We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book only single cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room was a pleasant surprise and we settled in for what we thought was a four night vacation. Soon it was evident the noise level was as if the walls were paper thin. our first room was attached to another that had the loft of that room extended over were the king bed was in our room. We heard running up and down the stairs and a dog cryed every time the people left. We heard a yound boy singing and playing with a what seemed to be a ball. (this was right over your head if you we in the bed) We asked to be moved the next day and the staff really went out the way to move us. Our second room was fine a litle smaller but at least no loft over our our bed. that night the noise level was fine and we got some sleep. The toilet was running and we had to shut it off and on but didn't want to complain as the staff had helped us so much. Thought we'd mention it when we checked out. The third night a group of several women were staying next door and kept us up till after 2 making noise. You could actually hear talking through the walls. Lucky I had thought to bring a fan and that muffled some of the noise. We had planned to stay for four nights and were so unhappy after the third we checked out. We asked for our money back but the answer was policy wouldn't allow a refund. We left anyway. I think the cabins are very nice, the staff was very nice but if you are looking for quiet don't expect to find it here. Also, the staff should be able to make some kind of refund if the customer was unhappy for any reason.

Room Tip: stay in the single cabins only or at least in the ones without the loft room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We do our best to accommodate guest to make sure that your stay with us is a good experience. We do have a policy for no refunds for early departures and we do apologize that we were unable to help you with that and hope that you will come back again in the future. We do have staff available 24/7 for any guest concerns or maintenance issues that need immediate attention . We do our best to make your stay as comfortable as we can especially when we have a full occupancy for all of our cabins.

Thank You
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been using Trip Advisor for quite a while but this is my first written review. We just returned from 3 nights at the Lodges of Sunset Village and it was a wonderful experience. The accommodations suited our family perfectly. We stayed in 50L which has a loft above the first floor...perfect for our two teenagers since they had a separate bathroom upstairs and plenty of room to spread out. This unit does have a connecting door to 50R but fortunately there was no one renting that unit while we were there so we did not have to get chummy with any close neighbors. The unit was perfectly equipped for everything we needed. A full size refrigerator, microwave, and sink in the kitchenette. We brought some food but also hit the grocery store which was less than a mile down the road.
The room was impeccably clean. I wasn't sure what to expect since we were renting a dog friendly cabin. I was pleasantly surprised! The bathrooms were lovely; completely updated with modern fixtures and sinks. There were 2 TV's on the first level (none in the loft) and a nice living room area where we could sit and play cards at night.
We all enjoyed the deck off the back of the cabin that provided two chairs and a nice view of the mountains (partial lake view). The common area was great as well, with gas grills and fire pits for everyone to use and Adirondack chairs to enjoy the fire.
Overall, the Lodges are conveniently located to everything we wanted to do. LaDonna, the property manager, was extremely helpful from start to finish. She provided us information on the area before we arrived so that we could plan our trip better. She also directed us to a dog friendly restaurant upon arrival since our cabin was not ready (we arrived a few hours early for the 3pm check-in). The cabins are not overlooking the lake but we knew that before we rented there. The cost for all that we got with this cabin made up for the lack of lake view.
A few suggestions: I would rent a cabin on the upper level of units. The deck and access to the common area is a big plus. The lower cabins have access to the common areas as well but not as conveniently.
If you rent a cabin with a loft, bring a fan. The air conditioning upstairs was not effective. The AC worked great in the lower level but did not effectively cool the loft. Luckily we brought a fan with us and that seemed to help.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the upper level. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review, it was fun meeting you and setting up your stay with us and that you had a great stay! We try to pay attention to every detail to ensure a great stay for all our guest. We are honored to be your first trip advisor review! Thank you again for all of your positive comments, I will share with the staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

What a poorly laid out design. Beautiful mountains and lake and we couldn't see any of them. You go out the back door and you have an eight foot wall. It was like a back alley in the city. The cabin was very nice and it had everything we needed after a day of kayaking. Lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSteve366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the views from our cabins. Our cabins sit up on a hill side away from the lake, they do sit sides to the mountain and lake and the view that you may have would be when you are outside in our common areas around the cabins. It sounds like that you enjoyed what Deep Creek lake has to offer. I hope that you will give us another try for any furture stays.

Thank You for taking time to give us a review.

LaDonna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I always write reviews with what I wish I had known - I gave them an average but I would probably have thought differently in the winter? Not sure.

1. This is not on or really near the lake - I may have missed that on the website but I thought it was across the street or had lake access for the kids. It does not. It is up a hill away from the lake.

2. The common areas are a few feet from the back of other cabins so it doesn't feel as though you can use them if your cabin is not directly in front of the area.

3. The wifi is spotty and not great. It does work but not consistently.

4. We loved the idea of the cabins being on their own (not attached like a hotel) but they are loud. I could hear hear birds as if they were in the cabin with me.

The positive:

They were clean!
They are very close to Wisp and would be a great place to stay for skiing
They do have a full size refrigerator and a microwave with all the stuff for the kitchen (plates, etc.)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank 2kidstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We are sorry that the cabins were not what you expected for your stay. We try to give your guest the most of what Deep Creek has to offer from our location, we do not have a dock or lake access from our cabins, we send our guest to the Deep Creek State park for all of your lake needs to swimming from the sandy beach area and access to the boat launch to enjoy all of the lake. We hope that you get a chance to come back again and let us help you find the right cabin for your needs and hopefully get a chance again to enjoy all of the amenities that we have offer.

We are within minutes from the Ski Resort, and the snow fall and beautiful night time mountain views from the cabins are something to see! So come back in our winter season to give us another try soon!

Thank you
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was the first time we rented cabin in Deep Creek (always rented house in the past), and it will definitely not be the last! These cabins are very modern, located in the heart of Deep Creek. We were there in beginning of June - AC/fans worked great. We have two kids and stayed in 3 cabins with two other couples who also had 2 kids each. We rented 3 units, two of which had adjacent doors. It was nice to be able to share rooms when we wanted yet to be able to separate at times when we wanted some privacy. When we were there, there were not that many people, we pretty much had entire patio to ourselves every night, chilling by the fire pit (which is gas, but surprisingly with good fire and plenty of warmth on chilly nights). We brought our own grills and cooking equipment and set it up on the patio . We also brought a picnic table and were able to enjoy company dinners every night on the cabin's patio. Front desk folks were very friendly and helpful, even gave us the cell phone number in case we needed anything at any time during our stay. Highly recommend, especially for folks with kids as this place is located right next to many attractions that have activities for kids to do. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper row of the cabins. We stayed in 51L and feel that it was the best out of all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dmitriy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you! for taking time to give us a review, we are so happy that we met your expectations here at the Lodges at Sunset Village, sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed our fire pits, Nothing is better than quality family time and you were able to have all of that here. We are very lucky to be in such a great location here in the Deep Creek and we are always happy to make sure our guest get the experience it all!

THanks
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We foun this place on Groupon and never imagined it to be so amazing. We were impressed with the structure, cleanliness, location and serenity. We usually rent a house when in DCL, but not anymore. We're staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are excited to hear that we have captured your business and look forward to having you stay with us again for many trips to come.

Thank you for taking time to give a review for the Cabins!

LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

These cabins are great we've stayed in 2 different ones both with the hot tubs so romantic!! We have stayed there on 5 different occasions it is definitely our go to place. They ate clean and the staff is friendly. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELIZABETHXoxoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to hear that you will continue to choose the Lodges at Sunset Village! Give us a call for future deals we look forward to having you come back for a ROMANTIC weekend getaway!

Thanks
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
23.6 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
89 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
3.8 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
256 reviews
4 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range: £95 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 27 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including full kitchens or kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. Five Cabins are Lakefront and all cabins have access to the dock and lake area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing