We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic, not much changed in 40+ years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italian Inn

Italian Inn
Ranked #16 of 135 Restaurants in Hyattsville
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nostalgic, not much changed in 40+ years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I went to this place for family dinners from time to time in the 60s, and so had good memories of it. The big sign on the roof with an Italian chef making the "OK" sign was an iconic part of my childhood. The restaurant is little changed from then. This is mid-market Italian food, not haute cuisine to be sure, but pleasantly informal and adequately prepared.

I went back recently, and had the veal parmesian with spaghetti. The veal was freshly and crisply breaded, with a good, rich tomato red sauce. The spaghetti would have been a bit better if cooked less, as I like it al dente, but it wasn't way overcooked. The tossed salad was fresh and attractively served. The waitstaff was friendly and helpful. I was out the door for $20 including a soda, tax, and tip.

If you're looking for a good value in a pleasant Italian dining experience from bygone days, you will like the Italian Inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeakerSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The food is not terrible (I had a cheese pizza), but it is not very good either. The restaurant is somewhat run down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texan_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great waiter, avg food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Average family dining. My son got cheese pizza, daughter got chicken fingers and I got chicken Alfredo. Coming from the great Italian restaurants of Chicago, the Alfredo doesn't compare. The sauce was mediocre but the chicken in it was great. The garlic bread, salad and motz sticks were all pretty good. The staff was very friendly!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A family favorite, and a great place for a gathering of friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We love the Italian Inn!! The Italian-American cooking is reminiscent of home--comforting food that looks good and tastes great. It's not pretentious in its cuisine or atmosphere.

It's our favorite place to gather with other families for a fun night out--kids and parents enjoy good food and company without breaking the bank. The staff is super friendly and always accommodating. We've been regulars for a few years, and we've always had good experiences.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkonieczko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I can't stop thinking about the pizza.
I visited the area this past weekend. This was my favorite food stop. The dining atmosphere was relaxed. The service was polite, professional and friendly. The food was out of this world. Everything tasted SO fresh. We ordered a salad & a pizza. Both were excellent but the pizza has stayed on my mind. DELICIOUS. I can't wait for my next visit because I will come back for sure.

(the entire restaurant was clean & prices were very reasonable, also)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italian Inn also viewed

 

Been to Italian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing