We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime! Fantastic time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Savage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Savage B&B and Inns
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime! Fantastic time!”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I were looking for a special 40th Anniversity...we had a wonderful, fantastic time and the Castle. From the second we arrived to the time we left we were treated to a romantic room, wonderful kindness and friendship from Judi and Tony. The food and hospitality was exceptional and that's an understatement!!! It was an experience of a lifetime! Anyone who does not have a great time at The Castle isn't capable of having a good time anywhere! Can't wait to return in October.

Room Tip: Rooms have their own character..you need to match.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Sorry that it is so negative but very cold, smelly place. Food was just OK. Bostaph Productions did a Murder Mystery that was the most amateurish show ever seen. Could not recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank janjan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

On Oct 1st & 2nd 2010 we stayed at The Castle to celebrate our anniversary. It was more than we could have imagined. The Castle is nestled in the hillside in Mt. Savage with scenic views all around. We stayed in The Munday Suite. It was elegant and relaxing with a sitting room and private bath. The Host & Hostess, Tony & Judi, are delightful and went to all extremes to make sure our stay was relaxing and memorable. We definitely have plans to return again it is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrtala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We arrived at the Castle and were overwhelmed..Not only were the owner's attentive to our every need but they are "down to earth" people,pleasant and enjoyable.The Castle was the epitome of cleanliness.and the rooms were furnished with taste and each room was different in style and furnishings The long sweeping staircase reminds one of a bygone era.Breakfast was superb and we had it on the stone veranda and just enjoyed the quiet. We are planning on going back as soon as possible and are recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The food was Exellent, the Inn Keepers were very accomadating and hospitable. It was a very relaxing weekend away from the every day hustle and bustle of life. no cell phones, internet or tv.....just what we needed as a couple. At first we looked at it as a negative, but the longer we were there we realized it was a God send! The hosts were absolutely wonderful and down to earth. It was a very homey atmosphere and very welcoming!
200 year old stone fortress on several acres. Lots of local history and beaautiful scenery set in the mountians of western Maryland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at the Castle many times throughout the years. The owners Judi and Tony have to be one of the nicest couples I met in my travels. Their hospitality was overwhelming and gracious. I stayed in most of the rooms, depending what was available at the time of my stays and have great reviews of them all. Yes, it is old, but that is part of the charm with original sinks, claw-footed bathtubs and Ramsey's furniture from the 1800's scattered throughout the establishment. The linens were clean and fresh smelling and the grounds were manicured impeccably. The breakfast was tasty and abundant. I highly recommend this beautiful Disneyland to anyone for any reason. You will have a great treat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiagirl95687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This was a disater of a stay. We stayed in the Caretaker's cottage and it was a terrible experience. The cottage was billed as having an equipped kitchen but all of the pots and pans were just plain rusty and gross. The description boasted a claw foot tub--it did have it but it was also full of exposed rust where we would have stepped. (we forewent the shower). The overall building was dilapidated and there was all sorts of nastiness growing on the walls. It was so disgusting we slept fully dressed with our shoes on. Each room had really creepy looking dolls. I swear their eyes were following me as I walked by.

The cottage was not part of the main building nor was the entrance part of the grounds so you are not even part of the overall castle. The overall castle was once an amazing place but no longer maintained. While my traveling buddies and us have had a great laugh recounting the disaster of a stay I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank johnseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Savage
3.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
79 reviews
14.3 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
225 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
7.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Castle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15925 Mount Savage Rd NW, Mount Savage, MD 21545-1605
Region: United States > Maryland > Mount Savage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Savage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Historic Castle in the Western Maryland Mountains. 1840 circa Castle on four acres sourrounded by stone walls. Six guestrooms inside and caretaker cottage on Castle grounds. Full served breakfast, afternoon teas and turndown with chocolates Near cross country skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Castle b&b
The Castle Hotel Mount Savage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing