We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashback in time”
Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Flashback in time”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We made reservations here based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. We had reserved one room and I asked at check in if we could view a unit with a different floor plan. I was told none of those units were available. I was presented 2 giant brass room keys that seemed to weigh a pound each. Our unit, which had been recently "updated" was clean and livable, but far from updated unless you consider the new bathroom vanity. The loft bedroom offers very little room or privacy. Granted we did not use any of the amenities this resort needs some TLC.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTK6955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Have stayed in just about every style condo over the years - this time a studio loft (#709). It was very nice, clean & cozy. Decorated with photos of the travels of the owners and a few family photos. I liked that very much - made it seem much friendlier. Great indoor pool and outdoor beach area. I will stay here again-- loved it!!

Room Tip: All condos have balconies overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

no problems. like this place. stayed two days. great location. clean quiet. had a loft # 709 very nice felt like a home not a room. loved the photos in our loft. loved sitting on the balcony great views. nice little beach and boat dock. lovely swimming pool and hot tubs with cool water feature very relaxing. swollow falls state park is a must. will go back soon i hope.

Room Tip: room # 709 a loft on the 7th floor was perfect for me and my girl carol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We just left a three night stay and enjoyed staying here. I originally booked only one night after reading the reviews but once we got there we booked two more nights. Yes, an update is needed especially on the outside of the building, but we had a loft condo which was quiet, very clean and comfy. It was nice to have everything I needed to cook breakfast in the morning as I am gluten free and usually have trouble finding decent places to eat ---which brings me to the restaurant. We had a lovely meal the first night. A little pricey, but included dessert which we brought back to our room for later. They understood my dietary restrictions and checked with the chef to be sure I had a safe meal. It was deliciious. On Wednesday night we went back for "pasta mania". For $14.50 per person you get a salad and all the pasta you want. You chose your ingredients and it is prepared right in front of you. AND they had gluten free pasta! Just be aware it is crowded and reservations are recommended. I would recommend a trip to Will O' the Wisp,

Room Tip: Loft was nice for a couple but also had a Murphy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clselber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Spent 6 nights here over course of couple weeks on business. What a nice refreshing break from business concerns to look out over the lake and enjoy the quiet atmosphere.
Room decor varies quite a bit, as many units are individually owned/furnished, but both units were clean and comfortable, with all that I needed.

Room Tip: I selected a Loft Bedroom unit on the 7th floor, which was more than spacious enough for me and prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a great place for families. The cost of a multi-bedroom condo is reasonable, and it comes with a full kitchen. Unlike renting a house on the lake, you have an indoor pool and hot tub. Very nice.

It is clean and functional with great views of the lake. We brought our pontoon boat and docked it right there. It was lovely.

I agree with the other reviews that the condos could use updating - but frankly, with a young family, I loved that I didn't have to worry about new carpet!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in a spacious and very clean 3 bedroom condo. The pool and hot tub area were very nice. The location is great and the view of the lake made afternoons very relaxing. However, this condo complex really needs a facelist.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisanddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
0.5 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Property: Will O' the Wisp
Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing