We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, good food, but the owner- dave, is A difficult person with which to deal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, good food, but the owner- dave, is A difficult person with which to deal”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms and food rate very good. The location is nice, but dealing with the owner Dave (although Donna the wife is really nice) is exasperating. I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahm400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Just got back from a night at the Town Hll B&B. My wife and I are biking the C&O Towpath and after 40 miles this place was perfect. It is about 6 miles off the Towpath and is very easy to get to. The room with private bath was perfect and the inn sitter, Harriet, was outstanding. Her breakfast was stunning. She even offered us a desert after we returned from the trail. If you plan on visiting the mountains of MD or are biking like we are, you cannot do better than this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Town Hill B&B is located on the side of a hill with a wonderful view. The best view is from just across Route 40, a main road on which the B&B is situated. We were there as part of a biking tour of the C&O Canal. The B&B is actually quite some way from the C&O Trail/Potomac River and the group of buildings that constitute Little Orleans, and is up a very long and steep hill. The owner came and picked most of our group from Bill's store, but quite a few good cyclists actually made it all the way up.

The place is very nice and the owners have put a lot of their hearts and minds into the Town Hill. They were both excellent hosts and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable - very hospitable and gracious. The B&B has about 26 rooms on two floors, a lounge and large dining room, plus a small gift shop. They often cater to large groups, such as religious retreats.

The food was outstanding - both dinner and breakfast, with a large spread for both meals. Don't expect to go away without adding a few pounds to your weight!

The rooms themselves are small, and many have two or three beds. Many do not have private bathrooms, although we were fortunate to have one. They are all nicely decorated, but the bed was very springy and sagged in the middle. The rooms are not well sound-proofed, so noise travels. However, this was not a problem during our stay, since our group occupied the whole premises.

This is a very nice place to stay, although it is a bit in the "middle of nowhere", so would be good for a quiet get-away weekend, or stop off on the way.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2006

Our Thursday night stay was a lovely experience. The bedroom was beautiful - a comfy king size bed and private bathroom. The owners were as friendly as could be - welcomed us with tea and cookies. The breakfast was Delicious!! It was like 5 courses! We sat there thinking we were stuffed and more and more food kept arriving. They have a great porch to just relax on too. We stayed here while biking the C&O canal towpath and the owner came down to pick us up in his suburban - went smoothly and was very easy. I would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4TravelingDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Orleans
10.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
11.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
19.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.7 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Region: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing