appreciate feedback and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed here for business 3 times. Price was the driving factor. Location is great, Property is located near Arundel Mills Outlet Mall, Costco, Wal-mart, Best Buy, Cinemark Movieplex, Supermarkets, local eateries and etc. If you have to do extended business travel, especially if it's over a weekend, this works out well. Everything is within a few blocks.
Major traveling routes are all close, 295, 100, 195, 95 etc. Only 45 minutes from Washington DC,and 25 min from Baltimore Harbor. Took me only 15 min to get rental car back to BWI Airport rental return.
Rooms are almost like walking into an Ikea store. During my stays I had a room that faced the front of the building. Workspace is in front of large window. Internet speed was good.
I didn't dine in the hotel, preferred local restaurants instead.
Staff was so-so, some were friendly, some were not, Then again remember the price is right.
Last minute reservations via 800 number were handled quickly. Took less than 5 minutes. Check-in and check-out was a snap.
Overall for business traveling, this worked well. For families the rooms are small
Considering the price I would recommend this for business travel.
Next trip to Baltimore area I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Nice comfortable property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airamaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elementgm, Manager at Aloft Arundel Mills, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It is always such a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I certainly hope that you continue to stay with us during your business trips to the area. During your next visit please feel free to stop by the WXYZ bar for some sips or bites. I am sorry that you had some talent members that weren't friendly. We will certainly keep working to make sure every talent member you interact with is as friendly and accomodating as possible. Once again thank and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanover hotels
1.5 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.4 mi away
Live! Lofts
Live! Lofts
#4 of 14 in Hanover
999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Element Arundel Mills
Element Arundel Mills
#13 of 14 in Hanover
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Arundel Mills

Property: Aloft Arundel Mills
Address: 7520 Teague Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel, located just minutes outside Baltimore and the BWI Airport, is near fantastic shopping at the Arundel Mills Mall, great restaurants and lots of family-friendly fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Aloft Hotel Arundel Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing