We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victorian Candle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My extended family and friends had the pleasure of staying at the Victorian Candle Inn while traveling for a wedding. Susan and Jim were most gracious and warm hosts and all the guests enjoyed the visit. We were able to gather there after the wedding and even enjoyed some spontaneous singing with Susan's son and granddaughter. All in all, it was a perfect place for us and added special memories to a great family event. The owners are very good-hearted, hard-working people. Food is homemade, fresh and plentiful. The common rooms are very spacious with beautiful wood floors and the bedrooms are also spacious, clean and comfortable. I would say the property could use some landscaping, but otherwise a lovely spot. We were counting our blessings for choosing this place to gather.

TB

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLB_Holland_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Initially my cousin had informed me that The Victorian Candle would be the closest accommodation for out of town wedding guests. I was apprehensive about the whole thing, being from out of town, not knowing the area, and also because I thought that B&B's were very expensive and I probably wouldn't be able afford this. I was pleasantly surprised when I found my way to the off-the-beaten track location. The majestic inn stood so stately upon the hill. I drove up and was greeted by one of the children of the inn-keepers. It only got better from there. I was led into the house and found my own packet of wedding, travel, & location information left for me by my cousin. I checked in. The inn was beautiful! the wooden floors shined magnificently. The decor was tasteful--and of course Victorian!! Every room welcomed all who entered. The Victorian furniture in the parlor was beautiful. The evening after the wedding was the best! The children of Jim and Susan are incredibly talented and provided a wonderful evening of sing-along songs and other performances. I'm not a late night person, but I could not make myself leave the wonderful time that we were all having. The night finally came to an end, and we all retreated to our separate rooms. What a comfortable room and what a great night sleep I got in that queen sized bed. I had no worries of bedbugs, like I have when I go to most hotels nowadays. The bathroom was immaculate, the bed linens were inviting and comforting. The television was in great working order (which was nice during our down time). In the morning, the dining room table was large enough to host the entire John-boy Walton family, and accommodated all of my extended family and I. The breakfast was delicious and delightful. Jim entertained us all. The entire experience was a joy. And most of all, I was pleasantly surprised that such luxury and joy was so affordable. My sincerest appreciation to the entire, talented family of Jim and Susan. I really had a great time and would stay there any time I am in the area. Definitely worth the trip! VC

Room Tip: Get there early and scope out the best location for you!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Please, please pick somewhere else. My Husband and I were looking for a quick getaway, and decided to stay at the Victorian Candle based on its reviews. WHAT A MISTAKE. To Start with we called ahead to see if they have anything available, we were told yes and that reservations would not be necessary. Upon arrival the front door was locked I knocked and called again the owner said he was there and 10 min. later came to the door. He then took me in to the dining room to fill out paper work. Up to this point things were going splendidly. He then took me in to the basement which was not clean hair and dirt on the steps ect., but the place was quite and it was mid day so I thought maybe the cleaning crew just hadn’t made it to the basement yet. He then took me to the room and showed me how to work the key pad door which he check twice to make sure it worked explaining that they change the lock codes once and month and that they were just changed. (Glad I came when I did, I was still concerned enough to use the dead bolt) At this point I inquired about breakfast and was told that it would be served in the dining room at 9:00 am , he asked if I had plans and I explained that we would need to be leaving at 10:30am to catch a charter boat. He stated that we would have plenty of time. When we got unpacked I wanted a shower to wash off the day at Calvert Cliffs Beach the shower had hairs in it, a large hole in the wall, did not drain well and did not get as hot as I would have liked. The toilet ran all night and had to be held to flush. The bed was stiff and there were hairs under the pillow. The hot tub was not filled with water. There was no ice to be found in the entire place. If you have a question there is no one there working to answer it. The next morning at 8:50 I made my way up stairs where a number of guessed were gathering in the dining room. My husband packed the car and moved it around front then joined us, at 9:15 there was still no food out so I walked to the kitchen and asked if it would be much longer. I was told it was coming out now. At 9:48 there was still no food to be seen and the owner brought out plates saying it would be a few more min. However we did not have a few more min and had to leave. I was upset to say the least but we had to leave or we would miss the boat. After getting home I wrote to the owner and have yet to receive any reply. Please pick one of the dozen other lovely B&B in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmills_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband surprised me with a night away from our little ones and this was a perfect spot. Excellent hospitality and the breakfast was wonderful. A definite high recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Adorable bed and breakfast, very reasonable rates. The breakfast was very tasty and the owners made us feel very comfortable. Clean and well maintained. Worth every penny!!! Will stay here again and suggested it to other family members.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyannt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed in the Victorian Candle during December 2011 and found it was a lovely place to stay. The host was very hospitable and friendly, the accomodation was very clean and comfortable and overall I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast offered was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We discovered this wonderful place last year and returned this year because it was so friendly and quaint. The hosts Susan and Jim are so warm and congenial. If you enjoy eating, this is the place for you! Susan's excellent and creative cooking is a real high point. The very generous breakfast was delicious, very fresh and made to order. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. It was just perfect for our needs. We hope to return there next year when we visit southern Maryland. At The Victorian Candle, you have it all: great price/value, scrumptious food, friendly hosts, cozy rooms and wonderful local seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: Many amenities in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
15.8 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Candle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Candle

Property: The Victorian Candle
Address: 25065 Peregrine Way, Hollywood, MD 20636-2698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victorian Candle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victorian Candle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing