We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience here”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

For decades, off and off I have driven by the Town Hill Inn and watched it go from a beautiful hotel to a decaying ruin. In October, my wife and I spent a night at the refurbished Town Hill and found it a pleasant, if not fully gratifying experience. We arrived early for an event there that we were attending. As a consequence we were able to spend some time with the owner who had brought the hotel back to life, beautifully and with many intersting touches. He was gracious, as was his wife. It wasn't a particularly pleasant day, weatherwise, so we weren't able to take advantage of what to be inviting grounds around the Inn. The room was little less accommodating than I had hoped, given that I booked the most expensive room in the inn. Not bad, but I just expected more for the money. The sunroom was very nice, as was the communal sitting room with a huge fireplace and a TV. The dining room was nicely appointed. I can't comment on the regular menu as our group was provided with a buffet selction. It was fine, but I suspect the menu items are probably better. When they announced that they would provide breakfast for those in our group spending the night, I was a little shocked that we'd have to pay $19.95 for it. Bed and what? I kind of assumed that the fee included breakfast at a Bed and Breakfast. I'm sorry to say that really colored my thoughts of ever going back. But, I'd still recommend it with the suggestion that you drive into nearby Hancock and have a hearty breakfast for half the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calabriavince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Town Hill Bed and Breakfast on our bike trip from Cumberland to Georgetown. This is a very nice place. It is very clean and the food excellent. The hosts were gracious and attentive to all our needs. We stopped at Bill's to eat which is right off the towpath. The Town Hill owners picked us up there and took us to the B&B which is about 6 miles away. And they brought us back to the towpath in the morning to continue our bike trip. We highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms and food rate very good. The location is nice, but dealing with the owner Dave (although Donna the wife is really nice) is exasperating. I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahm400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Just got back from a night at the Town Hll B&B. My wife and I are biking the C&O Towpath and after 40 miles this place was perfect. It is about 6 miles off the Towpath and is very easy to get to. The room with private bath was perfect and the inn sitter, Harriet, was outstanding. Her breakfast was stunning. She even offered us a desert after we returned from the trail. If you plan on visiting the mountains of MD or are biking like we are, you cannot do better than this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Town Hill B&B is located on the side of a hill with a wonderful view. The best view is from just across Route 40, a main road on which the B&B is situated. We were there as part of a biking tour of the C&O Canal. The B&B is actually quite some way from the C&O Trail/Potomac River and the group of buildings that constitute Little Orleans, and is up a very long and steep hill. The owner came and picked most of our group from Bill's store, but quite a few good cyclists actually made it all the way up.

The place is very nice and the owners have put a lot of their hearts and minds into the Town Hill. They were both excellent hosts and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable - very hospitable and gracious. The B&B has about 26 rooms on two floors, a lounge and large dining room, plus a small gift shop. They often cater to large groups, such as religious retreats.

The food was outstanding - both dinner and breakfast, with a large spread for both meals. Don't expect to go away without adding a few pounds to your weight!

The rooms themselves are small, and many have two or three beds. Many do not have private bathrooms, although we were fortunate to have one. They are all nicely decorated, but the bed was very springy and sagged in the middle. The rooms are not well sound-proofed, so noise travels. However, this was not a problem during our stay, since our group occupied the whole premises.

This is a very nice place to stay, although it is a bit in the "middle of nowhere", so would be good for a quiet get-away weekend, or stop off on the way.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2006

Our Thursday night stay was a lovely experience. The bedroom was beautiful - a comfy king size bed and private bathroom. The owners were as friendly as could be - welcomed us with tea and cookies. The breakfast was Delicious!! It was like 5 courses! We sat there thinking we were stuffed and more and more food kept arriving. They have a great porch to just relax on too. We stayed here while biking the C&O canal towpath and the owner came down to pick us up in his suburban - went smoothly and was very easy. I would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4TravelingDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Orleans
10.7 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
369 reviews
14.1 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
166 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
598 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Region: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, historic property consists of many opportunities to relax and enjoy the vast mountains of Western Maryland. Relax on our large front porch, gazebo, pavilion, or fire pit. Enjoy our overlook where you can see Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia. Our Inn is the host to many weddings, parties, conferences, and banquets. Check out our new website! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing