We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel with dated decor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old hotel with dated decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place has seen better days. My room had extremely dated furnishings, except for the tv which was at least a flatscreen, and had a musty feel to it. My biggest complaint was the issue with the wifi though. Cell service is very spotty in this area so I was looking forward to being able to utilize the hotel's wifi. Most of the time I couldn't even connect and when I finally could I was almost immediately dropped from the network. I inquired at the front desk about the issue and the clerk seemed to think I just didn't know how to use my own phone to connect to wifi. I had this issue all week and although in the grand scheme of things its not a huge deal, it was annoying. Bed was comfortable enough, towels were frayed and falling apart, and the bathroom fan was obnoxiously loud and annoying. But I could make the temperature of the room as cold as I wanted, a big plus for me, and if you can get this place for 100 bucks or less its not a bad deal. I'm curious as to what they charge during actual ski season because I would not pay a significant amount of money to stay here. Location is decent if you are here for summer activities and don't have a large group to rent a house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyClinton, Manager at Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Stan, I am terribly sorry you had a bad experience connecting to our Wi-Fi during your recent stay. I understand how frustrating that can be. As we speak, we are completely upgrading our system throughout the entire hotel. All new wire is being run and new hardware is being installed.

As habits change so does the need for Wi-Fi. What was acceptable just 5 years ago is not now. A family of 4 now averages 7 - 9 devices that automatically connect to Wi-Fi. We saw the need and reacted as quickly as we could. Our intent is to have the new Wi-Fi up and running by this weekend.

This should completely stop the trouble connecting and getting dropped when the hotel gets busy.

We hope you return and stay with us again ~ free from any Wi-Fi issues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    87
    86
    32
    28
See reviews for
130
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed a few days for a midweek ski break. This hotel is right at the base of the slopes and our suite had a slope view, seperate bedroom and a murphy bed in the small living room area and 1 bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. You are given a ski locker on the first floor which has room for several pairs of skis and poles. There is a very large indoor pool and a hotub on the first floor. Facilities also include a restaurant/bar, a large cafeteria, retail ski shop and ski rental shop, all accessible without going outside. Everyone we encountered who worked at the resort was extremely pleasant, from the hotel desk, shop/cafeteria employees, even the liftees. The mountain is very nice for the mid-atlantic area and had trails added in the last few years.The new area is quite nice for beginners and intermediates. It is lacking very much expert terrain.
The hotel and facilities are quite old and furnishings are basic. This is not "the ritz", but it is an excellent value, clean, friendly and the most convenient lodging for Wisp mountain. Great accomodations for a family with young children. The resort was recently purchased and improvements are expected. Actually I am unaware of any luxury lodging in this area, perhaps a B&B or a private rental home would provide a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: A $20 bill to the desk clerk does wonders at most moderate hotels to get you a desirable room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 880Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd year we've stayed there for a conference we stayed in the "nicest" suite level available but after we got there we found the room having cosmetic issues and the suite hospitality lounge closed. Hotel hasn't see common area updates in years and almost nonexistent food and beverage on site in off season.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough, and ski in, ski out is definitely great and very convenient. That said, I think the hotel is relying on that convenience to draw visitors rather than making sure service is up to par.

To start with, the rooms are small, old, and outdated. The layout of the lodge and its connection to the ski services area (I.e. lift tickets, rentals, shop) is extremely confusing.

In addition we experienced a number of plumbing problems. There was no hot water any morning, the shower was lukewarm at best. I took a shower one afternoon after skiing and got some hot water, but it did not last the length of my shower. The toilet also clogged several times, and the shower drain did not work properly, so there was several inches of water in the shower every time we took one.

The restaurant (DC's) has overpriced food, and the service is terrible. We waited a long time for a server both nights, and the food took its time coming out. They also failed to deliver a salad I ordered ahead of my meal one night.

We have stayed at the Lakepointe inn across the street in the past which was wonderful. Now that our daughter is old enough to stay there we will probably go back there instead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank balgera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed the mid-week after Presidents Day weekend. They are apparently under new ownership and seem to have added to their off-season activities (rope course, etc).

Surprisingly (and happily!) it was cheaper to stay there, with more amenities, than to stay at Liberty, even with our Advantage Card.

They have added a ramen noodle and burrito bar, and soy options, which is a nice addition. As we have younger children (one of who is really to young to ski ... Too young for ski school, but out of diapers) we appreciate the (small) game room, the ice rink and the pool.

That said, certain amenities have disappeared, which make staying a bit more of a challenge. First and foremost, BEWARE .... There is NO daycare available. So if you have a non- skier and/or young child, you are stuck. There is no option other than having an adult try and entertain the kids. Very difficult and disappointing!!!

The spa (as minimal as it was) is gone.... Although if you Google spa at Wisp, it still appears.... Confusing. After a long couple days of skiing, a spa would be appreciated. To be a full "resort" they need to being it back.

The coffee bar is also gone. Your choice is regular or decaf. That's it. Again, at a "resort", it would've been nice to get a higher quality of coffee and more choices.

The pool is WAY over chlorinated and not heated enough. Our son was actually in tears from the chlorine burn, and he is on swim team, so it's not as though he's not used to it. There is also no place on site to buy suit or goggles if you forget/didn't know about the pool. Take better care of your pool, WISP.

The rooms are small. Suite is a misnomer. Thankfully, there is a separate bedroom option, which again is key when you have small kids. The Murphy beds need new mattresses, blankets and pillows. The flat screen TVs are nice. More outlets are needed, and if you have mini fridge (nice!) please add mini microwave, or have one in the food court. Can't reheat the kids' pizza otherwise!!

The slopes are better than Liberty, etc., the lifts are great and staff for rentals were very helpful. Lockers are a good size and easily accessible, but take a cue from Liberty and update to electronic ones.

All in all, a good value for the money, but if WISP truly wants to compete with the likes of 7 Springs, they are going to need to kick it up a notch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

While the skiing and ski instructors were good, the accommodations and food need a boost. Lots of choices in the buffet area of the lodge, but not very tasty. Fast food at best. Lodging spacious in general areas but bathrooms are cramped, why?? And why the murphy bed? Overall, a nice time had but we'll seek out another, more current, spot for our next trip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice this winter. Both were last minute reservations. The hotel is average...but we liked
1. Rooms are clean
2. They have an arcade for the kids ( mine loved it)
3. Indoor pool
4. You can get lift tickets inside hotel
5. The provide complimentary ski lockers
6. Inside connector to the ski lodge
7. Ski in/out ( this was my fave!)

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oh2bonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing