We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to reconnect with one another,romantic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Savage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Savage B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“A wonderful place to reconnect with one another,romantic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We arrived at the Castle and were overwhelmed..Not only were the owner's attentive to our every need but they are "down to earth" people,pleasant and enjoyable.The Castle was the epitome of cleanliness.and the rooms were furnished with taste and each room was different in style and furnishings The long sweeping staircase reminds one of a bygone era.Breakfast was superb and we had it on the stone veranda and just enjoyed the quiet. We are planning on going back as soon as possible and are recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

The food was Exellent, the Inn Keepers were very accomadating and hospitable. It was a very relaxing weekend away from the every day hustle and bustle of life. no cell phones, internet or tv.....just what we needed as a couple. At first we looked at it as a negative, but the longer we were there we realized it was a God send! The hosts were absolutely wonderful and down to earth. It was a very homey atmosphere and very welcoming!
200 year old stone fortress on several acres. Lots of local history and beaautiful scenery set in the mountians of western Maryland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at the Castle many times throughout the years. The owners Judi and Tony have to be one of the nicest couples I met in my travels. Their hospitality was overwhelming and gracious. I stayed in most of the rooms, depending what was available at the time of my stays and have great reviews of them all. Yes, it is old, but that is part of the charm with original sinks, claw-footed bathtubs and Ramsey's furniture from the 1800's scattered throughout the establishment. The linens were clean and fresh smelling and the grounds were manicured impeccably. The breakfast was tasty and abundant. I highly recommend this beautiful Disneyland to anyone for any reason. You will have a great treat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiagirl95687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

This was a disater of a stay. We stayed in the Caretaker's cottage and it was a terrible experience. The cottage was billed as having an equipped kitchen but all of the pots and pans were just plain rusty and gross. The description boasted a claw foot tub--it did have it but it was also full of exposed rust where we would have stepped. (we forewent the shower). The overall building was dilapidated and there was all sorts of nastiness growing on the walls. It was so disgusting we slept fully dressed with our shoes on. Each room had really creepy looking dolls. I swear their eyes were following me as I walked by.

The cottage was not part of the main building nor was the entrance part of the grounds so you are not even part of the overall castle. The overall castle was once an amazing place but no longer maintained. While my traveling buddies and us have had a great laugh recounting the disaster of a stay I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johnseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

My husband I were looking for a B&B away from the D.C. area that would be away from the noise and frantic pace we live in during the weekdays. The Castle was a perfect get-away! We stayed in the Munday Suite, which had a smokeless fireplace that was on for us when we arrived. (This was also F.D.R.'s favorite room when he came for his retreats.) Tony and Judy are very down-to-earth owners who feel like fiends when you meet them. We came in late on a Friday night, and after we had a sumptuous breakfast prepared by Tony, we took a short drive (about 10-13 miles) along the scenic route 40 highway to Cumberland. There area a number of things to do in Cumberland. There are biking and walking trails, but it was a bit too nippy for us, so we toured some of the shops and took in some of the historical sites. That evening we went to Ottaviani's Restaurant--although we did not ask, the noodles tasted homemade, and the sauce was obviously homemade--fantastic! The trip was an overall wonderful adventure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogalusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Our visit to The Castle was a huge disappointment. The once magnificent place is now a run-down haunted house. The owners have really let it's condition go. First of all, we got lost trying to find the house, it is located in the middle of a really old industrial town. When we finally found it, we could not help but to notice overgrown landscaping and a crumbling facade. The pictures on their website must be old because they depict a beautifully manicured mansion! We were greeted by a nice man who gave us a tour of the house. The smell was beyond an "old house" smell. The decor is also very old and dingy. Not to mention every room has creepy porcelain dolls in it. I almost fell going upstairs because of the uneven steps due to rotten floorboards (or sinking settlement). The linens on our bed did not look clean and our bathroom had probably never been updated. Except for maybe the soap scum covered shower door. If you are looking for a haunted destination, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a quite, peaceful, relaxing weekend forgo this option and head to the Hampton Inn in Frostburg. That is where we ended up and had a wonderful stay. So, no, we did not end up staying the night at The Castle and they did not refund our money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cwebster1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We are a local disc jockey service and have had the pleasure many times, to provide entertainment for brides and grooms at The Castle. The Castle's atmosphere takes you back to a Classical Period. From the beautiful pictures on the wall, to the antique wardrobe, you just feel like royalty when you enter. There is such a peaceful feeling as you walk the grounds and the huge pine trees provide a sense of protection.
Judy and Tony are always so accomodating and their hospitality goes above and beyond our expectations. They are so gracious to their guests. Brides and grooms can always expect to see hosts willing to work out all details for a successful ceremony and reception.
The rooms are always waiting ready for the next guest to arrive. The courtyard is breathtaking with flowers and The Castle wall surrounding it.
If you are looking for a magical wedding and reception with owners who are easy to work with, then The Castle is for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Savage
3.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
14.3 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
#1 of 1 in Flintstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Castle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15925 Mount Savage Rd NW, Mount Savage, MD 21545-1605
Region: United States > Maryland > Mount Savage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Savage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Historic Castle in the Western Maryland Mountains. 1840 circa Castle on four acres sourrounded by stone walls. Six guestrooms inside and caretaker cottage on Castle grounds. Full served breakfast, afternoon teas and turndown with chocolates Near cross country skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Castle b&b
The Castle Hotel Mount Savage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing