We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Battlefield Journey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antietam Overlook Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hospitality, delicious food, and beautiful facility made this 2-night stay the highlight of our journey exploring historic Civil War sites.
Each evening we treasured our time in front of the roaring fire in the great room with mugs of hot chocolate &/or glasses of wine. The inviting well-appointed bedrooms were fully equipped with gas fireplaces, well-lit reading and writing areas, and large tubs. What more could one ask!
Mark and his staff presented guests with picturesque and delicious full-course breakfasts enjoyed by all. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent 3 splendid nights in this bucolic farm house inn. Our visit to at this inn and enchanting part of Maryland exceeded our expectations. We are already planning our return visit. We loved our large totally relaxing bedroom (with fireplace and large tub) and the bed was more comfortable than our own bed! Mark and his staff were the perfect hosts – making us feel welcome, providing travel tips, ensuring the common room fireplaces were ablaze and even offering complimentary wine and spirits. There is so much to do and see in this Maryland countryside- something for everyone! We recommend a short drive to historic Harpers Ferry and of course Gettysburg. Oh, and did I mention we got married during our visit and Mark and staff went above and beyond to make it special?

Room Tip: Any room will be well appointed, quiet and totally comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Mark is a friendly and fun host who lives up to his own personal expectations of great service and strives to accommodate his guests. The rooms were beautiful; rustic and luxurious at the same time. A warm cozy atmosphere, with a huge fireplace in the great room and books all over the place. We found it everything we would want and more. We've already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you, we try hard to keep everyone happy. We look forward to a repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stumbled upon this place and were extremely pleased! Very comfortable, beautiful, bucolic setting. Great quiet place for a getaway, romantic or otherwise. Food was fine; typical B & B fare. Hosts were gracious and engaging. If you want a TV in your room, you might as well go to Motel 6; if you want a nice place to either get some alone time or enjoy your significant other, this is the place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Battlefield Overlook room." Great view. I think all rooms have screene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time for the review. It means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed two nights to attend the Contemporary American Theatre Festival at Shepherdstown. We were very comfortable in the 'Overlook ' room and the air conditioning managed to cope with the crushing heat wave. We appreciated the screened porches both downstairs and off our room, as well as the fridge stocked with cold sodas, wine and beer. The room was clean, free of the dustiness and clutter found in some b and b's. The room could use more light to read by.

Keeping in mind that this is an expensive (almost $300 per night) place....
Breakfast at 9 - in practice considerably later -- was too late, and took too long to serve. It would be better to accommodate guests' preferred time. Since several previous commenters have mentioned this same issue, I am wondering whether the establishment is even paying attention to the feedback they are getting.
The place has a pet cat and rooster that are both loud and intrusive. These animals cross the line from 'quirky and charming' to ' unpleasant and obnoxious'.
It is odd that they would have placed the noisy main AC unit right below the rooms overlooking the view. Similarly, building an inn from scratch, why put the washbasin in the bedroom instead of within the bathroom ?
Anyway, overall, a pleasant, quiet, discreet, nature-oriented place.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking Antietam, not he parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Sorry to have fallen short of perfect. I just became aware of the way Trip Advisor works and the things that people say that are good and bad and that I can respond to them. One thing about the internet, you don't have to talk to someone, you can write anything. Most of our guests love the layout of the rooms and come here for what we have to offer. 95 Acres of seclution, peace and quiet. Sorry about the rooster, I don't know what happened but he must have gotten out. He has been taken to another farm and is very happy. The cat is an outdoor cat - "Mr. Meowsers" friendly and effectivly in charge of fending off small 4 legged animals. He is sweet and kind and I don't like cats, but have adopted him and love him a lot. The majority of our guests love him too. The AC Unit is over 50 feet away from the Inn and can hardly be heard. It is even covered and shielded from the rooms. There would be no better way to deal with it other than turning it off. None of the porches overlook the parking lot, but the Garden room dose face in that direction but buffered by a pond and beautiful garden. Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Oh my gosh! Gorgeous and everything we needed and hoped for! Even in the freezing cold, this was an AWESOME place...Stay here! It's incredibly awesome. ...great view, great people, and great fun. Thanks Mark, Michelle, and Tina! Abby and Josh from that show :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSSentinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, General Manager at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks guys, Abby, Josh, Larry, Mark, Ron & Mike & producers, film crew and the behind scenes crew.

It was our pleasure to get to experience the meeting and interaction with the cast and crew. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Its always nice to be in good company. Stop back when ever in the area. Happy Hunting !

Michelle, Mark & Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location is quiet and private with nice grounds and view. The Michelle and Tina were very pleasant. The rooms are rustic with no closet or TV. The great room does have a TV and computer access. Breakfasts were just okay. I'm not sure about serving spicy sausages for breakfasts but that might just be a personal preference. If we had not paid for breakfast as part if the room fee I would have gone to a restaurant. There is not a sink in the bathroom, it is across the room in the bedroom area by the tub which seemed odd. Also the walls are very, very thin and noises from neighboring rooms are very noticeable if you are a light sleeper. Overall I'm not sure about the value especially the weekend rates, however, I think this is probably one of the nicer accommodations in the area. If you want solitude this would be a good choice.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2ofustravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks, The roooms are all one of a kind and so is the three course breakfast. We spoke with the other guests and always accomodate special needs all the way down to Vegan. Not sure what happened there. Nope the sink is in the room and it was planned that way for several reasons, as was the Tub. We are tucked in on about 100 acres and it requires a great deal of care, we only have 6 rooms and they are all insulated from each other and the walls are not thin at all. Pobody makes everyone happy. :) Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
864 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
281 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 2 in Shepherdstown
199 reviews
15.9 mi away
10 Clarke Place
10 Clarke Place
#1 of 6 in Frederick
213 reviews
8.7 mi away
Inn At Stone Manor
Inn At Stone Manor
#3 of 6 in Frederick
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range: £119 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing