We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
199
57
17
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
57
17
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house granola newer building paddle boards get away nature trail breakfast room my husband and i tilghman island lawn chairs baked eggs st michaels fresh fruit crab meat watching the sunset small kitchenette kemp house
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A large group checked out the day we arrived, so we were probably 1 of maybe 4 or 5 occupied rooms during our mid-week stay. We barely saw anyone and it was incredibly quiet, but I found that to be perfect. We were looking for a low-key, stress-free place that we could sit by the water, under a large tree and read a book, while sipping a drink. We loved sitting in the breakfast room at night and playing Scrabble while having a drink and eating the fresh baked cookies - with kids and their activities we hardly ever have time at home to do that! The beauty of it is that St. Michaels is only 5 miles away, so driving in for a meal or to do some shopping doesn't feel like an inconvenience at all. This location provides the best of both worlds. The grounds are large and I wouldn't recommend it for younger children, but I'd take my own back (ages 12+16) in a heartbeat for a few days of relaxing here. Available activities are paddle boards, kayaks, bikes, croquet, bocce, horseshoes and fishing poles. There is a fire pit, hammocks, recliners and lots of large trees for shade. It would be a perfect place for a family reunion, girls weekend, special event (anniversary, etc).

We found the innkeepers to be very helpful. We started in the Duck Room, but I have lower back issues and the bed was too soft for me. After spending the entire 1st night awake and uncomfortable, our request to move across the hall to the Honey Room was accommodated immediately and with apologies (although it was in no way their fault!). Much firmer mattress - like heaven that 2nd night! Also, the air conditioner was newer so the room was much cooler. The private bathroom for the Honey Room is down the hall, which we were fine with, but they offered for us to continue using the Duck Room bathroom since they weren't very busy. It was like having the entire end of the floor to ourselves. You couldn't beat the views of the water from either room.

Don't be swayed by any reviews you see that mentioned the lack of t.v., refrigerators, etc... That isn't what it is about here and the Inn doesn't try to hide that fact. I didn't get to take a look at any rooms in the newer building, but that would probably be your best bet if you want a more modern facility, while still fitting in to the atmosphere here. But the real charm is in the main house and the summer wing - wood stairs worn down in the middle from years of use, creaking floor boards, bedroom doors that do not lock, having to watch your head on the stairs. If you appreciate that - it's all here! Oh, and Lucy the dog, she's a sweetheart. A little older and very used to people. I don't have a dog, so I was probably more excited to see her than she me, but we did enjoy sitting on the front steps together. That seems to be her favorite spot and she enjoys the head rubs. Add her in, and it felt like home.

My only recommendation would be to add chairs to the balcony at the end of the hall outside of the Duck & Honey Rooms. It would have been a nice place to sit, not that there was any shortage, it just seemed to be the only patio without seating.

Room Tip: I peeked in at every room I could - I don't know that there are any I wouldn't enjoy! Truly they all have their own personality. I'd like to work my way through all of the rooms on separate stays. It mostly comes down to bed sizes and your preference for a bathroom in the room or a private bathroom a short walk away. In the Summer wing, the Sunset and Sunrise rooms the bathrooms are quite large with hard floors throughout. The Duck Room's air conditioner unit is a little older. It was very hot during our stay and it ran constantly to keep pace.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_live_4_vakation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

This was such a pleasure to read! Thank you for taking the time to say such lovely things about your stay with us! We're so happy you chose us for your vacation, and so grateful that this wonderfully thoughtful review is here for future guests to read. It's a delight to hear from you, and we want you to know that you are welcome to come and stay with us again anytime.

Warmest wishes,
Betsy and Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay, when outside we spent the majority of our time in the hammocks or lounge chairs enjoying the fantastic views and simply soaking up the charm of life on the waterfront. Breakfast was super and staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If your not concerned with views of the water from your bedroom and don't mind your private bathroom being across the hall, the Peach Room in the main house is a fantastic deal!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We certainly can't blame you for hardly ever leaving the hammocks and lounge chairs! It sounds like you had a lovely and relaxing stay with us, and we so appreciate your taking the time to share some kind words about your experience. Do keep us in mind, as we'd love to host you here again .

Warmest wishes,
Betsy and Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This historic property gives a feel of southern plantation crossed with colonial sensibility. The main house is gorgeous, with antiques and artifacts, but at the same time as comfortable as home. The newer buildings stay true to the character of the property and blend in nicely. Chesapeake Bay and its wildlife are all around, and the horses at the back of the property add to its quaint, bucolic air.
Breakfasts are delicious and imaginative, and the staff is friendly and helpful, while respecting the traveler's need for privacy and quietude. While there is no beach, swimming off the dock in the mornings is a great way to start the day!

Room Tip: All are great, and each has its own character. I stayed with a group so got to see many rooms, in the main house and newer buildings.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cavalluccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments! It sounds like you had a lovely time during your stay with us, and we so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. We had a wonderful time hosting you and your group, and would happily welcome you all back for another stay sometime. Keep us in mind for the next time you need to get away from it all!

Warmest wishes,
Betsy and Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a really cool place with friendly operators. It's only a quick 5 minute drive from downtown St. Michael's and it is a beautiful drive at that. Awesome secluded, quiet, with an amazing panoramic view of the bay. There is even a fishing area and ladder to go swimming. Several buildings on the property offer tons of privacy and the main building has wonderful sitting areas. Best of all--cooked to order breakfast. We had crab omelets during our stay and my daughters had home-made waffles with local maple syrup. Lots of fun walks to engage yourself in nature and spending time together. Private pond is a dream for nature lovers. Grab a bottle of wine in town and hunker down on the lounge chairs for sunsets. Kids can go wild on the property or a couple could have an intimate time as well. We researched the alternatives in town and were SO HAPPY we ended up here. The high end resort in town is over twice as much and we felt there wasn't the value. This place is super cool. If you want to freak yourself out take a self guided tour of the local cemetery at night.

Room Tip: Pick something that faces the bay-almost all do though. We liked the newest building, end unit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fpk932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write up this lovely review! We're so glad that you picked our B&B over a resort stay for your time in St. Michaels. It certainly sounds like you were able to take great advantage of everything this location has to offer! It's wonderful to know you were relaxed and comfortable, and we want you to know that we'd be glad to host you and your family again!

Warmest wishes,
Betsy and Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The town of St. Michaels is quaint and cute, but most of the accommodation is either not on the water or overlooks the marina (which is technically water but doesn't feel very natural). Wades Point Inn is an easy 10-15 minute drive down the road and is surround on three sides by a gorgeous Bay setting. Even at the end of June, the breezes off the water kept the air wonderfully cool, and there were no bugs to speak of.

The inn is somewhat larger than your average B&B, and when it's full, it probably feels a little crowded. I'd expect this would be particularly problematic if there were a wedding taking place. You can probably avoid the crowds by staying mid-week. At any rate, because of its size, don't expect it to feel as personal as a normal B&B -- For example, breakfast is self-service buffet style, rather then being served to all the guests at the same time together. Also, the reception area can be a little chaotic if you arrive at the same time as other guests.

Although it's not geared toward kids (there's aren't any TVs in the rooms, and there aren't many / any kid-centric activities in the immediate vicinity of the inn), there are kayaks and bikes available for guest use (for free), and it's possible to go fishing right off the shore behind the inn's main building. The WiFi is spotty and probably works better in some places on the property than others (couldn't get it to work in my room at all). However, the cell phone coverage at the inn is just fine (was able to get plenty of bars).

By far, the best part of the visit was sitting outside and watching the sun set over the water. It feels like a world apart from the stress of daily life, and I would have gladly stayed longer.

Note: I also considered Black Walnut Point Inn as another place to stay near to St. Michaels but away from the town itself. From reviews, they seemed similar in their views / setup, but Black Walnut is about twice as far from town. Prices at the two inns seem to be comparable.

Room Tip: Duck and Honey rooms (on 2nd floor) are on the end of the house and have beautiful water views and windows on two sides. Some rooms have bathrooms outside the room (but each bathroom is for one room only; they're not shared)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thanks for your review! This will undoubtedly be helpful to read for those who are considering a vacation in St. Michaels. We're so happy to hear that you found the location and views to be so wonderfully relaxing. And not to worry -- if someone books our hotel for a wedding, we require that they book the whole hotel so that other guests won't feel as if they're intruding up on the celebrations. Don't ever hesitate to let our staff know if wifi isn't working or if there's any other way we might accommodate you! We're always happy to help where we can. We hope you'd consider returning, as we'd be glad to have you!

Warmest wishes,
Betsy and Beth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews