We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little place in the country”

Bonnie's at The Red Byrd
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good little place in the country”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Neat little home cooking place in the country. I had the best bread pudding there I have even had and in fact had a second serving as it was so good. Prices are reasonable. Nothing fancy but good home cooking and friendly people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cew718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent diner near the Antietam National Battlefield”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We chose this diner for breakfast/lunch because it had decent reviews and is only a few miles from the Antietam Battlefield visitors’ center.

We stopped there a little after 1 PM on a Sunday and ate lunch: fried chicken, which was quite moist, and country fried steak, which was acceptable but not very crispy. We shared an excellent "red velvet" cake for dessert. We were disappointed that they stop serving breakfast at 1 PM. Service was good, although we arrived after the Sunday morning rush. The menu was more limited than those of diners near our home.

In retrospect, we stumbled across a possible better choice in Middletown, Maryland: The Main Cup, an impressive-looking restaurant at 14 West Main Street, which is US 40, the principal road through Middletown (www.themaincuprestaurant.com). We did not stop there, but from the appearance and the reviews, we certainly would the next time we are traveling through the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonC1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAFret
Level Contributor
240 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good local place”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Bonnie's is a small local establishment. There is not much in the way of decor but other factors make u for that. The staff is always very friendly and great with children. The food is what you would expect from this type restaurant. The burgers are very good and the all you can eat chicken dinner available every other Wednesday is excellent and always brings out a big crowd. The pies and cakes are very good and a great finish to a good meal. Summing up it is a good local family type restaurant that gives good value for your money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like the Food, Building, Service”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Food is good and afforable. Like the at home decor. Service was fast and pleasant. The whole place is better especially the food quality since it was taken over by new ownership. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RauMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Our group of 26 had reservations for lunch. The staff was ready and waiting for us, took our orders and had our food in good time. The food was excellent, especially the crab cakes! No one left hungry and we would surely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnie's at The Red Byrd also viewed

 

Been to Bonnie's at The Red Byrd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing