We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great subs within walking distance of our neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepperjacks Deli

Pepperjacks Deli
Ranked #26 of 191 Restaurants in Laurel
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
“Great subs within walking distance of our neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A wide variety of excellent subs made with really fresh green lettuce (they use local farmer produce) and home baked sub rolls. We've tried just about everything on the menu over the years. The Boardwalk fries are as real as Ocean City's. PJ's is off a side road where you'd never know about it if a local didn't tell you. The milkshakes are good too. My favorite: roast beef signature sub. Also the chicken salad and Italian cold cut subs are good. If you're tired of Jerry's and Subway when you want a sub in Laurel, this is the place to go for a cut above those.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Really great, locally owned/operated, sandwich spot... they take pride in what they serve and it is clearly apparent in the finished product

Coming from new york, we are spoiled with fresh meat/bread/condiments/etc... this place is as close as one could hope for when travelling (or even if you live locally and want a really good substitute!)

Would strongly reccomend this vs ANY of the other local competition.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Headed to Florida from NYC. STOP HERE TO EAT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Ok, now this place isn't Katz, or even a good Jewish deli in one of the outer boroughs, but they make a really nice sandwich here. My personal favorite, with apologies to the fine Jewish delis' in NYC, is their Reuben. Perfect balance of meat, bread, kraut, cheese and dressing. Yum. The roast beef with mozzarella and balsamic is also quite nice, and their meatball sub is surprisingly good (for a non-Italian deli.) The fries and chicken wings are also good, and in the summer there's outstanding ice cream. This place is literally a mom and pop store which occupies a former general store from the days that the area half an hour outside of Baltimore and DC was farmland. You can sit outside and look at one of the last cow pastures in the area, although they haven't had cows there for about four years or so. Mostly high school kids behind the counter, but don't let that stop you - the quality is outstanding no matter who is behind the counter. Perfect place to stop and catch a meal on your way to Florida, or to catch your breath before driving into DC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank abronxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this place and YUM YUM YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Traveling home from Richmond and were looking for a place to eat. The GPS had this place listed so we gave it a shot. BOY were we pleased! This little place has the best sandwiches! My husband had the steak and cheese and I had the bbq roast beef with onions and horseradish. OMG! The meat was melt in your mouth tender and the sweet from the bbq sauce mixed with the spicy from the horseradish was a perfect combination! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville
Level Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

There are lots of choices with a couple of miles or so for a quick lunch. That being said, you will be hard pressed to find a place where will you be served such a find sandwich as quickly and with such good cheer and at such a low price nearby. Definitely with a visit. Probably the most significant thing we can say is that we are repeat customers, as are many of our colleagues. We know of no one who has come away disappointed in any way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pepperjacks Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing