We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Groups of Families”

Adventure Bound Washington
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Bound Washington
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Three Groups of Families”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of 3 families traveled to Duncans for the first time this weekend. I read the reviews before we left and I did notice some rough reviews. As we pulled into the front gates we noticed that the campground was clean and had a nice cheerful sign at the front entrance. We checked in and my family was given a discount for me being in the fire service as well as the other families in our group for having a military career. We had been handed a nice glossy map and directions to our site. Our site had a clean fire ring and a level lot. We had plenty of room for slide outs and awnings. Yes the sites are deeper than wide and yes the water and electric is a slight stretch but we made do. Activities had been planned for the weekend by the Duncan family and we noticed that trash pickup was being done all day. The red family Duncan truck made its rounds every couple of hours making sure things look tidy. The bathrooms are older but I didn’t come to a 4 star hotel. The bathrooms were cleaned daily at 11am every day. I would venture to say that at least 5 different staff members drove or walked by our camp every day and said hello. Marc Duncan stopped by on Saturday evening and asked if we are happy about the stay so far. He was very approachable. Our children had plenty of room for bike riding and baseball playing. The nature trail could use a little grooming and the pool was just opened so it needed a little time to get its spring legs again. The life guard at the pool was like any life guard at most pools. Young but did advise the horseplay to be at a minimum. We read some previous online reviews in reference to the life guards. We did not notice the life guards on the phone and we do not expect the life guard to be a baby sitter either. Overall I enjoyed the weekend and will return. The price was cheap compared to a lot of places. You are also close to a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drew0851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    12
    8
    18
See reviews for
41
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived here for 2014 memorial day weekend. Last years leaves being collected and noisily blown so it is not surprising that what little grass is around is in such a very poor state. The campground is fully booked and everyone pouring in but the swimming pool which they have just opened is still green on the bottom and scum on the surface. All sites are very close together many with no grass at all just dirt and mud. The owners should have prepared properly and not left everything to the very last second. We think the campground is overpriced for the size and condition of the sites...it could be really nice if properly managed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lothian hotels

Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a good conversation with Marc Duncan after an average/poor review. He asked my opinon how to improve the campground. He's aware of some bad reviews and is actively working to correct the problems. That's good and the way to do it. (and to use TripAdvisor)
For me a reason to reflect on our conversation and his commitment on TripAdvisor.

Good luck, go for it Marc, and we will be back some day!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Haha212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This was the longest period of time that we stayed in one location. It was so nice: quiet, safe, lots of trees, had a nice fenced in dog run, lots of amenities for kids, walking trails. The staff was so nice & helpful..even gave us a weekly rebate rate when we stayed longer than we expected to! The staff was always working to keep it clean & the grounds well kept. Would definitely stay there again if we were going back to DC.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gardengazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I would recommend this place to stay. Mr. Mark Duncan was a pleasure to deal with. The Hot water was hot and this place was convienent to Washington DC and the chesapeake bay. I had no issues and management was helpful. The place was very inexpensive to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhakimmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Bath houses looked like they were not cleaned the whole weekend my family and I was there. They were disgusting! The pool water was turning green. The lifeguards were very unfriendly and did not seem to pay much attention to what was going on. They were on there cell phones most of the time. This place has really went downhill from the last time my family and I visited here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cole0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The location is very nice and the first impression was very good, but the restrooms en showers were not clean, maybe it's better to say, they were dirty. Reception, campstore and snackbar close at six and no one's left. A snackbar who close at six? Never seen that before.
At the second day they took our bbq tools and charcoal from the bbq (finally they cleaned something ;-) ) so we ended that day with bread, salad, and raw meat when we came back from DC. No fun! The pool is nice, except some bugs and flies in the water.
Anyway: I bet there are a lot of better alternatives for this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haha212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lothian
12.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
587 reviews
3.1 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Upper Marlboro
37 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bowie
Hampton Inn Bowie
#1 of 4 in Bowie
455 reviews
9.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bowie Town Center
11.1 mi away
Colony South
Colony South
#3 of 4 in Clinton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Bound Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Bound Washington

Property: Adventure Bound Washington
Address: 5381 Sands Road, Lothian, MD 20711 (Formerly Duncan's Family Campground)
Region: United States > Maryland > Lothian
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lothian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duncan's Family Campground, now Adventure Bound Washington DC, is under new ownership and management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adventure Bound Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duncan`s Family Campground Hotel Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing