We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North East
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed one night as a quick stopover to visit friends and head up to Philadelphia. Hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly.

Many people have commented on the lack of resturants in the area. If you are staying in this hotel, go into the town of North East. It is about 3 miles down the road...come out of the hotel, take a right; go straight across Pulaski Highway, and abotu .5 miles in is the main street of North East. They have nice non-chain restaurants ranging from pub food to nicer dining. Plus there is a cute collection of local owned shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ldeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stopped here after being on the road from NYC down 95. It's convenient for the interstate. Rooms are adequate, and staff were nice and attentive. Clean place to rest your tired body overnight. Not the best area for dinner though. A few fast food restaurants. It's a bit industrial in its surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear chichiSouthCarolina,

Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay. It is good to know that our rooms are sufficient for your needs and you found our staff to be attentive. It is always good to receive nice feedback from our valued guests like you.

Please see us soon if your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stopped for a night here on a drive up 95 and stayed at 3 hotels in the area over a span of 3 weeks. Easy to get to off highway and super nice staff from the front desk to especially the dining staff. Hotel was a bit dated but clean. I really could not get comfortable- the mattress and bedding were not great and the hvac is that kind that blows air out of an a/c unit- so even if it's blowing hot air, you feel like you are getting a breeze. Breakfast was free and there was a lot of variety but it was not gourmet. I would describe this place as entirely adequate for a quick trip/ place to lay your head but maybe not the kind of place to stay if you are looking for the "treat" of staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Yainey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the highway and the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff at the front desk were nice and helpful, internet is free, breakfast is standard, room was clean and spacious.

I had to give it a minus 1 star as one night we did not get housekeeping service for some reason.

There is basically nothing in the surrounding area until you drive into the main street of North East. There there are some interesting local restaurants.

Room Tip: Probably around the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldtvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff were outstanding Marcus and Laurie and I just cannot remember the name of all of the staff at work that week , the front desk, and the eating area.We just love the staff. We were three adults and one baby and we just love that we are there for a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul33340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This property is ideally located if you need an overnight on I 95 on your way to some of the big cities in the Northeast. The room was clean and large. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent for what you expect for free at a Holiday Inn Express. We stayed twice (coming and going from NYC) and we were very pleased. The price was a little high, but we redeemed points so cost was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds and sofa bed are great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As an IHG Platinum member, I stay in a LOT of Holiday Inn Express locations. I have stayed in this location a handful of times, so am somewhat familiar with it. This location has decent rooms, decent bedding, is pretty clean, and the staff is generally friendly. It's not an outstanding location, but isn't bad either. It's what I would call an "okay" Holiday Inn Express hotel.

The breakfast is good enough, and they have one of those pancake machines that cranks out pretty good pancakes.

So far, not too shabby. ... A decent place to stay.

Now for the bad news. ..... There is apparently LITTLE OR NO COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE FRONT DESK AND THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF IN REGARD TO LATE CHECK-OUTS.

As a Platinum member, I often request a late check-out to wrap up some work and other things before check-out. The hotel routinely grants me a late check-out until 1 pm. That's the good part. The bad part is that THEY FAIL TO INFORM HOUSEKEEPING that room #xxx is a late check-out!! Of a half-dozen visits there, more times than not, the housekeeping service knocked on the door shortly after 11 a.m. (the regular check-out time), even though my check-out was at 1 pm. On top of that, the DO NOT DISTURB sign was on the door in every case! On the most recent visit, housekeeping tried coming in while I was showering! Yes, it was after 11 a.m., but I had a 1 pm check-out.

I can understand that some people might forget to take down the Do Not Disturb sign when they check-out, so it could be a vacated room that still has a DND sign on the door, even though the guest has left. Okay, this is where COMMUNICATON WITH THE FRONT DESK comes into play!
HOUSEKEEPING NEEDS TO BE MADE AWARE OF WHICH ROOMS ARE A LATE CHECK-OUT. This way, when they see a Do Not Disturb sign still hung on the door after 11:00 a.m., they'll know why, and they'll know not to knock and not to enter.

And, no, it wasn't a single "whoopsie". It happened 4 or 5 times out of 6 stays there.

Communication between the front desk and housekeeping .... Is this too much to ask?

I would like to hear a response from management as to whether you have a communication policy between the front desk and housekeeping regarding late check-outs. If you do, why is it apparently not followed? And, if you don't have a communication policy with housekeeping regarding late check-outs, will a policy be implemented?

Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the highway if noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snacks-n-Racks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Snacks-n-Racks,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the housekeeping service. Rest assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations and to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
1.4 mi away
Best Western North East Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in North East
158 reviews
8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
284 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East

Address: 101 Hotel Plz, North East, MD 21901-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > North East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North East
Price Range: £62 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD is located on the north end of town only 1/2 mile from Interstate 95. Positioned in the heart of the North Eastern Maryland, our award-winning hotel offers 71 over sized rooms including 22 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, we offer amenities for everyone. Our hotel offers and outdoor heated pool with whirlpool, fitness facility, 24 HR business center, microwaves, refrigerators and the Complimentary Express Start breakfast with hot items. We are an ideal location to hold your seminars, meetings or just an overnight trip to visit our quaint town of North East. The town streets are lined with antique and novelty shoppes. Enjoy golf, hiking or boating nearby. Relax in our beautifully decorated king and queen suites. When your day is complete relax in our Grand Room or prepare for an excellent dining experience in one of the nearby restaurants. Only 2 miles from the North East Historic District, you can enjoy many local eateries such as Woodys Crab House, Steak and Main & many other restaurants. along with museums, galleries and antique shops. Within 10 minutes of the town of Elkton and many chain restaurants. Our friendly, professional staff will welcome you and provide exceptional service during your visit. Let us accommodate you and remember Kids Stay Free. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, North East, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North East
Holiday Inn North East
North East Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing