We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North East
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff at the front desk were nice and helpful, internet is free, breakfast is standard, room was clean and spacious.

I had to give it a minus 1 star as one night we did not get housekeeping service for some reason.

There is basically nothing in the surrounding area until you drive into the main street of North East. There there are some interesting local restaurants.

Room Tip: Probably around the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldtvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff were outstanding Marcus and Laurie and I just cannot remember the name of all of the staff at work that week , the front desk, and the eating area.We just love the staff. We were three adults and one baby and we just love that we are there for a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul33340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This property is ideally located if you need an overnight on I 95 on your way to some of the big cities in the Northeast. The room was clean and large. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent for what you expect for free at a Holiday Inn Express. We stayed twice (coming and going from NYC) and we were very pleased. The price was a little high, but we redeemed points so cost was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds and sofa bed are great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As an IHG Platinum member, I stay in a LOT of Holiday Inn Express locations. I have stayed in this location a handful of times, so am somewhat familiar with it. This location has decent rooms, decent bedding, is pretty clean, and the staff is generally friendly. It's not an outstanding location, but isn't bad either. It's what I would call an "okay" Holiday Inn Express hotel.

The breakfast is good enough, and they have one of those pancake machines that cranks out pretty good pancakes.

So far, not too shabby. ... A decent place to stay.

Now for the bad news. ..... There is apparently LITTLE OR NO COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE FRONT DESK AND THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF IN REGARD TO LATE CHECK-OUTS.

As a Platinum member, I often request a late check-out to wrap up some work and other things before check-out. The hotel routinely grants me a late check-out until 1 pm. That's the good part. The bad part is that THEY FAIL TO INFORM HOUSEKEEPING that room #xxx is a late check-out!! Of a half-dozen visits there, more times than not, the housekeeping service knocked on the door shortly after 11 a.m. (the regular check-out time), even though my check-out was at 1 pm. On top of that, the DO NOT DISTURB sign was on the door in every case! On the most recent visit, housekeeping tried coming in while I was showering! Yes, it was after 11 a.m., but I had a 1 pm check-out.

I can understand that some people might forget to take down the Do Not Disturb sign when they check-out, so it could be a vacated room that still has a DND sign on the door, even though the guest has left. Okay, this is where COMMUNICATON WITH THE FRONT DESK comes into play!
HOUSEKEEPING NEEDS TO BE MADE AWARE OF WHICH ROOMS ARE A LATE CHECK-OUT. This way, when they see a Do Not Disturb sign still hung on the door after 11:00 a.m., they'll know why, and they'll know not to knock and not to enter.

And, no, it wasn't a single "whoopsie". It happened 4 or 5 times out of 6 stays there.

Communication between the front desk and housekeeping .... Is this too much to ask?

I would like to hear a response from management as to whether you have a communication policy between the front desk and housekeeping regarding late check-outs. If you do, why is it apparently not followed? And, if you don't have a communication policy with housekeeping regarding late check-outs, will a policy be implemented?

Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the highway if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snacks-n-Racks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Snacks-n-Racks,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the housekeeping service. Rest assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations and to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Right off 95, it was about $120 for the night but we figured for the large, clean room with fridge and complimentary breakfast, it was worth it.
we asked for smoke free room, however the walk from the elevator to our room stunk of cigarettes...happily, our room did not

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jkbcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stopped here because we had a discount coupon picked up at a rest area. I couldn't believe the rate quoted by the desk clerk which was double the coupon rate considering the condition of the property. But in North East everyone seems to think they are better - see review on Woody' Crab House, They did have a mini-fridge and a microwave, a welcome change to HI Express. But the lukewarm water took almost 10 minutes to reach the tap in our room in the evening. The tap in the bath was ripped off its foundation. The armchair was dirty and the cushion coming out, so not comfortable, The elevator was extremely slow. The breakfast was OK and they did have an automatic pancake machine instead of the waffle machine. The pancakes could rival those of the big chains,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZLove_to_travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear AZLove_to_travel22,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your stay with us. It is good to know you like our room amenities. However, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced due to the bathroom facility and poor condition of the room furniture. It is also disappointing you found the elevator service less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your valuable comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these enables us to target problem areas and take actions accordingly.

Again, thank you for staying with us and providing us with a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had a wonderful stay, I stopped in for two nights for a trip to Baltimore, when I arrived I was impressed with what a nice hotel it was. My family and I enjoyed the great selection of breakfast, the friendly staff and the outside pool that was nice and warm. On my next trip I will defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expressne, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

RichardR,

Thank You!!!, for those kinds words about the staff. I am glad you were able to enjoy the weather and the outdoor pool. See you soon again.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in North East
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#1 of 2 in Perryville
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#1 of 8 in Elkton
348 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East

Address: 101 Hotel Plz, North East, MD 21901-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North East
Price Range: £74 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD is located on the north end of town only 1/2 mile from Interstate 95. Positioned in the heart of the North Eastern Maryland, our award-winning hotel offers 71 over sized rooms including 22 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, we offer amenities for everyone. Our hotel offers and outdoor heated pool with whirlpool, fitness facility, 24 HR business center, microwaves, refrigerators and the Complimentary Express Start breakfast with hot items. We are an ideal location to hold your seminars, meetings or just an overnight trip to visit our quaint town of North East. The town streets are lined with antique and novelty shoppes. Enjoy golf, hiking or boating nearby. Relax in our beautifully decorated king and queen suites. When your day is complete relax in our Grand Room or prepare for an excellent dining experience in one of the nearby restaurants. Only 2 miles from the North East Historic District, you can enjoy many local eateries such as Woodys Crab House, Steak and Main & many other restaurants. along with museums, galleries and antique shops. Within 10 minutes of the town of Elkton and many chain restaurants. Our friendly, professional staff will welcome you and provide exceptional service during your visit. Let us accommodate you and remember Kids Stay Free. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North East
Holiday Inn North East
North East Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing