We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor people skills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Poor people skills”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I won't go back. Darnell [--] who at first seemed to be a very friendly Manager, I needed a remote control for my room. I walked up to the counter. Manager ignored me as he stood staring at another person's laptop. I stood there without acknowledgement for 5 minutes. I broke their silence and said, "Can I ask a quick question?" He broke his stare and looked up at me. I said, "My remote isn't working; do you have any batteries or do you have another one?" He looked irritated that I had spoken and curtly said, "Yes I do", and proceeded to stare at the other man's computer once again. I stood there until the silence was obvious. I told him that I was in room 217. I asked him if he got the number and I got no reply. I have no idea what was going on there but I know something was. I went back to my room and called corporate and asked them to get me a remote. A few minutes later, the Manager called and said that he was checking in guests and that he did not have time to bring me the remote. He went on to say that I could pick it up at the desk. I said, "That would be fine". He immediately hung up on me without a salutation of any kind...RUDE. I walked up to the desk and placed my old remote on the counter. He didn't acknowledge me again and simply placed the new one next to mine and turned and walked away. As I walked away, I told this fellow, "You know you didn't handle this right. He asked what did I say and I repeated my comment. What is up with this guy? I'd never seen him before in my life. Hampton Inn's have ALWAYS been the best. I am shocked at his behavior. Come on people! I can spend my money anywhere! Is it too much to ask for a little courtesy?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Devon,

I wanted to show my appreciation for your reaching out to us to share your feedback. This is very important to us as we are making great strides to improve our service and hotel. I have taken each word of your review to heart and will do everything possible to ensure that no other guest has this same experience here. I have just recently taken over managing the hotel so please be assured, I take customer service very seriously and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you wish to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    93
    32
    19
    15
See reviews for
107
48
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

While at the front desk to correct what should have been a very minor problem with TV remote control batteries, the manager and his associate ignored my presence while playing on a tablet computer toy. I stood there for 5+ minutes and made noise to be noticed. I was still ignored. Once I finally interrupted, the manager was less than pleasant and continued to be so throughout my stay until check out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello James,

I am truly sorry you encounted such a negative experience while staying with us. I have just recently taken over as general manager of this hotel and will do everything possible to ensure our level of customer service improves and actually exceeds the expecations of our guests. Please think about giving us another chance as we are working very hard to make improvements. I would love to have an opporutnity to show you how we are moving in a positive direction.

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was on a road trip and I saw a Hampton Inn sign on I-95. I figured it was an easy on and easy off location close to the interstate. Not. It was an about 4.5 miles from the highway with many turns to get there. I wasn't too crazy about the location the hotel was in. There is major construction going on in the hotel. Hopefully it will be nice when complete. Not sure I would stay here on a future visit considering the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossvin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you rossvin324 for your letter alerting us to the problem you had with our property. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a frustrating series of events. We are currently renovating our property. The projects will be completed in phases and the finished product will look amazing. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced is inexcusable. I extend my own apologies for the inconvenience this problem has caused you.Please contact the hotel directly so we may discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

When I am in the area, about 3 times a year, this is my place to stay. They are currently remodeling the lobby. The staff have always been so easy to work with. The location is convenient to so many things and the MD/DC area. We find it easy to catch the Metro to go into DC at the Greenbelt station. Columbia/Baltimore is close as well. Right near the hotel are plenty of restaurants - I suggest Pasta Plus - and any shopping areas. This hotel is a great value and I tend to be picky about where I stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello FredB, thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay and for always choosing the Holiday Inn Laurel Washington DC!! We strive to make every guest experience a fun and memorable one and by your comments, it looks as if we succeeded!! I will be sharing your review with all of our staff as a motivational tool and for recognition. Anytime you are in the Laurel area, please stop by and say hello. Have a great day FredB and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff and the rooms in this hotel are what you would normally expect at a Hampton Inn. However, the signature breakfast that normally comes with the Hampton Inn is LACKING...serious lacking. The main reason is the hotel is under construction. Until the construction is complete I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you George W for your comment alerting us to the problem you had with our property. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a frustrating series of events. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly. I extend my own apologies for the inconvenience this problem has caused you. Please contact the hotel directly so we may discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very good service from beginning to end. Felt very warm and just like home. A good experience from the hotel and home to stay in the Hampton inn again. Very well located and near all shops for close shopping. Rooms were in great condition and made you feel comfortable to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello MattewF, thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Laurel Washington DC!! We are extremely happy you had a wonderful time while here. We take pride in knowing that our guests have a memorable experience every time they stay with us!! Please stop in to say hello the next time your travels bring you to Laurel, have an awesome day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOVER PLAINS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Love the bedding and that you get a hot breakfast, and my hubby is happy with the coffee they provide, would recommend this hotel highly, no problems here, nice and clean, love these inns, would stay any time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank RITA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Good day RITAL, thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Laurel! We are extremely happy you had a wonderful time while here and I will share your comments with everyone at our next staff meeting. We take pride in knowing that our guests have a memorable experience every time they stay with us!! Please stop in to say hello the next time your travels bring you to Laurel, have an awesome day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laurel hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Laurel
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia / Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Laurel
Fairfield Inn Laurel
#5 of 17 in Laurel
161 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Laurel
115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laurel Near Fort Meade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)

Property: Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)
Address: 7900 Braygreen Rd, Laurel, MD 20707-5075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laurel
#2 Business Hotel in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Laurel Hotel Laurel
Laurel Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing