We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me by a fellow colleague who only stays at this location during frequent business trips. Because of the nature of my business, I travel at least once a month and have stayed at many hotels. I absolutely loved the manager Darnell because he was very accommodating and extremely friendly. When I had business partners in the area to come by, they spoke his hospitality as well. I will only stay at this location when doing business in Maryland.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lueske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello,

I am so pleased we were able to deliver such excellent treatment for you and each time you visit us! We strive to be consistent with our level of service and have each guest feel comfortable and at home while staying with us. I will pass on your kind comments to our team!

Thank you,
Stacey Schuhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have stayed at this Hampton for the first time and I have to say it was nothing short of excellent customer service. Unfortunately the hotel has been undergoing construction during my stay, but the new decor seemed very inviting and comforting. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The general manager, Darel or Darnell, was very friendly and attentive when it came to addressing a change in my initial booking. The hot breakfast was ok with decently fresh fruit and plenty of options and variety. Overall this hotel is defiantly a recommendation of mine for anyone in the area looking for a clean, friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Mr. Smith,

I am so pleased to know you were treated well during your stay and you find our hotel to be inviting and welcoming for you. I believe the new renovations will give us a refreshed feeling all around and we are excited to have this complete soon. I will pass on your kind review to everyone! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Thank you,
Stacey Schuhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A friend and I stayed in a double room at this hotel for one night. One of the beds had filthy sheets on it. We ended up sharing the other bed since we were checking out the next day. I've stayed at numerous Hampton Inns and this has been my worst experience as far as cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Pinesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello PineshaH. I certainly understand your frustration with the service that was provided. I have no record of this concern being reported to anyone at the property. I would have liked the opportunity to have made this right for you and your guest. Please accept my sincere apologies. We will make every effort to see that this never happens again. Please contact the hotel directly to discuss your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I won't go back. Darnell [--] who at first seemed to be a very friendly Manager, I needed a remote control for my room. I walked up to the counter. Manager ignored me as he stood staring at another person's laptop. I stood there without acknowledgement for 5 minutes. I broke their silence and said, "Can I ask a quick question?" He broke his stare and looked up at me. I said, "My remote isn't working; do you have any batteries or do you have another one?" He looked irritated that I had spoken and curtly said, "Yes I do", and proceeded to stare at the other man's computer once again. I stood there until the silence was obvious. I told him that I was in room 217. I asked him if he got the number and I got no reply. I have no idea what was going on there but I know something was. I went back to my room and called corporate and asked them to get me a remote. A few minutes later, the Manager called and said that he was checking in guests and that he did not have time to bring me the remote. He went on to say that I could pick it up at the desk. I said, "That would be fine". He immediately hung up on me without a salutation of any kind...RUDE. I walked up to the desk and placed my old remote on the counter. He didn't acknowledge me again and simply placed the new one next to mine and turned and walked away. As I walked away, I told this fellow, "You know you didn't handle this right. He asked what did I say and I repeated my comment. What is up with this guy? I'd never seen him before in my life. Hampton Inn's have ALWAYS been the best. I am shocked at his behavior. Come on people! I can spend my money anywhere! Is it too much to ask for a little courtesy?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello Devon,

I wanted to show my appreciation for your reaching out to us to share your feedback. This is very important to us as we are making great strides to improve our service and hotel. I have taken each word of your review to heart and will do everything possible to ensure that no other guest has this same experience here. I have just recently taken over managing the hotel so please be assured, I take customer service very seriously and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you wish to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

While at the front desk to correct what should have been a very minor problem with TV remote control batteries, the manager and his associate ignored my presence while playing on a tablet computer toy. I stood there for 5+ minutes and made noise to be noticed. I was still ignored. Once I finally interrupted, the manager was less than pleasant and continued to be so throughout my stay until check out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello James,

I am truly sorry you encounted such a negative experience while staying with us. I have just recently taken over as general manager of this hotel and will do everything possible to ensure our level of customer service improves and actually exceeds the expecations of our guests. Please think about giving us another chance as we are working very hard to make improvements. I would love to have an opporutnity to show you how we are moving in a positive direction.

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was on a road trip and I saw a Hampton Inn sign on I-95. I figured it was an easy on and easy off location close to the interstate. Not. It was an about 4.5 miles from the highway with many turns to get there. I wasn't too crazy about the location the hotel was in. There is major construction going on in the hotel. Hopefully it will be nice when complete. Not sure I would stay here on a future visit considering the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossvin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you rossvin324 for your letter alerting us to the problem you had with our property. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a frustrating series of events. We are currently renovating our property. The projects will be completed in phases and the finished product will look amazing. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced is inexcusable. I extend my own apologies for the inconvenience this problem has caused you.Please contact the hotel directly so we may discuss your concerns further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

When I am in the area, about 3 times a year, this is my place to stay. They are currently remodeling the lobby. The staff have always been so easy to work with. The location is convenient to so many things and the MD/DC area. We find it easy to catch the Metro to go into DC at the Greenbelt station. Columbia/Baltimore is close as well. Right near the hotel are plenty of restaurants - I suggest Pasta Plus - and any shopping areas. This hotel is a great value and I tend to be picky about where I stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnell J, Manager at Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area), responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hello FredB, thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay and for always choosing the Holiday Inn Laurel Washington DC!! We strive to make every guest experience a fun and memorable one and by your comments, it looks as if we succeeded!! I will be sharing your review with all of our staff as a motivational tool and for recognition. Anytime you are in the Laurel area, please stop by and say hello. Have a great day FredB and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laurel hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Laurel
Fairfield Inn Laurel
#5 of 16 in Laurel
173 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia / Laurel
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Laurel
121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laurel Near Fort Meade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)

Address: 7900 Braygreen Rd, Laurel, MD 20707-5075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laurel
#2 Business Hotel in Laurel
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Laurel Hotel Laurel
Laurel Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing