We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Clarke's Landing - CLOSED

Clarke's Landing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Was hoping to get a nice MD meal. Looking for crab. Got the crab cake app. Which is described as jumbo lump crab meat. Not a chance. Back fin or tail meat at best. It was very shredded not thick chunks. I also had the shrimp stuffed with lobster. Thye cook shrimp, put them in a casarol dish and pour their crab cake imperial sauce on top of it. Not the serving I am use to seeing but at least this has nice pieces of crab. Unfortunately you over cook the shrimp by cooking it twice.

Place is old and a little run down but they are moving to a new location soon. Don't know if that will help the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Been dining here for years...”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This local restaurant has been our favorite for many years, accessible to us by car and by boat. Except in the winter, we eat here once a month at least, sometimes more. In my opinion, the crabcakes are tied with another local favorite for best crabcakes purchased at a restaurant. I enjoy the fried shrimp, fish tacos, grouper fingers, grouper stuffed with crabmeat, chicken chesapeake and their rockfish when they have it. Friends say the fried oysters are excellent, but I'm not a big fan of oysters so I can't say for sure. The salads, cole slaw and iced tea are fresh. Our service has almost always been good but it really depends on the waiter/waitress. There is a beautiful view of the patuxent and the Thomas Johnson Bridge--a nice place to see the sunset.
*Note: In January 2014 the restaurant will move to a new location in Solomons, MD called "The Lighthouse Restaurant and Dock Bar"

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a few months until they move to Solomon's Island”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Make reservations or arrive early for a porch table. They have outside seating and the bugs win't bother you if there is a good breeze, otherwise you better sit inside. The view overlooking the water is relaxing and the food is delicious! We have enjoyed a variety of meals at Clarke's Landing this summer; fried grouper stuffed with crabmeat, flounder, crab cakes, whatever we have ordered is always excellent. The restaurant will be moving to Solomon's Island, just a few miles away this winter, where the Lighthouse Restaurant was located before the fire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAtravelerTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always Nice”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I frequently have lunch at this lovely place on the water.
The food is always excellent and portions are HUGE! So beware if you order an appitizer is is a meal. On Sunday afternoons in the summer they often have a local singers.
Beautiful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongsPeak2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get there before the move.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This St. Mary's establishment has been there for as long as I can remember. It has always been a pleasure to dine there. The staff are eager to tend to your needs and the food is absolutely delicious. Enough said the food is absolutely delicious that's all you need to know it is amazing. They are moving in 2014 January to where the old lighthouse inn that burned down in Solomons is located. Did I say that the food is amazing?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DENNISDADKINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarke's Landing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing