We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FlyCasting and Lodging”
Review of Streams and Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Streams and Dreams
Ranked #2 of 2 McHenry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My friend and I were looking for a convenient location to stay while fishing in Maryland. After reviewing many web sites, The Streams and Dreams site made our choice very easy. The web site is very detailed, the you tube tour was fascinating, and after talking to Don on the phone, I knew we were making the right choice. Our accommodations were clean and very comfortable, and the breakfasts were first class. After a beautiful walk on the grounds, and listening to Don describe his passion, we went to his pond for a fly casting lesson and demonstration. He reviewed our casting skills, and we spent the rest of the afternoon learning and demonstrating proper technique in a very instructional and fun atmosphere. He has a vast knowledge of the sport and trout behavior , and is very willing to share it with others. Great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

As soon as we stepped out of the car we entered into the tranquil world of Don & Karen's Streams & Dreams. The sounds of the stream enveloped us in serenity and peace. Our home away from home was so incredible, it was like putting on a pair of favorite walking shoes. The accommodations were wonderful and the breakfasts delicious. While being away from the hustle and bustle of the more populated areas, so many activities are withing a few minutes drive, giving the location 5 stars! Don's passion for fishing made for a quick bond between my husband and him. We are looking forward to returning again and again! C & J B

Room Tip: All the rooms looked wonderful, but the Brown room is right above the stream! Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_J_B_08343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderful time laid back and caring hosts. Go and DeStress your life.






Bounding brooks, wonderful accommodations and first class breakfast. Looking forward to a return trip in the summer. The hosts are wonderful people who care about you. You don't see that very often nowadays. If you have a desire to learn fly fishing you are in luck as well.



The area is a beautiful four season resort with rivers, mountains, waterfalls and wildlife.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in the lower level of the cabin during Presidents' Day weekend, and it was lovely. It's quiet, wooded with quite a bit of land, right near a gorgeous trout river, peaceful, just amazing. It's actually not too far from Wisp, McHenry, and state parks (just a few miles), but we felt very separate. The lower level had two bedrooms, kitchen, living room, woodburning stove, and washer & dryer. Each bedroom could accommodate 6-8 people in theory (though the place might feel crowded with 14 people), so it was more than enough for our family of four. Don went above and beyond to make sure we got in OK when we got caught in a snowstorm in the dark and arrived later than hoped for. And when the driveway was snowed in the following morning, he came over and let our 11-year-old son help him operate the snowblower--what fun! The cabin (unlike the B&B) is "self-catering," so we made our own breakfasts, brought our own sheets & towels, and cleaned up after ourselves at the end. But we still felt very much like we were being hosted, and we hung out with Don, Karen, and a couple other guests in the B&B lobby for a while before we left. Beautiful time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLoverLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Fantastic stay, can't say enough good things about our visit with Don, Karen, and the cats! (Note to those, like me, who are allergic to felines: The cats stay out of the living spaces, the proprietors have a "no shoes" policy in the house so the allergens don't get tracked in, there's no forced air to spread allergens throughout the house, and I never felt any effect on my asthma.) Don says he's not much of a cook, but then blows us away with his pancake art, "minimalist" omelettes, and whipped cream waffles. All that with the kitchen undergoing renovation. If you've never been, you should go, unless of course you don't value natural beauty, peace and quiet, and the company of good folks who know how to converse. If you've been, you're probably coming back (as we intend to do in the spring.) It's a shame TripAdvisor doesn't give 6 stars -- Streams and Dreams is one place that merits the extra point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing time away from city life and touristy resort, this is your place! The cottage is next to Youghegheni river, so you get to enjoy river activities ( fishing, swimming, kayaking, tubing etc). Kids love the place! They get to explore the nature all day long, while we relax on recliners. We stayed here FOUR OR FIVE times during summer and heading to Streams and Dreams again for Christmas break! Hope to do some skiing on Wisp and icefishing with Don! BTW, He is an expert and has a lot to share!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Unfortunately I've never had the privilege of experiencing Streams and Dreams. However, I have gotten to interact with the owners, Don and Karen, and was blown away by the interaction. Both of them were extremely caring and knowledgeable. Don took the time over the phone to explain to me all about trout and trout fishing and Karen was as kindhearted as they come. Both of them made me feel instantly like family and if I ever get the chance to stay at Streams and Dreams, I definitely will.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
3.2 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
2.7 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
253 reviews
7.1 mi away
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Haley Farm Bed and Breakfast and Retreat Center
3.7 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
83 reviews
18.1 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streams and Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streams and Dreams

Address: 8000-8056 Oakland Sang Run Rd, McHenry, MD
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in McHenry
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing