We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”

Rattlewood Golf Course
Ranked #8 of 13 things to do in Mount Airy
Attraction details
Mount Airy, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is your basic muni. I play it often because it's close and the folks are nice. It fools you howver. The front nine appears to be open and easy but suddenly you find yourself on the 6th holle with a lot of bogeys or worse. It's only after I played it a number of times that I realized the first 6 holes are deceptively hard. First 2 are long 4's. The 3rd is a wide open 5 up hill but the green is sloped and difficult to reach with traps and a hill to get over. The next is a long par 3 and the 6th is a par 4 that is impossible to hold unless you are coming in from the right.

Back nine is much easier and more interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent Public Course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Rattlewood is a decent public course. Not overly challenging, but some good long holes, and some nice "position" holes. I recommend Rattlewood if you need to work out your driver - there are a number of holes that don't penalize you if your 30 yards left or right.
Weekends can be painfully slow, so you may want to stick with weekdays (in my opinion).
TIP: Sign up w/ Montgomery County Golf for regular e-mail deals. Every once in a while they have a special that makes Rattlewood a great value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding condition, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Met my golfing partners from Towson, MD halfway and chose Rattlewood blindly. What a surprise, great condition, outstanding slick, undulating greens. Not too difficult, average length at 6100 yards (white), but not easy either. Most greens are well-bunkered, you've got to hit the shots and preferably keep the ball below the hole, or 3 -putts will result. Very fun round, bucket of balls and lunch all included for $41. Wish I lived closer, I'd make this my home course. Oct 19, 2012.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Airy, Md
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent wide open course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Fun place to play. Not too hard, not too easy. Course was in good condition

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KC55MtAiry_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring
Level Contributor
317 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good County-run Course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Rattlewood is a nice course, run by Montgomery County, in the northern corner of the County. For those familiar with County courses, Rattlewood is a bit like Laytonsville on steroids. A little longer, a little tougher.

At 6100 yards from the white tees, Rattlewood is a fun course for the average golfer. It's kept in good condition, and doesn't get as much play as some of the other County courses, due to its location. The holes are varied and fun.

For visiting the area, while Rattlewood is a nice place, it's nothing you'd brag to about to friends when you get home. For that, try Worthington Manor, Whiskey Creek, or PB Dye, all in the same area. But for an inexpensive round just to get out on a course, Rattlewood is the place to go in this area.

When I played, Rattlewood had a member for a day rate of $29 for seniors, which included breakfast (donuts and coffee) and lunch. The lunch selection was poor compared to other County courses running the same special, as the sandwiches looked like they'd been in the cooler for a while.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rattlewood Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Rattlewood Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing