We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Our new place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We foun this place on Groupon and never imagined it to be so amazing. We were impressed with the structure, cleanliness, location and serenity. We usually rent a house when in DCL, but not anymore. We're staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are excited to hear that we have captured your business and look forward to having you stay with us again for many trips to come.

Thank you for taking time to give a review for the Cabins!

LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    34
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

These cabins are great we've stayed in 2 different ones both with the hot tubs so romantic!! We have stayed there on 5 different occasions it is definitely our go to place. They ate clean and the staff is friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELIZABETHXoxoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to hear that you will continue to choose the Lodges at Sunset Village! Give us a call for future deals we look forward to having you come back for a ROMANTIC weekend getaway!

Thanks
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

One of the very few places we have stayed where we felt like we could walk on all the floors barefoot and smell the towels. I'm not sure I agree with the great view reviews, but the view is pleasant enough and you can walk to the lake if you don't mind crossing the road. Customer service is exceptional and the room had everything we needed to feel at home except a stove.
Make sure you know how to turn the ice maker off before you go to bed.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a grill and firepit outside your sliding glass door you may have people enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy that you could feel at home! Thank you for the comments about the cleanliness of the cabins, our Housekeeping team takes strives to keep our cabins in great condition and will appreciate your feedback! They do an awesome Job! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cabins!


Thanks
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Husband and myself spent weekend at the Lodges in April on 2014. The accommodations were fantastic,the decor of the property was wonderful. We enjoyed the private hot tub,which was the cleanest hot tub we have encountered at a cabin rental in a long time. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. We where very disappointed in the Deep Creek lake area,it was there down time,and might be the reason we didn't enjoy the area that much. Not a lot to do in the area at that time of year. We did have delicious meal at Uno' s which was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and the hot tub! We take pride in making sure that all amenities meet our guest expectations. We would love to welcome you back soon! We now offer a newsletter at check in for our guest for all activities that are going on at the time that you are here, this is very helpful for you to know what is "Happening" in Deep Creek Lake!

Thanks
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluefield, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I had a few days off and decided to take a quick trip to Deep Creek Lake. Never having been there before, we were not quite sure what to expect. We took Tripadvisor's word concerning the Lodges as a decent place to stay, and we are sure glad that we did. These cabins are a lot nicer than one would think. First, they are very clean. Our cabin had two queen sized beds, a microwave, a coffee pot, a full-size refrigerator, two flat-screen televisions, cups, bowls, silverware, an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer. The pressure in the shower was fantastic and there was plenty of hot water. We could not have asked for anything more. The cabin itself was roomy.
When we looked out the front door of our cabin, there was an excellent view of Deep Creek Lake and the Wisp Ski resort. The only complaint I would have about the cabin was the internet service. It just did not work. The wifi did not work nor did the Ethernet. This could be due to the fact that it was windy and snowing. However, with very little to do this time of year, I would have hoped the internet would have been working. Even so, we just went down the road to the local McDonalds for a bite to eat and used their internet service.
For anyone travelling to the Deep Creek Lake area, I would highly recommend these cabins.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a cabin with a view of the Lake. Not all of them have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We are glad we met all of the your needs and exceeded your expectations! and since your trip was your first to the area, we hope that you continue to let us serve you when you come back to Deep Creek! We are sorry you had trouble with the Wi-Fi, we are always taking feedback to make this better for our guest. Let us know when you are ready to come back!

Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

With extensive job and family traveling, we have seen a lot of lodging places. Coming to the The Lodges in the beginning of March, all what we expected was "OK lodging". As it turned out and to our pleasant surprise, the place was very nice. On the back patio we had direct access to a gas grill (clean and well maintained) and a gas fireplace. Room had everything we needed: two TVs, fridge, coffee-maker and microwave oven. Picturesque view on the nearby lake, mountains and ski resort added to overall joy of stay.
Last, but not least, LaDonna was very helpful in making sure that we have all what we need and gave few pointers for sightseeing. Planning to come back in June to check what this resort has to offer in Summer.

Room Tip: select the top line of cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy that we could met your needs with our cabin! The area is certainly picturesque like you mentioned! We hope you will come back soon and enjoy the summer season with us! The grill and firepits are waiting for you!

Thank you!
LaDonna
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I decided an an impromptu trip out of d.c. I came across the lodge and called the, up. I was greeted by Ladonna who was very helpful. When I let her know I would be coming in late she told me that she would go turn the heat on and leave me key in a lock box with a list of the local restaurants which she highlighted a few that we're good. Do not miss traders coffee it is great. When I arrived I was really impressed with the size and comfort of the cabin. It had a great kitchenette and fully stocked with dishes and cooking utensils for the grill. They also have a fireplace in the room which was great. I came up to explore for future longer trips and I found a place I will come back to yer after year. Next time i will get one with a private hot tub. Thanks.

Room Tip: 52 left was my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Front Office Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed the Cabins and that you took time to give us a review, we appreciate your feedback. Please know you are welcome anytime to call us your new "HOME" in Mchenry. We look forward to having come and stay again.


Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
3.8 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
107 reviews
20.5 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Property: The Lodges at Sunset Village
Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 27 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including full kitchens or kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. Five Cabins are Lakefront and all cabins have access to the dock and lake area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing