We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace for adults”

Behind the Bookcase
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Leonardtown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace for adults”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we have been to the speakeasy a few times now and really enjoy it. Its small and cozy so you can actually have a conversation and quality drinks. The host is always friendly and helpful.

You need to call ahead and get the password as they can only hold about 6 or so small groups at a time. The food is good too. the cheese plate is plentiful for at least 4 people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aremites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Coffee shop with hidden tavern”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This coffee shop has a speakeasy tavern hidden behind a bookcase! The tavern is a wonderfully cozy, dark, tiny room with antique style chairs. We were visiting the coffee shop in front for breakfast and coffee. It is the only coffee shop near the small historic town square, so the coffee shop had a steady steam of visitors. Unfortunately the coffee was nothing special...after all it is just the front for an "illegal" bar... but I enjoyed the coffee shop ambiance and wish I could return for a cocktail at the great-looking hidden bar. Wear your fedora to the bar for a discount!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Theme Bar”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

You walk through a normal coffee shop in a quaint little town, pick up an antique phone which automatically rings the back room and within moments, you are in a speakeasy. You almost feel like you are doing something illegal!
The staff was amazing. The cocktails were among the best we have ever had. Each one made with care and presented beautifully.
We shared the $14 cheese & fruit plate, which had about a pound of 3 different good cheeses and a big pile of grapes and strawberries. We had to wonder how much money they lost on that appetizer.... We also ordered the crab dip, which was delicious.
Leonardtown isn't very close to us, but we have no doubt that we will return to this little gem again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I discovered this little gem by accident and was very glad I did! My story is much better spoken than written so I'll leave you to create your own. Long story short, I was delighted to introduce everyone I could to this place and the staff was more then accommodating, even extending last call for some stragglers in our party. A great time, this is a must if your in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenj621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Behind the Bookcase also viewed

 
Leonardtown, MD
 

Been to Behind the Bookcase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing