We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough, and ski in, ski out is definitely great and very convenient. That said, I think the hotel is relying on that convenience to draw visitors rather than making sure service is up to par.

To start with, the rooms are small, old, and outdated. The layout of the lodge and its connection to the ski services area (I.e. lift tickets, rentals, shop) is extremely confusing.

In addition we experienced a number of plumbing problems. There was no hot water any morning, the shower was lukewarm at best. I took a shower one afternoon after skiing and got some hot water, but it did not last the length of my shower. The toilet also clogged several times, and the shower drain did not work properly, so there was several inches of water in the shower every time we took one.

The restaurant (DC's) has overpriced food, and the service is terrible. We waited a long time for a server both nights, and the food took its time coming out. They also failed to deliver a salad I ordered ahead of my meal one night.

We have stayed at the Lakepointe inn across the street in the past which was wonderful. Now that our daughter is old enough to stay there we will probably go back there instead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank balgera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    87
    86
    32
    28
See reviews for
130
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed the mid-week after Presidents Day weekend. They are apparently under new ownership and seem to have added to their off-season activities (rope course, etc).

Surprisingly (and happily!) it was cheaper to stay there, with more amenities, than to stay at Liberty, even with our Advantage Card.

They have added a ramen noodle and burrito bar, and soy options, which is a nice addition. As we have younger children (one of who is really to young to ski ... Too young for ski school, but out of diapers) we appreciate the (small) game room, the ice rink and the pool.

That said, certain amenities have disappeared, which make staying a bit more of a challenge. First and foremost, BEWARE .... There is NO daycare available. So if you have a non- skier and/or young child, you are stuck. There is no option other than having an adult try and entertain the kids. Very difficult and disappointing!!!

The spa (as minimal as it was) is gone.... Although if you Google spa at Wisp, it still appears.... Confusing. After a long couple days of skiing, a spa would be appreciated. To be a full "resort" they need to being it back.

The coffee bar is also gone. Your choice is regular or decaf. That's it. Again, at a "resort", it would've been nice to get a higher quality of coffee and more choices.

The pool is WAY over chlorinated and not heated enough. Our son was actually in tears from the chlorine burn, and he is on swim team, so it's not as though he's not used to it. There is also no place on site to buy suit or goggles if you forget/didn't know about the pool. Take better care of your pool, WISP.

The rooms are small. Suite is a misnomer. Thankfully, there is a separate bedroom option, which again is key when you have small kids. The Murphy beds need new mattresses, blankets and pillows. The flat screen TVs are nice. More outlets are needed, and if you have mini fridge (nice!) please add mini microwave, or have one in the food court. Can't reheat the kids' pizza otherwise!!

The slopes are better than Liberty, etc., the lifts are great and staff for rentals were very helpful. Lockers are a good size and easily accessible, but take a cue from Liberty and update to electronic ones.

All in all, a good value for the money, but if WISP truly wants to compete with the likes of 7 Springs, they are going to need to kick it up a notch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

While the skiing and ski instructors were good, the accommodations and food need a boost. Lots of choices in the buffet area of the lodge, but not very tasty. Fast food at best. Lodging spacious in general areas but bathrooms are cramped, why?? And why the murphy bed? Overall, a nice time had but we'll seek out another, more current, spot for our next trip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice this winter. Both were last minute reservations. The hotel is average...but we liked
1. Rooms are clean
2. They have an arcade for the kids ( mine loved it)
3. Indoor pool
4. You can get lift tickets inside hotel
5. The provide complimentary ski lockers
6. Inside connector to the ski lodge
7. Ski in/out ( this was my fave!)

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oh2bonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I took advantage of the unusually cold, snowy weather in the east to try one of Maryland's ski resorts -- Wisp. It was an easy, pleasant three-hour drive to the site and within an hour, I was on the slopes where (best of all) seniors over 70 ski for free. The site is convenient and compact -- comfortable room, dining (both cafeteria and sit-down restaurant), rentals and a great jacuzzi and pool are all under one roof. And the lift is easily accessible. The lifts are a bit slow but there were no lines and plenty of runs of different levels of difficult for 1 1/2 days of skiing. I was most pleased and would recommend the site to anyone -- a single senior like me or a young family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The following "highway robbery locker key" anecdote of ours is typical of our overall Wisp "Resort" experience. I just noticed two mystery $25 charges from Wisp on our credit card bill. I called, explained my concern and was informed that they were a result of unreturned locker keys. We only received one locker key for our room, I informed them. In addition, upon check-out, no effort was made to remind me or other guests in line to return locker keys. The person on the other end of the line at Wisp lectured me that it was the responsibility of the guest to return the key, not of the Resort to remind us to return it. Could this not be an excellent money maker for Wisp, charging $50 per room for unreturned key? That's a full 20% of our room price, which was an overpriced $250. Now to a summary of the basics... Room: tired and dated; strange layout. The suite was plenty large, though, and we appreciated the view of the slopes - which I had requested based on other TripAdvisor reviews, so thanks TripAdvisor! Food: cafeteria-style only; average fare. Skiing: creaky, jaded lifts; medium number of runs by mid-Atlantic standards. Ski lessons: we came to Wisp for the first time because we and our friends could have our 3-year-olds take ski lessons there (some places wait until 4). However, after the lesson, the only place we could practice with our son was a substantial hike from the place where they were learning on their treadmill-like lift, so we'd lost the ski momentum once we'd made the trek to that further location and stopped skiing altogether.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_am_a_Washingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent three nights at WISP as beginning skiers – adults and kids. Ski school was great for the kids, as were private lessons for adults. Rental shop was very efficient and all the gear worked fine. All of us were skiing by day two no problem. Trails were fantastic for new skiers. Kids loved the tubing as well! As for the resort, inside is a bit dated, but everything was clean and with so much to do on the property we didn’t spend too much time in the room other than to sleep. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U2SOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.7 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
20.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing