We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Great Getaway!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn at the Seahorse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn at the Seahorse
The Seahorse is a totally renovated 1930's beach cottage the cottage has been renovated with a sense for history and a touch of whimsy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Autumn at the Seahorse
The Seahorse is a totally renovated 1930's beach cottage
the cottage has been renovated with a sense for history and a touch of whimsy
view of backyard deck and art studio building
The bedroom features a queen-siz bed
kitchen features stainless appliances and open storage
the kitchen opens to the backyard deck
The well-lit kitchen has a 'bar' counter
living room has futon, flatscreen tv, and fireplace
Electric fireplace/heater is warm and cozy
sunporch has a daybed and a quiet reading area
Seasonal Studio Building has artist's studio and musician/writer's cabin
The Art Studio is rustic but well lit and ventilated
Musician/writer's cabin has a desk, daybed, and a 1965 Fender Bassman nightstand!
The Chesapeake Bay is a just short walk away
Cliffs along the Chesapeake Bay are within hiking distance
North Beach's boardwalk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
North Beach, Calvert County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Todd P
Zion
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Great Getaway!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We absolutely fell in love with this quiet little cabin a block away from Chesapeake Bay. Gary, the owner, met us at the cabin and personally gave us a tour of the cabin and let us know what was going on in the community over the length of our stay. Can't say enough good things about the property and the hospitality. We recharged our "batteries" and relaxed. All amenities are top-notch. We will definitely book stays at the Seahorse again! Thanks again, Gary!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Not applicable...just a great place to stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennedy K
Charlottesville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marevelous, quirky cottage was a great retreat near the beach”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our family had a great stay at the Seahorse Cottage. It was just what we wanted -- a place to be together, yet with spaces aplenty for quiet reading and relaxing when we each needed our down-time. The kitchen was fine with all we required to cook easily for a few days. The furnishings were just right for a family with middle- and high-school aged boys: liveable and sturdy. And the whole place had the quirky charm of a refurbished 1920s beach-town bungalow; not a picture-perfect-don't-touch-the-antiques atmosphere (thank heaven). It was easy to get to the bakery and shops, the beach, etc. from the cottage. And having the owners next door was handy for questions and advice -- they were accessible, but not the least bit intrusive. The beach was great too. Not very crowded, even in mid June.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: informality
Liked least: window a/c unit took a while to cool the cottage's main bedroom on a very hot day
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekend_T...
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything we needed and more”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We came to North Beach to visit Washington DC but still have a "beach" vacation- perfect location. We really enjoyed our stay in the Seahorse Guest Cottage. We have been to Cape Cod numerous times and have found that the rental properties there tend to be "owner centric"- we are just visitors in someone else's space (if you have been there you know what I mean). But here, we were made to feel at home. The house was in good condition and had plenty of space for the four of us. The master bedroom bed was very comfortable with good linens and pillows. Best of all, the owner had all of the "stuff" that you need but most places don't have- soap, salt and pepper, dishwasher and laundry detergent- terrific! The yard was lovely and relaxing- a beautiful driftwood hippocampus greats you on arrival. We even had an edible garden and feasted on fresh tomato and basil sandwiches for lunch! The property is not on the water but is an easy walk to the boardwalk/pier and town beach ( admission is included in your rental). The owner is an artist and this shows in the interior- recently renovated (heavy on the Ikea) with really cool touches. Great cottage and a terrific price- highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing