We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place for a family get-away”
Review of The Lodge at Wisp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Wisp
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant place for a family get-away”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I just returned from a 3-day visit to WISP as part of a three-generation party. We were very pleased with the lodging (3 adjoining rooms) and the kids enjoyed many of the activities, although the major ones were a bit pricey. Food at the resort was okay, but nothing special. We chose to eat at non-resort restaurants most of the time. The grounds are well-kept and we were blessed with beautiful weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjofct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    88
    91
    33
    28
See reviews for
136
64
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Rooms were clean, but a bit outdated. The mattresses need to be replaced, as you could feel the edging and sank in the middle. It was okay for a one-night stay, but not the comfort of a "resort." The restaurant on site was cozy and the breakfast very good. The lobby was nicely appointed (looks like it's been updated), but the next updates should be the rooms.

Room Tip: As for ski slope view, otherwise you'll look at the parking lot and other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee41371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Laird, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited the area on business and stayed one night at the Wisp. The area has many thing to do and I would like to go back and spend some time for pleasure. The Wisp Resort Hotel is dated but it is adequate. My room was clean and had a good night sleep. Had a great country breakfast before leaving the next day. Ski is the winter activity but would like to check out the golf course during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

There is so much to do at the Wisp. It is a beautiful resort. My kids had fun doing all the activities they offer, such as corn hole, chess, checkers, the entire family did the Mountain Coaster $29 for 3 tickets $14 for one. We brought our boat along and had no problem finding a place to park it. It was very safe. The room was very nice. My kids do not like to sleep together, my daughter slept on the couch and my son slept in the bed. Deep Creek has so much to offer a family. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visit the area as it is wonderful. However, this hotel is outdated. The suite and luxury rooms are awkward and enclose the bedroom without a window view. Desk manager was not very helpful. Seemed to be an inconvenience to explain the charges on our bill. We left one night early and inquired about a potential one night refund. She was very abrupt and sighted we were outside our cancellation policy. Golfing at this site we equally rude as they rolled their eyes at me when I walked in without a shirt collar on. There are better places to stay and golf at. Lodestone golfing was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your bed choose the standard room. Suite and Luxury rooms are completely en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these McHenry hotels

1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great place to stay for summer outdoor adventures not just snow skiing.. Rooms a little interesting with Murphy beds but very comfortable. The staff was wonderful, always asking if we needed anything. Food in the restaurant was great! Large indoor pool but very small hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in connecting rooms, a queen suite and 2-room suite so all the kids could have a bed. We have difficulty finding places that can accommodate 5 people at a reasonable price so were happy to find this hotel. It is dated but the rooms are clean. A little paint on many of the buildings would go a long way to making it feel newer. The room layout is a little strange but it was nice to have a bedroom with a door separated from the living area (or 2nd bedroom). Not many places will give you that kind of privacy. The murphy bed was actually a nice feature because it had a foldable table attached that you could use during the day. This allowed us to have family game night in our room. Each room had a mini-fridge which also helped us eat-in for breakfast and lunch. The onsite restaurant is pricey but the casual snack bar at the adventure park is very reasonable. Where else can you get fully loaded cheese fries for a few bucks? Even though the attractions at the Adventure park are probably priced comparably to other cities, I felt they were overpriced or misrepresented here. The 90 minute long zipline course was finished in less than half the time. The Segway was a nice treat because you get to take them off-road. There is a grocery store nearby but it is small and overpriced. The chair lift is ok but there is nothing to see at the top. If you are staying awhile, drive down to the Walmart 15 mins away to get supplies. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They could add more details to their brochure (I thought lake access was within hotel property but it isn't). If you aren't expecting luxury or modern rooms this is a great, affordable place for families to just get away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qzartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.7 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
109 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Wisp

Property: The Lodge at Wisp
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402 (Formerly Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Wisp 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Wisp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing