We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch after a hike...”
Review of Canoe on the Run

Canoe on the Run
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch after a hike...”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I visited for lunch. We both enjoyed our sandwiches and split a chocolate chip cookie for dessert. Great service and value. Really tasty and delicious. Neat atmosphere. We went back for breakfast the next day and enjoyed their coffee and muffin. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooshi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    29
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the stop (if you have the time)”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Two of us went for lunch a little after one in the afternoon on a Saturday. There were 4 people in line ahead of us. There were several specials on the chalkboard, each one sounded delicious. It took about 15 minutes to get to through the line then they told us it was going to take about 40 minutes to get our food. We ordered and sat down to wait because we had the time and wanted to sit, relax, and talk. Our food got to us 45 minutes later. One sandwich, a bowl of gazpacho, and a bowl of tomato bisque with a veggie salad. The food, GREAT! But the time it took to get to us was ridiculous. In there defense, there was a help wanted sign on the counter. We'd go again but call in our order 30 minutes in advance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I found this restaurant from my Google Maps and was so glad I did. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The front door is off the back so don't miss it when you drive by. You order and then find a seat. The servers bring your meal to you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourist028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in the Deep Creek Lake area!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We love to come here for breakfast and lunch. Fresh ingredients, lots of vegetarian options for my husband and excellent baked goods. There is also a lovely outside deck for days when the weather is good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pensfan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice place for cup of coffee and lite breakfast”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

has big window so you can enjoy looking out side while having a coffee and light breakfast. I usually come in in the morning after I drop off my son at Wisp




Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoe on the Run also viewed

 
McHenry, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 
McHenry, Garrett County
Oakland, Garrett County
 

Been to Canoe on the Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing