We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwich”
Review of Blue Wind Gourmet

Blue Wind Gourmet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: Has a great wine selection with tastings at lunch. Awesome atmosphere with a small outdoor seating area for nice days. The food is always remarkable and fresh!
Restaurant details
Description: Has a great wine selection with tastings at lunch. Awesome atmosphere with a small outdoor seating area for nice days. The food is always remarkable and fresh!
Swan Point, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The garbage sandwich is excellent. I like the kettle chips with it. Bread choices are nice. The service is pretty fast also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbieAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD, DC metro
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, nice surprise for the area”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Blue Wind is casual dining but it also has a great wine selection and is as well known for wine as it is for fresh, great tasting food. This restaurant is a much needed addition to an area full of restaurant chains and devoid of higher quality food.

The Food
Cajun catfish on ciabatta with avocado. I did not enjoy my half of this sandwich. The Cajun seasoning was good but the catfish was a little chemically or fishy tasting, good catfish doesn't taste like that. Too, the sandwich had very little avocado. This sandwich comes with a side of remoulade sauce. I usually hold off on sauces but add a little of the remoulade sauce to this catfish sandwich, it improves it. The ciabatta bread was good.

Cajun shrimp & goat cheese on focaccia bread brushed with garlic oil was good. The focaccia was whole wheat and seemed to have its own herb flavor as well. The shrimp on the sandwich were huge.

Crab corn chowder was thick and creamy (but not gelatinous) and mainly a corn flavor but there was crab in there too. It was a good soup for a cool night. The best food of the entire meal was the Masala Lentil soup. Great spices and a pinch of hotness; hearty not overpowering. I wish I had gotten some to go.

The Service
Service is walk up to the counter and order style, but they do bring your food to your table if you eat in.

Tip: The place us hard to find at night, not lit up, Blue Wind sign is dim. Heading north look for well lit Chiropractor sign, turn after that.

Note: I had dined here once before back in 2009 and had a memorable crab cake sandwich. I recall it being very tasty, fresh and little filler.


Chow!
food chick

~~:~~
Eat, drink, be merry and validate for parking (TM)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank food_chick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for good and varied food”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went a couple of times while in town for business. The choices of food are really varied, and the quality is excellent. This place also serves as a place to get liquor, wine, and beer, while you eat. So a plus! The place only seats like 30 people, so lunch can be packed sometimes. Overall, very good food. They have a good selection of custom sandwiches, burgers, and vegan items also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krumdog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We were in Lexington Park on business for a few days and we were beyond sick of the choice of restaurants in the area. We went on trip advisor and found reviews on Blue Winds. It was so amazing. The food is incredible and the service was fabulous. The wine tasting and choices of wine was exceptional. By far the BEST dining experience in the area. This is a must!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanhags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very tasty, fun lunch spot”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped into Blue Wind on a friend's recommendation -- and it was delicious! Lots of options for vegetarians and meat lovers alike. My roasted asparagus salad was awesome and the portion generous. My brother-in-law ordered the catfish sandwich, which he loved, and other members of our group were thrilled with their sandwiches. The interior is filled with many specialty beverages and features wine tastings, scotch, wine, etc. Plenty of tables on a quiet Sunday, but I can imagine this place is hopping on weekdays with base traffic. Would definitely come back, and appreciated all the eco-friendly touches (recycled paper plates, utensils, etc.)!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Wind Gourmet also viewed

 
Lexington Park, MD
 

Been to Blue Wind Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing