We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi-Family Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 McDaniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Multi-Family Retreat”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had an incredible time at the Wade Point Inn. Let me start by saying we are a group of about 10 families, all with boys that have been friends since preschool. The parents have become close as well and for the last 10 years or so, we have all gone away for a weekend in the Fall (usually camping). This year, we wanted to do something different so we bought up all the rooms in the Main House plus the Farmhouse. We put all the adults in the Main House rooms, and put 12 teenagers in the Farmhouse. Worked out beautifully. We told Betsy (the owner) that our kids are generally very well behaved, but I give her a lot of credit for her trust and understanding with regard to opening up her beautiful historic home to a bunch of families with 16 year old boys. We generally have a large campfire on Saturday night, which Betsy was initially concerned about, but Big Kudos to her as she went out and bought a Fire Pit for our use that night...awesome host.

The location of the Inn is idyllic...surrounded by the bay on 3 sides, with beautiful views that go on for miles. You could spend the entire weekend just sitting in one the adirondack chairs watching the sailboats...

The Inn itself is exactly as described...historic. I don't get some of the other reviews here. This is a historic Inn...if they came to Wades Point expecting a modern Ritz, then its their fault. The Inn was built almost 200 years ago, and Betsy has done a great job of preserving the unique (almost eccentric) feel and warmth of the building. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully appointed. All the rooms have private bathrooms (ours had a big clawfoot tub), but some are accessed directly from the room, and some you have to walk across the hall...no big deal. The morning buffet was great.

Betsy and her staff were warm, very hospitable hosts and we could not have been happier with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    48
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
155
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I chose this location off of the internet to surprise my husband for his birthday this past summer. We are definitely hotel people but each wanted to try a b and b. Upon arrival, we thought it looked like a run down farmhouse. The young lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful but when we got to our room, we were quite disappointed. It was very dated. The carpet was stained. There was no tv or internet. The handle on the blinds broke off in my hand. We went into town the first night and got back after midnight. When i got in the shower the pipes were screaming so loudly that my husband was beating on the door for me to turn it off for fear of waking the other guests. Breakfast was disappointing. So much so that we opted to go out for breakfast the following morning. To be fair, we sat on the water one night and talked and it was lovely. Check out time was 11 on sunday and we were packed up and ready to leave. However, when we went to the front desk to check out, we couldnt find anyone. We walked around the first floor and called out but nobody responded......at the check in desk....at check out time. Certainly they should expect guests there at that time. In the end, we scribbled a note on a postcard, left the key on the desk and left. We are in complete agreement that we wont return and that from now on, we will stick to hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank princepesa1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
I am so sorry that sounds awful! Seems like it was the perfect storm of events that made for a perfectly awful surprise for your husband. We want our guests to have a breakfast they can enjoy and generally check with guests and happily accomodate special diets. We would have made you something more to your liking. We get so much positive feedback on our breakfasts we must have been really off that day. Rooms are being constantly upgraded , new decor and new carpets. Sorry you were not in one of those rooms. No TV is a plus for 99% of our guests. We do have internet and the password is written at the bottom of your invoice, we should have made that clearer. There are always so many people around at check out time as we are there cleaning up from breakfast, you definitely got us at an odd moment. Hope you keep a fire under that adventurous spirit and veer off the hotel path again. Good Luck!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a great time at the Wades Point Inn. It was relaxing, accommodating, and extremely peaceful; almost didn't notice the lack of a TV in the room. The room was comfortable, clean, with very nice decor. It is nice that they keep it authentic and yet with enough moderization to keep you comfy. We would definately go back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Floyd2Carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

The location and building itself were AMAZING. An amazing view, super quiet and relaxing. My husband and I spent hours outside in the hammocks overlooking the water. Everything else was just ok. The rooms were ancient and the bathrooms were separate from the rooms so you have to walk down the hall to go. The breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsprague610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Well we are glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and spectacular views.
Ancient? Well we are getting there but still have a few centuries to go. As seen on our website it is named the 1890 Victorian Summer wing. Don't know if you chose this room for price or if thats all we had available at the time. Just 3 of our 26 rooms have the bathroom down the hall. With 4 buildings from 4 time periods we are usually able to match our guests to a room they can be comfortable in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a wonderful place! The grounds are so relaxing you can just gaze out over the water and forget about life for a while. We stayed for 3 nights in the newer building for the privacy and were very happy with large room and great balcony view of the Bay. No TV or phone as it's intended to be a getaway not a hotel. There are activities and plenty of places to just do nothing.
The breakfast was homemade and delicious and resembles a country meal where you take your time. It's not a hotel chain buffet.

The owner and staff are delightful making the wonderful experience complete!

Room Tip: Be sure to look at all the room choices online to find the one that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudyfs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank-you for takin the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Where do I even begin with my experience at Wades Point...The view is just ABSOLUTELY gorgeous, the rooms were very nice & clean, the staff was like family and Lucy and sometimes you'll see Chester running around are a lovely touch to the Inn.

We had our wedding here in early September and we had over 45 guests staying at the Inn with us - it was a full house. Everyone had a wonderful time. Betsy and her staff were amazing to work with, super accommodating of everything and everyone was just happy to see them every day. The breakfast was delicious as well - home cooked and delish! Despite a tornado ruining the tent and outdoor reception - we still had a great party indoors with our 90 guests! I will always remember Wades Point Inn and can't wait to come back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Yes a most memorable wedding! We don't usually offer that kind of fun LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in the Duck Room in the 1890 Main House four nights. The room was exactly like the picture on their website, great views of the bay from four windows. The bed was comfy and room was clean. Breakfast was great-many choices from fruit, yogart, one morning had a great french toast casserole, another morning was egg & mushroom dish another was egg omelete with veggies. Property had much to offer with the screened in porches and lots of seating both inside and outside. Hubby loved the fishing dock and catch and release fishing. We even saw a camera shy bald eagle each morning, watched ospray catching fish, blue herons walking along the rock retaining wall and of course, Lucy the beagle dog. I didnot see holes in the screen as other posts stated or needed repairs. Keep in mind that this is a older home and things were not build square as our modern homes which I thought added to the charm of our visit.

Room Tip: We picked the Duck Room because of the views out two directions since it is a corner room. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaasfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank-you! Fishing has been great this year, glad your husband could enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
15.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
4.8 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
332 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wades Point Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Property: Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Address: 10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21647-9749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels > McDaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McDaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wades Point Inn on the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from St. Michaels on the Chesapeake Bay, our inn is an easy getaway from Washington D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. A stroll around the grounds of the inn provides an opportunity to experience a graceful, historic location that is almost like a trip back to another era of hospitality and gracious living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wades Point Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wades Point Inn On The Bay Hotel Mcdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing