We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, No Frills Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Linda's Cafe

Linda's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great, No Frills Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great breakfast!

This place is located in a strip mall and is a far departure from the fancy brunch restaurants of DC. And, that is its strength. What it lacks in frills and decor (the restaurant is wood-paneled), it makes up in delicious breakfast. You can spend a fortune at fancy DC brunches and not have one good plate.

I ordered the Egg Salad BLT sandwich - a fabulous combination. Silver Diner used to have this sandwich, and much to my disappoint, they took it off the menu. An egg salad BLT is genius. My husband ordered an omelette, and his only complaint was there wasn't enough egg.

The service was great, as well!

I would definitely come back for breakfast or lunch (they serve breakfast all day) again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyedDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Dinner specials that are 'just right' for home cooking while having to eat away from home. I visit Lexington Park often and suffered burn-out from the trendy places on eithere side of the bridge years ago. While nothing beats eating at home, or keeping on your diet, Linda's is good food with a nice atmosphere that doesn't separate you from too much of your money. Friendly service, manage your expectations for wait times, you'll be surprised and satisfied.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Can't beat this experience of home cooking. Linda has been here for years and puts a lot of energy into specials. I love sitting at the counter for breakfast and watching the cooking. Fried potatoes with onions are great. Homemade bean soup awesome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portogreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Linda's great Southern MD cooking with a no so great wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Linda's is a lovely cafe with yummy down home cooked meals. We were seated immediately. We were on our lunch break from work. We waited and waited and waited. The server was very friendly but it was too long to wait. Since the majority of clients are Base workers, we need to get in and out in an hour. Not so here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaJack2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place to eat anytime of the day all meals are great quality and fresh . It is a very popular place so depending on the time you may have a short wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fordman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linda's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Linda's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing