We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Bad Hotel. Avoid This Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
Reviewed 23 April 2007

We've stayed in probably 50 Days Inns across the U. S. The one in Lanham, M.D. is by far the worst one in which we have ever stayed. Our advice: don't stay there.

When we first walked into the lobby of the Lanham, MD Days Inn on a Tuesday evening, we wondered why the clerks were behind what looked like what you might see at a Motel 6 late at night -- a 10' x 20' several inch thick cage of glass. As we were checking in, several strange-looking and poorly-dressed people came into the lobby. It wasn't too long until we figured out that we were in a really bad area.

We soon found out why, when we had made the reservation, that we were required to prepay for the entire several days' stay (Tuesday check-in/Saturday check-out).

When we got to our room, we did find that it was of reasonable size and nicely furnished. But the tub and sink didn't drain well because the drain plugs were broken and the safe didn't work.

Also, there was no wireless internet access available in the room (something that is described TWICE on their web site). And we had called to verify that since we had a lot of work to get done via the web during our stay. It turned out that their wireless internet reception was available only within a few rooms of the main elevator shaft and our room was further down the hall. We asked to be moved to one of the four rooms where we could get wireless internet access in the hall outside, but they told us those rooms were occupied and were reserved for the remainder of our stay for two groups arriving by bus the following evening. Our only alternative, they told us, was to go to the lobby whenever we needed to access the internet (which was much of the time we were there since we had to do some considerable business via the internet). And so that's what we had to do.

They told us that some recent winds had caused their wireless internet service to not work as well and that their repair person would be there in a day or two. Apparently that person did arrive a couple of days later, but even though the signal increased slightly, it still wasn't enough to get a strong enough signal to make a wireless connection. Bottom line: we had to take our laptop to the lobby every time we needed to get on the internet. And we kept getting returned emails that had sat on their server for 24-hours. So their advertised internet service was completely bogus.

They told us too that if we wanted a quiet room, we would have to switch rooms the next day, since the two busloads would contain children who would NOT be quiet. We moved to a different room the next day, but the kids still were running up and down the halls at all hours of the day and night screaming at the top of their lungs. Their adult supervisors tried to control them, but the occasional junior high scream still penetrated the walls of our room to disturb us.

And the safe didn't work in the new room either. So every time we left our room, I'd just take my laptop and store it in our rental car. Not terrible, but not what I expected, given what their website had advertised.

Don't eat in the "Paradise" Cove Restaurant there in the hotel. We made the mistake of doing that one afternoon. It's a pre-paid buffet. My friend took a couple of bites of the "food", and couldn't eat it because it was so greasy. I went ahead and had a plate of it, but I certainly regretted it for the next two days. I don't think my gut has ever felt so bloated as it did for those next several days. It made me feel uncomfortable for much of the time we were in the D. C. area.

Incidentally, rap music blasts in the restaurant and bar there. The day we ate there, we asked our wait person if she could turn down the music. Her idea of turning it down was to turn it from unbelievably loud to just plain overbearingly loud. So we sat there and ate our meal while having to listen to music that we couldn't believe was actually being broadcast in a Days Inn restaurant.

The female day manager really did attempt to deal with each of the issues we brought to her attention and she was very courteous as well, but the rest of the staff either spoke poor English or just didn't seem to care much.

The upsides were a decently furnished room, free parking, a wide screen TV and its proximity to the New Carrollton metro station (about 1.5 miles from the hotel).

But the downsides (the area; the feeling in the lobby of being in a crime-ridden location; the requirement to prepay the whole stay; the un-repaired plumbing fixtures; the safes that didn't work; the dysfunctional wireless internet; the noisy environment that interrupted our sleep; our having to switch rooms even though we indicated on our reservation that we wanted a quiet room with wireless internet; the horrible, greasy food in their restaurant, the loud rap music; and the mostly 3rd-world staff) overwhelming negated those upsides.

If you want to stay in a decent place in the D. C. area, avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank westoverroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2006

Myself along with 6 other relatives reserved rooms at this Days Inn for my uncle's wedding which was held about 10 minutes away. I just wanted to make sure to give the hotel a nice review. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I think that they may have just finished renovations on the hotel because just about everything looked new. The hotel staff was accomadating. No problems whatsoever. Also, there is a caribbean restaraunt downstairs. I ate breakfast there every morning (3 days)! The food was great! I had drinks at the bar one evening. I recommend the Long Island Iced Teas! Excellent! Overall it was a great trip. The hotel sits off of a major highway so up or down the street - either way, you will find plenty of stores and places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnco04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chapel Hill, NC
29
Reviewed 10 March 2006

I recently stayed at the Days Inn while attending a continuing education conference at a nearby hospital. The experience was not a pleasant one to say the least and the hotel seems to be in a bad part of town.

When I went to check in I was greeted by the hotel attendant standing behind 1-2 inch thick glass. I am not sure if the glass was bullet proof and I did not enquire. Also, the hotel is attached to a bar and grill that emanates the foul stench of deep fried food that permeated into everything I was wearing and all my bags. Unfortunately it is directly connected to the lobby so it is impossible to avoid.

Another issue with the hotel was the fitness room. The fitness room was connected to the lobby and was in plain view of the guests at the restaurant and any people in the lobby. At the time I was visiting the hotel was under construction and for some reason there was some other strange stench in the bowels of the hotel. This smell was distinctly different from the fried food smell but equally awful.

When I went up to my room I got off the elevator and there were two uniformed police officers investigating a domestic disturbance call, which further confirmed my opinion about the hotel being in a bad area.

The room was clean and the staff was helpful, however, I did not ask much of them as I did not expect much. The hotel also had free wireless internet in all rooms that work quite well. There was a modicum of security in that you had to have a key card to get into the parking lot and on the elevator, however, any determined person could easily find a way around these deterrents as I found out when I forgot my key and was still able to gain access to the hotel.

Other than these concerns I had no problems per se with my experience other than smelling like a deep fryer, however, I would not choose to stay at this hotel for the prices being charged.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2005

We stayed from Aug21-24, 2005. I am a single mom with 5 children. I requested connecting rooms but when I got there they said that I could not have them because one of the rooms had been rented out. I finally agreed to rooms next to each other. The rooms where clean and the hotel has no outside access. Everyone has to come through the lobby. It was a nice experience overall.

3  Thank mkw0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Yván C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank emmanuelb809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank César C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanham
0.5 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
0.2 mi away
Best Western Capital Beltway
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Washington D.C. - Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C

Address: 9023 Annapolis Rd, Lanham, MD 20706-2923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Lanham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
Price Range: £61 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located to I 95, exit 20A / Route 450 and to both the BWI and Reagan National Airport. We are minutes from Washington, D.C. This newly renovated hotel features interior entrance and upgraded in room amenities: flat screen TV, Wireless High Speed Internet, Cable TV with HBO, HBO Signature, and HBO Plus, micro-fridge, Iron and Ironing Board, Coffee Maker and Hair Dryer. The hotel is near many great attractions Baltimore Inner Harbor, University of Maryland, Fed Ex Stadium, Historic Annapolis, NASA Space Center, Shopping Mall and Six Flags Amusement Park. The subway system Metro, is just minutes away and provides fast and easy transportation to the Nations Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lanham Hotel Lanham
Lanham Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing