We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Pointe Inn Bed and Breakfast(McHenry)(Great Value!)
US$324
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Deep Creek(Oakland)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yough Valley Motel(Friendsville)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casselman Inn(Grantsville)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heldreth Motel(Kingwood)
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
106
38
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
38
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgas fireplacethese cabinsgift carddeep creek lakesliding doorsmall playgroundking bedbeautiful cabingreat view of the mountainsoutdoor jacuzziget awayfull size fridgerental officeloft stylechecking outmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The cabin was a perfect size for my family of 5 and two dogs. We did get a single cabin so do not know about noise issue with connecting cabins. The furniture was well made and well kept, the beds noise springs but very comfortable. Love the two tv's in each section of the cabin so we could seperate the kids from each other. The kitchen area is clean and very nice set of plates and glasses for use. The office staff is friendly and very helpful. There is a nice medium size play set for kids and a common area you can roast marshmellows over a fire. There is no view of the Lake but it is a nice view of a field that often had horses on it which was more peaceful then the active lake. It was a short drive to all the local attractions Deep Creek Lake State Park, Wisp Lodge adventure park, Swallow falls and Funland. My boys really loved the "cabin" and wanted to stay there and not go home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We love our location at the lake as well! We are glad that you could enjoy the local amenities that Deep Creek Lake has to offer. Bring the kids back next time to take full advantage of all the family activities to do . We are a four seasons resort and so much to see and do!


Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The unit is very nice inside with new, comfortable furnishings. It is in a good location, close to the lake, though you really can't see the lake from any of the units. The only problem is that you can hear everything, even a normal level conversation from the people next door if you are in a duplex. We also happened to be in a unit with a loft setup next door and every step that was made in the loft area could be heard below in ours :( thank goodness our neighbors were only there 2 of the nights we stayed! Overall it was a nice place, but I would not stay again unless I had an individual one.

Room Tip: Try to get an individual unit due to noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJS6015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review , we do appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in how noisy the connecting cabins can be, and we are set up like a hotel due to the cabins do sit close together and some are connecting. We hope that you will call us again in the future and come back and give the cabins another try.

Thank you
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room was a pleasant surprise and we settled in for what we thought was a four night vacation. Soon it was evident the noise level was as if the walls were paper thin. our first room was attached to another that had the loft of that room extended over were the king bed was in our room. We heard running up and down the stairs and a dog cryed every time the people left. We heard a yound boy singing and playing with a what seemed to be a ball. (this was right over your head if you we in the bed) We asked to be moved the next day and the staff really went out the way to move us. Our second room was fine a litle smaller but at least no loft over our our bed. that night the noise level was fine and we got some sleep. The toilet was running and we had to shut it off and on but didn't want to complain as the staff had helped us so much. Thought we'd mention it when we checked out. The third night a group of several women were staying next door and kept us up till after 2 making noise. You could actually hear talking through the walls. Lucky I had thought to bring a fan and that muffled some of the noise. We had planned to stay for four nights and were so unhappy after the third we checked out. We asked for our money back but the answer was policy wouldn't allow a refund. We left anyway. I think the cabins are very nice, the staff was very nice but if you are looking for quiet don't expect to find it here. Also, the staff should be able to make some kind of refund if the customer was unhappy for any reason.

Room Tip: stay in the single cabins only or at least in the ones without the loft room next door.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We do our best to accommodate guest to make sure that your stay with us is a good experience. We do have a policy for no refunds for early departures and we do apologize that we were unable to help you with that and hope that you will come back again in the future. We do have staff available 24/7 for any guest concerns or maintenance issues that need immediate attention . We do our best to make your stay as comfortable as we can especially when we have a full occupancy for all of our cabins.

Thank You
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've been using Trip Advisor for quite a while but this is my first written review. We just returned from 3 nights at the Lodges of Sunset Village and it was a wonderful experience. The accommodations suited our family perfectly. We stayed in 50L which has a loft above the first floor...perfect for our two teenagers since they had a separate bathroom upstairs and plenty of room to spread out. This unit does have a connecting door to 50R but fortunately there was no one renting that unit while we were there so we did not have to get chummy with any close neighbors. The unit was perfectly equipped for everything we needed. A full size refrigerator, microwave, and sink in the kitchenette. We brought some food but also hit the grocery store which was less than a mile down the road.
The room was impeccably clean. I wasn't sure what to expect since we were renting a dog friendly cabin. I was pleasantly surprised! The bathrooms were lovely; completely updated with modern fixtures and sinks. There were 2 TV's on the first level (none in the loft) and a nice living room area where we could sit and play cards at night.
We all enjoyed the deck off the back of the cabin that provided two chairs and a nice view of the mountains (partial lake view). The common area was great as well, with gas grills and fire pits for everyone to use and Adirondack chairs to enjoy the fire.
Overall, the Lodges are conveniently located to everything we wanted to do. LaDonna, the property manager, was extremely helpful from start to finish. She provided us information on the area before we arrived so that we could plan our trip better. She also directed us to a dog friendly restaurant upon arrival since our cabin was not ready (we arrived a few hours early for the 3pm check-in). The cabins are not overlooking the lake but we knew that before we rented there. The cost for all that we got with this cabin made up for the lack of lake view.
A few suggestions: I would rent a cabin on the upper level of units. The deck and access to the common area is a big plus. The lower cabins have access to the common areas as well but not as conveniently.
If you rent a cabin with a loft, bring a fan. The air conditioning upstairs was not effective. The AC worked great in the lower level but did not effectively cool the loft. Luckily we brought a fan with us and that seemed to help.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the upper level. Better views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a review, it was fun meeting you and setting up your stay with us and that you had a great stay! We try to pay attention to every detail to ensure a great stay for all our guest. We are honored to be your first trip advisor review! Thank you again for all of your positive comments, I will share with the staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again
LaDonna Stem
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

What a poorly laid out design. Beautiful mountains and lake and we couldn't see any of them. You go out the back door and you have an eight foot wall. It was like a back alley in the city. The cabin was very nice and it had everything we needed after a day of kayaking. Lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSteve366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the views from our cabins. Our cabins sit up on a hill side away from the lake, they do sit sides to the mountain and lake and the view that you may have would be when you are outside in our common areas around the cabins. It sounds like that you enjoyed what Deep Creek lake has to offer. I hope that you will give us another try for any furture stays.

Thank You for taking time to give us a review.

LaDonna
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews