We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for sleeping- not so hot for eating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Landover
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed in this Courtyard by Marriott in June 2009 - purpose was vacationing to tour Washington DC- This hotel had several plusses:
1. Close to metro station (New Carrollton) - healthy people can walk it- maybe 10 minutes) or hotel provides free shuttle service - also appreciated!
2. Rooms were excellent- bedding super comfortable! Clean and always neat each day when we returned- no complaints here.. amenities fine- linens, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and board- etc. all great! Also free papers -USA TODAY & Wall ST. Journal daily.
3. Staff very pleasant and helpful- all good so far... now for the areas needing improvement! - Dining room was the big disappointment- terribly understaffed- We ate dinner there 2 nights due to bad weather and not willing to metro back in to DC- in a dining room seeting right at 50 people- ONE SERVER on duty to cover the whole room! I felt very sorry for this woman- she did the very best she could given the circumstances- i hold the management responsible for the slow service- and the breakfast buffet could have been better- the food was good - just not hot! and we did not arrive at the very end of the breakfast time either!
4. SUGGESTION- increase the size and choices of food/other pharmacy items of the "Market shop" given that there is nothing close to this hotel- no grocery, restaraunt or pharmacy in close walking distance. It is right in the middle of many office buildings-

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

My wife and I stayed here Valentines day for 3 days, to spend in DC. If you are driving, to visit DC, Its excellent. If you are taking train also great, cause the Metro and Amtrak is nearby. If you are flying in, well, its abit our of the way of the airports, Dulles and Reagan but also well worth it because of the reasonable rates.
Only 10 mins away from the Heart of DC. I booked a 2 day tour of DC through the Old Trolley, which was great. We drove into Union Station, parked there for $17 for the day, and hopped on the Trolly for the day. Tony, one of our tour drivers, was fantastic. But thats for another review..Ample parking at the hotel, buffet breakfast, we spent $25 for two and well worth it, I thought. The first night after coming back, we wanted some midnight snacks and ordered from a local deli. They have some good recomendations... and menus.. They didnt serve dinner in the dining room during the weekend, but you could order food in. We went out for a nice dinner at Mar de Plata, in Dupont Circle...

The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nice, and very clean, the beds real comfortable, we had king size, plush seally... tv, and free internet access, they provide everything.

The room had a small refrig, iron, blowdryer.. The staff was really nice, friendly and we had no problems. After this I was going to stay again, on our way back from Florida, but because of the some unexpected things that needed our attention, we went back straight home. I would definately stay there again, I joined the Marriott rewards and look forward to staying at the marriott from now on....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelphotoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed here for 4 days during the inauguration of President Obama. The price was steep $519.00 per night.... but less than those in the city of DC. It is a shame all the hotels used the opportunity during this awful economy to take advantage of the public on such an historic occasion. The address of the hotel comes up Hyattsville MD in the Garmin GPS so that was bit confusing since the Marriott Hotel Website gave the city as Landover MD. We called the hotel for clairification. The staff was friendly and the hotel was modern and very clean. It did not have the Plasma TV and the rooms were tight . The hotel is located very close to the New Carrolton Metro train station and the Hotel staff dropped us off and picked us up from the station very timely and was very courteous. This made it easy to get around the crowded city of more than 2 million during this event. There is a charge for Breakfast at this location although I thought $519.00 should have included breakfast. I would stay again and recommend to family and friend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mastcfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The good: The hotel is very reasonable. It is close to the Metro and the Amtrack station plus it has a shuttle which is nice. The rooms are clean and I didn't sniff an odor like the other reviewer. The bad: The staff was either great or horrible. There are no restaurants within walking distance so make sure you have a car. Also the "free breakfast" is $10.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mclenna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

This hotel is a good place to stay for business or a night while on the road down Interstate 95. The hotel is located in a business park area, but it is a short distance from the Metro Red Line, so one could use it as a base to visit Washington DC. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room I recieved was about par for this type of hotel and had a comfortable king bed, sofa with a pullout bed and a spacious desk. The hotel features an indoor pool and a small exercise facility. The excellent complementary breakfast buffet included make-yourself waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy and biscuits, and an assortment of fruit, yogurt, breads and pastries, They also serve dinner on weeknights to include room service. There are really no other nearby dining options unless you have transportation. The hotel does not have wireless internet but has complementary wired access in the rooms. Unless you don't mind being confined to the desk, you may want to bring your own cable as the hotel-provided cable is only 3 feet long. The only negative to my stay was finding a happy medium on the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank douglasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2007

This hotel isn't half bad. The problem is the staff....The General Manager seems quite competent. But the Operations Manager needs to be trained on guest service (and I almost think unemployment may help her attitude). Most of the front desk staff is decent. The housekeeping staff, while pleasant, do not do a good job cleaning. I came in last night and found the trash can on the bed. I am in hotels 160 nights a year and have never had quite a stay like this one. The rooms are standard Courtyard rooms. There is nothing special about this hotel. Nothing positive stands out which is disappointing. It is a great location. Would I stay here again?...no. My company booked this through priceline and I felt that even as an Elite Marriott Rewards member I was treated differently because of that. I'm not going to say it is a horrible stay. I will say that prepared to be underwhelmed. The location is fine. It is in a safe neighborhood. It's just there is nothing special here. If you scour the internet looking up reviews on this hotel you will find one common complaint....the staff...and I can agree with that not as a whole, but a few people ruin the rest.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank richmoore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

The Courtyard by Marriott in New Carrollton-Landover has undergone some major changes in the past several months & our stay was great. The rooms were immaculate, bedding was new, clean, & comfortable and the location was perfect for both business & leisure. They offered a free shuttle to the metro station (which is only about 3 minutes away) and that saved up money that otherwise would have been spent for parking. Only meals we ate there were at the breakfast buffet but it was good.

Pool hours were a little odd but with so many things to see in the area, really didn't pose a problem. Staff was sometimes slow to respond to requests (extra bedding the first night, etc) but with other ammenities, it was easy to overlook.

Would difinitely recommend this hotel. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landover
0.8 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1 mi away
Best Western Capital Beltway
1 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Carrollton Landover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Carrollton Landover

Address: 8330 Corporate Dr, Landover, MD 20785-2234
Region: United States > Maryland > Landover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Landover
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Carrollton Landover 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard New Carrollton Landover Hotel provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This hotel in Landover, Maryland features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Visit the Washington Convention Center, Six Flags America and FedEx Field while staying at our Washington DC area hotel. We also offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center and a boarding pass printing service. For business meetings and events, the Courtyard Landover hotel offers 3 meeting rooms, 1250 sq. feet of space and on-site exhibition space. Find room to roam at the Courtyard New Carrollton Landover hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard New Carrollton Landover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Carrollton Landover Hotel Landover
Courtyard Landover
Landover Courtyard
Landover Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing